We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place that Ive stayed in Sri Lanka”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Blossom Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place that Ive stayed in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Rose Blossom was literally the best place that Ive stayed in Sri Lanka, and Ive been staying in 6 different guesthouses. Not only the rooms are very nice, well maintained and simply beautiful but also the owners Chanie and Lali are the most friendly, charming and helpful people ever. And Lali is a great cook!
The guest house itself is surrounded by foliage of banana, mango, papaya and other exotic trees, there is great common outdoor terrace.
If I ever happen to be in Mirissa again my choice would be of course Rose Blossm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydra2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    45
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
124
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mirissa has a beautiful beach, it's got whale watching but most memorable for me were Chanie and Lali.

They run a cute garden guesthouse a short stroll from the beach. A few minutes further uphill, a temple looks out over the sea.

Chanie and Lali are just down to earth, genuine people. Made us feel very welcome. Sure, rose blossom isn't luxury accomodation but as guest houses go in sri lanka it is very good and plenty of charm to boot. Definitely the best option in Mirissa, for me.

And Chanie's prawn curry! Make sure you ask her to cook you what she would make for her and Lali - she makes excellent 'gami kaama' (village food).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The owners are simply wonderful. They are helpful, pleasant welcoming, wonderful. I really did feel as though I was an honorary member of the family during the few days I stayed there.
Yes, the rooms are clean and tidy and the place is quiet, but still a short stroll from the (beautiful) beach.
But this place is simply excellent because I felt as though they really cared.
You just cannot buy a welcome like this!

Room Tip: No tip - they are all very very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Host Family:
Very friendly and very welcoming.
Both lovely people.
Made us feel at home.

Facilities:
Air-Conditioning and a Fan which was much appreciated as it is very hot and humid in the area.
No television but we didn't mind as we spent most of the time out and about.
Laundry service was only SLR50 per item which was a great deal!

Room:
Very well presented and spotlessly clean upon arrival, however, the room and towel were only cleaned before arrival and not during our stay.
Water pressure for shower and toilet was very low so it took a while to shower.

Breakfast:
Delicious!

Room Tip: Don't go to the nearest Secret Root Spa for a massage unless you have an extremely high pain thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Chanie and Lali make you feel welcomed and comfortable. So polite and helpful with suggestions about the local area. Our room was a/c, clean and had a very nice western style bathroom and mossi net provided. The dorr is normally locked at 10.30, which is fine for Mirissa as it is not a place with a very busy night life. Breakfast was egg, fresh fruits homegrown and toast with tea. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with two friends for 4 nights at the end of our Sri Lankan holiday. Chanie and Lali were extremely welcoming and our room was absolutely spotless. Beautiful walled garden area to relax in, absolutely amazing homecooked food (we have asked for the recipes!) and a really laid back atmosphere. Cosy, homely feel added to by their gorgeous dog, cat and kittens! A homestay style guesthouse but still giving you privacy. Cannot recommend highly enough to anyone wishing to stay in Mirissa.

Room Tip: Go for an air conditioned room if one is available.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HannahR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The atmosphere of Rose Blossom is quite like a home stay, Chanie and Lai treat you like family in their lovely home, completed with a cute garden and a friendly residential dog. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Chanie was also helpful in arranging whale tours (a must do in Mirissa!) and onward transport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linz_563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 141 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#12 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Blossom Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Blossom Guesthouse

Property: Rose Blossom Guesthouse
Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rose Blossom Guesthouse Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing