We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shaky boat ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Raja & the Whales

Raja & the Whales
Ranked #1 of 56 Tours in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local family, providing environmental and sustainable whale watching in Mirissa, Sri Lanka since 2008. We are very keen on protecting the whales and also have been doing research about them for many years now. We are very proud that we are recommended in the new Sri Lankan lonely planet and by so many users of tripadvisor. For bookings please send us an email (anytime), give us a call (between 2 pm and 8 pm) or visit our office in Mirissa Harbour (2 pm to 6 pm). Our price is 6000 LKR for adults and 3000 LKR for kids. Small kids (<6 years) are free of charge. A refund of 50% is given if we do not see any whales on the day of your trip. Please help to protect the whales!
Negombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“shaky boat ride”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cant blame them. The sea was rough & the trip was very tiring but seeing wheals was great. the breakfast which they serve was good and the staff who took us was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank joy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    172
    40
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No whales but 50% refund”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Finding a whale is not guaranteed but we enjoyed the crew and company of Raja. The boat is small to be travelling out in August when the sea is choppy. Most people suffered sea sickness, including myself which made the journey difficult. I have heard there is a bigger boat company out there but we didn't see them. Most guesthouses will offer whale watching through a company so a good idea to check around although most will say the boat is big.

Raja also conducts research into whale activities so it is nice to see that instead of just purely for tourism purposes. Journey is about 6 hours, maybe less if you see whales. Food (eggs/bread/fruit) and water/tea/coffee is free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"u are happy when the whales are happy"”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went whale watching in off-season - August 2013. The crew told me that the sea can be bumpy and the conditions may change, but actually it was good conditions (see pictures I attached) and we could see a green turtle, dolphins, blue whale and bryde's whale and all that just a few miles off the coast of Mirissa. It was fascinating and I was very happy to see that Raja and all crew members are honestly concerned about nature and care for wildlife. I loved it so much that I went out again. That time someone got seasick and the crew really looked after this person, you could clearly see that they know their job and are professionally trained.
If you are looking for a local eco-friendly whale watching experience where u get the chance to learn something about our fascinating nature - Raja & the Whales is the company to choose!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank carobaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant whale watching from the experts”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

There's a reason these guys get booked up early and everyone talks about them - they know their stuff and they give you a great experience.

We were collected by a tuk tuk (included in the really reasonable ticket price) promptly at 7am from our hotel, and whisked off to the main office to join the rest of the morning's group. There was a real mix of people, from couples and students to groups of friends. We were then escorted to the boat and given tea and sea sick pills before setting off (some of the students obvs thought they were too cool for sea sick pills but then spent all of trip hurling from the back of the boat - would suggest you take them).

After leaving Mirissa Harbour we were all given a briefing about the trip and plates of fruit before being left to enjoy the hour or so cruise out to the spot where they believed the whales were.

We saw dolphins and the amazing blue whale, but naturally this varies day-to-day. Make sure you go during the peak season! I *think* there was a policy offering those who might have been unlucky and not seen anything another trip the next day complimentary, but you would need to check.

What was especially good was that even though we all wanted to get as close as possible (and there were plenty of competing boats out there), the team were very considerate of the whales and remained the designated distance and direction from the whales so as not to cause them any stress. Not all companies are as considerate and to me this was important.

On the return journey we were fed an omlette or friend egg with bread, and stopped briefly for a deep sea swim.

Book early and take binoculars, suncream and a hat as there is nowhere to escape once the sun gets up and it was pretty ferocious.

Overall, it was a brilliant morning's experience with a caring and expert team, great value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best excursion ever!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went on whale watching with Raja, Ru and their crew 3 times. It was absulutely fabulous. I saw so many whales and dolphins and made the awesomest pictures. The best thing about Raja is that he has respect for animals. He doesn't follow the whales (which is forbidden) like most of the other captains. He waits patiently and the whales just pop up around the boat. The crew is very friendly and the food on board is great (and included!). If I ever go back to Sri Lanka, I'll definitely visit Raja again.Thank you so much for the great experiences!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulAndSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raja & the Whales also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Raja & the Whales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing