We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, comfortable stay”
Review of Club Mirissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Mirissa
Ranked #118 of 199 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Turned up here late in the evening and bartered a very good price at 1600rps for a double (£4 each), including a breakfast. We ended up staying longer than anticipated as it was so lovely. Only 1-2 minute walk to the beautiful beach, which also has some superb restaurants serving up fresh pick-your-own fish ($5-ish) and close to the road for cheap curries and samosas. The rooms were everything you could need and clean along with a brilliant breakfast. Pudji is such a lovely owner/manager, very happy and welcoming, also provides some good advice. Overall a really great lodge. Perhaps the reason for mixed reviews is expectations of standards. I believe it is more of a lodge than hotel, so bear this in mind according to your desires.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 69 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Despite us reserving this hotel through Agoda and paying up front almost 3 months in advance, the owner double booked our room which meant that we had to find alternative accomodation ourselves.

A very long story short, don't book this hotel, it is definitely nothing special and not worth the risk of being double booked and having to subsequently find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumblebee262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived at Club Mirissa early afternoon and after standing around for five minutes or so we were approached by a girl who asked if we had a booking, took our print out from Agoda and took it away to a computer nearby. After tapping away for a few minutes she made a phone call and then advised us that her father would be by in 10 minutes to check us in.

We waited for almost an hour before someone finally turned up and explained to us that our room had been double booked but they had a “lovely room” for us across the road. During this time we had read the other reviews on tripadvisor and realised that this happened quite often and that the other rooms they offered were well below the standard of what we had booked and paid for.

We told the owner that we were not prepared to stay at a lower standard of room and would find our own accommodation instead. We asked him to advise Agoda of his mistake and also had him write a letter stating that we had not stayed there.

Upon our return from our holiday we contacted Agoda only to discover that not only had the owner not advised them of the issue but he had listed us as departed and taken his money. We spent several weeks trying to get a refund, the whole time the owner lied and said we had stayed there, but finally Agoda came through with the money.

Moral of the story – Don’t book to stay here!! The owner is only trying to rip off tourists and honestly our dealings with this rude man was the low point of our trip. There are lots of nice places in Mirissa or even better along the coast in Weligama or Midigama (where we ended up staying).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnotherJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Travelling thru Sri Lanka this probably my worst stay. Club mirissa was in a good location few mins walk to the beach. Had lovely big garden in quiet surroundings.
I had a choice between 3 available rooms, I picked the biggest one (as you do) which unfortunately was the worst one! After few minutes into settling in the smell of damp hits you. There was only one 'old' standing fan placed next to one side of the bed. Damp moulds along the walls, old dirty mossy net.
Lucky we only booked for one night...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utopiajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been travelling for nearly 40 years and this is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The room was supposed to be ready for 1PM, we were told it wasn't quite ready. We spent the night elsewhere and 9AM next day we checked into the room- only after strong words. This seems to be a constant problem with this hotel. If you are booked here and still have chance to cancel I would strongly advise you to do so

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pegyertent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had exactly the same experience as sigal, although a better outcome. We booked a room through Agoda, but when we turned up, they took us across the road to another guesthouse (Bay View?) which was dingy, dark and didn't have the hot water we had already paid for.

I went back to the manager to point this out and he dealt with it surprisingly well and with good grace. He said they were fully booked, but that he would find us a good room at another guesthouse. He drove us to another guesthouse (Bamboo Garden) which was much nicer. We went back to Club Mirissa for a very average breakfast the next day.

I wouldn't book here again as there is no way of knowing where they will try to put you.

Room Tip: It's doubtful you will get your choice if you book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank dancingsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My partner and I booked a nice room at Club Mirissa in November. We arrived on the 22nd December as planned. the place looked nice they offered us tea while they took 45mins to check us in. In that time I started to wonder if there was a problem. The owner (wears a cap and glasses) not sure his name advised us there was no problem and proceeded to take us to our room ACROSS THE STREET to a hotel called BAY LEAF....I wondered what that was about as the grounds were no way as nice nor was the room I asked him if it was the same place which the owner said yes. The room was very basic, dirty and had a flooded shower room as he sent his staff to try clean it within the 45min wait to get checked in. Our driver who is Sri Lankan confirmed it was not the same hotel and that they had double booked us and asked bay leaf to accommodate us which they did.

We spent over an hour contacting agonda to help rectify this issue then went back to the hotel to notify the owner we were leaving and requested a full refund as our contract stated club Mirissa and we didn't get that. The owner tried to lie again and said bay leaf, sky lounge and club Mirissa are all the same hotels which is NOT TRUE. All managers of those hotels confirmed this. His greedy double booking caused us unnecessary inconvenience and we finally got a full refund from agonda.

We were lucky and found a place to stay in weligamma which our driver arranged called bay house which was right on the beach and was much nicer and slightly cheaper than club Mirissa and is only 15 min drive in a tuk tuk to Mirissa beach. I would strongly suggest looking in weligamma or any other place BUT CLUB MIRISSA.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
0.8 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
271 reviews
9.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Dreams Hotel
Ocean Dreams Hotel
#34 of 49 in Ahangama
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirissa Beach Inn
Mirissa Beach Inn
#46 of 199 in Mirissa
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ever Green Mirissa & Calm Spa
14.3 mi away
Crazy Coconut Villa
Crazy Coconut Villa
#83 of 148 in Unawatuna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mirissa

Address: 183 Gunasiri Mahimi, Mawatha, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $32 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mirissa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mirissa takes pride in introducing its services to clients in a unique Colonial Villa. This is an environment only a stone throw away from fabulous Mirissa Beach where everyone can enjoy life to the fullest and also a thriving location for full on twenty-first century living. Tranquil and pleasant environment gives you comfort and peaceful living in an attractive setting. Ample leisure and recreational facilities in the surrounding area will be luxury for living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Club Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing