We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decided to go for Whale watching ? Raja n the whales proves ur decision is rite..”
Review of Raja & the Whales

Raja & the Whales
Ranked #1 of 59 Tours in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local family, providing environmental and sustainable whale watching in Mirissa, Sri Lanka since 2008. We are very keen on protecting the whales and also have been doing research about them for many years now. We are very proud that we are recommended in the new Sri Lankan lonely planet and by so many users of tripadvisor. For bookings please send us an email (anytime), give us a call (between 2 pm and 8 pm) or visit our office in Mirissa Harbour (2 pm to 6 pm). Our price is 6000 LKR for adults and 3000 LKR for kids. Small kids (<6 years) are free of charge. A refund of 50% is given if we do not see any whales on the day of your trip. Please help to protect the whales!
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decided to go for Whale watching ? Raja n the whales proves ur decision is rite..”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had done a lot of research before taking on the trip and though hesitantly coz the cost here was 6000 LKR and I had an option for only 3500 LKR,I chose Raja and he proved that I have taken a great decision.
The tour starts at 7 am and we were picked from our hotel by a tuk tuk at 6:20 am.The tour starts with tea/coffee provided onboard and explaining about the life jackets and sea conditions.
After commencement of the trip,Rajesh explains about the different types of whales,dolphins,the the route we will be traveling,the channels we will be passing and the places where we will be seeing the water creatures.Believe me,this guy knows a lot about the ocean and the life there and also his explanation is very interesting.
He made a statement "I love all onboard but I love whales more,so please dont ask me to go closer to the whales ".We saw fin whales,bryte whale,a baby whale,hundreds of bottle nose and spinner dolphins,flying fishes,sea birds,turtle but unfortunately couldnt see any blue whale(dnt think Raja can be blamed for that).We saw other boats chasing the whales but Rajesh always turned off the engine when we saw any whale and told us to look at a particular direction and he was always spot on.Some of the boats even followed our boat as they knew Raja knows the best.The trip is amazing and once in a lifetime opportunity(at least for me).Rajesh always asked all people onboard whether they are satisfied and only after everybody's consent,he moved on.Fruits and breakfast are provided on board.Our crew also took out a long net in the sea where turtles,sharks and dolphins were stuck.
I would recommend Raja n the Whales without any doubt and can assure that nobody will repent after going with them......... Good Luck

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Digvijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    174
    40
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Professional and caring”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

There is lots of Whale Watching boats in Mirissa, like 6 or 7.... but my hotel recommend me Raja and I was so glad they did... The day i join the trip, Raja had day off, but his brother Ru was amazing guide, very attentive, smiling and fun, telling us many stories and facts about whales, they spot 2 sea whales and they keep the boat at some distance, as if you put it on top of the whales they will go away scared... unfortunately the other boats don´t understand that, and keep crossing enfront of us with too much speed and scaring the whales away... we keep cruising and we saw a huge blue whale, breaching and showing the tail, after she disappear to the deep for 15m and came back to the surface several times, we had time to take many pictures and videos. The service was excellent, a tuk tuk pick me up on time and we were offered coffee and tea on arrival, a bit later a plate of fresh fruit and on the way back a breakfast with fried eggs or omelette and toast, all served in good quality cups and plates.... the toilet was perfectly clean, very surprising in a boat....
The sea can get a bit wavy, don´t hesitate to ask the crew for a sea sickness tablet so you can enjoy the trip without a problem.
I saw other 6 whale watching boats.... some of them were overcrowded, other moved so much with the waves, we were only 13 people on this trip and feel very comfortable, totally recommended, it was unforgettable!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ACT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A long trip but well worth it.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Raja and his team were very knowledgeable. Raja has a great respect for the whales and wouldn’t approach too closely to them or chase them so as not to stress them out, especially as boat traffic in the region has increased.
Team were good at spotting the whales. We saw 2 blue whales and stayed near them for about 1 hour. We arrived at 06.30, leaving the harbour at 07.00 and returned at 13.30 (approx. a 7 hour trip).
The price was 6500RS per person, included tea/coffee and biscuits, water, eggs and bread, cake, fruit juice and fruit platter.
We would recommend taking sea sickness medication, sun cream and a book to read as the journey out is long with nothing to see. There is a toilet on board but it is difficult to use with the boat rocking!
We would recommend this trip to others.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing trip...and we didn't even see whales!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Decided to go with Raja & the whales for a whale watching trip after they were recommended by some fellow travellers.

We were not disappointed.

Raja is very passionate and knowledgeable about the whales, and this comes across from the wealth of information he tries to pass on to you during the ride out to sea.

We didn't even see whales, and we had a great time. Raja and his team tried everything to find whales, eventually venturing 11 nautical miles out to sea, on a trip that took 5 hours in total.

We were well aware that you might not see any whales, but unlike other tours, who will make you pay 50-100% even if you don't see anything, Raja only asked that we give something as a donation if we felt we should towards the food we ate (breakfast - eggs, toast, fruit, tea / coffee, water!). He then followed that up with an offer for a free trip back out the next day, or any day that suited us. Great customer service.

Given his already reasonable rate, we felt we had such a good time that it was worth paying in full anyway.

We did see a load of spinner dolphins, so we didn't feel it was a complete loss.

The important thing we took away, was how aware Raja was that the whales' presence was a gift he wants to share, not an attraction to be exploited.

Fully recommended this company, don't get suckered in by the others selling on the beach / roadside - you will regret it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Team V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RE writing our review”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have to rewrite the review i posted before, after turning up and not being able to go on the first trip, because of somones mix up not Raja, 3 days later Raja found out where my hotel was and come to see us he explained and appologised for the mistake and him not being able to take us on the originally planned trip, we are about 1 hour from mirrisa and he travelled in the rain, to see us, he offered us another tour for free, i then chatted with him for about an hour about is passion and how he got involved in what he does, he truly has a passion for whales, theres not much he does`nt know, i have sent guest on the tour and will be going again very soon, i now reccommend all my guests to go with Raja only, he is very proffesional and although we didnt get off to the best start, he is also a very nice man, and is proffesional and i have the respect of any one who comes and appologises for there mistake, well done Raja, keep the good work up

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 414hikkajewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raja & the Whales also viewed

 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Raja & the Whales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing