We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco-Friendly and Great Whale Spotting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raja & the Whales

Raja & the Whales
Ranked #1 of 56 Tours in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local family, providing environmental and sustainable whale watching in Mirissa, Sri Lanka since 2008. We are very keen on protecting the whales and also have been doing research about them for many years now. We are very proud that we are recommended in the new Sri Lankan lonely planet and by so many users of tripadvisor. For bookings please send us an email (anytime), give us a call (between 2 pm and 8 pm) or visit our office in Mirissa Harbour (2 pm to 6 pm). Our price is 6000 LKR for adults and 3000 LKR for kids. Small kids (<6 years) are free of charge. A refund of 50% is given if we do not see any whales on the day of your trip. Please help to protect the whales!
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eco-Friendly and Great Whale Spotting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Plenty of sea sickness on the boat and I don't envy those watching these awesome beasts through a red and white plastic bag :)

These guys know how to keep the whales from being spooked, they stay longer than any of the other boats and give a good presentation on the way out on what you might see. Coffee, fruit and egg sarnie is a nice touch too.

It is a long trip though, and if you are sick that would not be pleasant.

Great guys, great trip and worth every Rupee.

We saw Blue Whale, Dolphins and locals catching Tuna.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oilydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    172
    40
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If there is a skill in seeing whales, these guys have it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was so much fun. The whales were not feeling too happy that day, and so seemed to be hiding but Raja and the crew knew what they were doing, and were relentless in their search. They went well over the alloted time to ensure that we all got to see a fantiastic Blue Whale and her calf. Truely unreal. Although the day was long (about 7 hours) it was so worth it. We saw blue whales, 100s dolphins and even flying fish.

The boat was clean, as comfortable as a boat can be, and the staff were fantastic.

If you are after knowledgable whale 'finders' that really care about the creatures they are seeking make sure you book with these guys.

Thanks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oscar_Massive_Hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very highly recommend: Excellent crew, very profession, great commitment to blue whale conservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked via email after a friend recommended us this blue whale watching tour operator. They were very prompt in the responses on email and there were no lapses with recording our booking. They also arranged for a 3-wheeler to pick us up from our hotel in Mirissa which was complementary

The boat itself was a 13 meter boat with seating on the upper and lower decks. There were about 30 people in our trip. It began at 7am (we reported at their office by the Mirissa Harbour at 6:30am) and ended at around 12:15pm. We saw several dolphins and had 4-5 sightings of the Blue Whale. The crew was very diligent and tried very hard to ensure that everybody on board was satisfied with the outing and had had their fill of the majestic Blue Whales :) The breakfast served was simple but good, consisting of tea/coffee, fruits, biscuits, eggs and bread.

Although Raja, the person who started this outfit, was away in Maldives assisting a British team in tracking down the Blue Whale population in this part of the Indian ocean and so was not on the trip with us, the rest of the crew was very knowledgeable about the different types of whales in the region, their living habits, etc and they also made a small presentation to all of us on the subject. The crew is well versed in English so there was no difficulty in following their explanations

The crew was extremely responsible and the entire trip was in conformity with global standards of whale watching/tracking -- that is to say that they maintained the recommended distance from the whales, did not get in their swimming path, turned off their engines when close to a Blue Whale, etc. Very responsible behaviour.

Overall, we were very happy with their professionalism, diligence, honesty and expertise in the matter of Blue Whales and would highly highly recommend them to others as well.

PS: you'd be advised to carry a pill if you get sea-sick. there was one person who puked repeatedly in our group since the sea is a bit up and down. and if you do get sea-sick, please sit on the lower deck so that you have the ocean at your disposal rather than dirtying the floor of the upper deck as what happened during our tour :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Blue whales and Sei whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Raja and his crew were very knowledgable about the whales and we felt were keen to conserve these magnificent mammals. It is a great trip but not for those poor sailers as it is two hours to get to the whales and quite a swell even in calm weather.
We were so busy watching the whales that we did not get photos but one of the crew passed on his excellent photos. Thanks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hothouselily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“sea life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

A great trip with quite a success rate.The first time we went out,we saw nothing apart from 2 dolphins the size of a jumbo prawn. The second time we went..which was free,as we saw nothing first time...we saw 3 whales.It was a privelige to see them in their natural habitat.We also saw a pod of about 60 dolphins that played with the boat for about 30 minutes. As the water was so clear we got great photos of them under the water as well as the leaping ones.Later,the sea started to shimmer and we were in the middle of a shoal of good sized fish,which the guys were flicking out and putting into a box for supper...the easiest fishing I have ever seen! I would recommend taking a seasick pill before going because although the sea isn't rough,the boat rolls a lot when it stops to watch the whales etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raja & the Whales also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Raja & the Whales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing