We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse + owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #3 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse + owners”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Spice House is a gem. The owners are very warm and hospitable. The rooms and garden are lovely. The breakfast is good too. It's a 15-minute walk to the beach, and you can always take a tuk tuk. Also, keep in mind at the moment there's no AC or hot water. Overall, fantastic stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themelissard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
We are really glad that you had such a good time in Sri Lanka and during your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
To clarify one point Mirissa is made up of 3 bays - 2 small ones and a larger one to the West and our guesthouse is only 1 minutes walk to a beautiful little bay which is protected by a reef for calm, safe, year round swimming.The second smaller bay is also good for swimming as are either side of Parrot rock but the largest bay is where the big waves are and surfers use the far end of this.
It is true that we dont use AC to help protect the environment - our bedrooms have 5M high ceilings and dual aspect windows to help with natural air flow.We use electric fans in the rooms.
We are in the process of fitting solar panels for hot water so any new guests will have access to this.Although personally i dont use hot water as it is usually 30 degrees outside and it is nice to cool off !
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon?
Kind Regards,
Phil & Wathsala ( Owners of The Spice House, Mirissa )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    64
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
104
305
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Absolutely amazing experience! My partner and I spent five nights here in June, in the Cinnamon room, and enjoyed every moment. The guesthouse has been built keeping with the true architecture of Sri Lanka. The rooms are spacious with lots of natural light, clean and comfortable and with beautiful balconies overlooking either a jungle (out the back) or ocean glimpses (in the front) Beautiful four poster beds draped in mosquito nets set the scene for a romantic and enjoyable time for my partner and myself.
.Owned and run by an English husband and his Sri Lankan wife, The Spice House knows exactly how to cater for western travellers seeking a beautiful experience in an eastern country. Phil, the owner was away during our stay, but he went out of his way to help us with all pre-booking needs and Whassala, his wife, went out of her way to make our stay incredibly enjoyable, from the flowers on our yummy enormous breakfasts to making sure we were always comfortable. Clean and light and airy butter coloured bathrooms enhanced our enjoyment! I took loads of photos! Well worth a stay. Also loved the complimentary water, refillables available, saved us loads on bottled water. Best value for money room we had during our whole one month stay. We were there off season and apparently it gets very busy during the season (nov-march) so if you are planning on travelling then I would book ahead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salona75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Spice House Hotel is a small boutique-style hotel with 5 rooms, all of which are very clean, spacious and have comfortable mattresses. Also very nice clean bathrooms with good views of the jungle area in the back. It is situated on the land-side, but just around 2 minutes walk to the beach. Quite a big garden, with a pond, attracting a lot of birds.

The hotel is not at the main Mirissa beach (which is 1km away). But this means it is very nice and quiet. The bay in front of the hotel is also more secluded and quieter than the main Mirissa beach!

They also have kayaks which could be used to paddle around in the sea or in the lake close by. They have a chef that can come and cook dinners (with 24 hour notice). I have not tried this yet, but hope to the next time I go there. They can also arrange for local meals to be ordered in from the closest city (Matara). Breakfast is provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of April. It was a holiday break before I began working in Kandy and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The family went out of their way to make us feel welcome, the food was fantastic, the room very spacious and clean and a very reasonable price. It was also a lovely, quiet hideaway from the 'package deal' hotels on the seafront, but only a few minutes walk/tuk tuk to the beach. I will definitely be going back in the future.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

just spent 3 nights here enjoying the more relaxed side of sri lanka, had a spacious room with a large bathroom, spotless and great service as the owner is english, also only a few seconds from the beach.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frazzleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 186 in Mirissa
307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#4 of 186 in Mirissa
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Property: The Spice House, Mirissa
Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Spice House, Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing