We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

the place looked really great after asking to look at some of the rooms. We were actually staying in another guest house but ate there most days as the position overlooking the sea was stunning. The food was great and reasonably priced, would difinately book in there when returning to Mirissa.

Room Tip: excellent spot to do Yoga or whale watching, Mirrisa is a very small village this place was a gem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skudderbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    172
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
134
290
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived with no reservation and on first look decided to stay for 2 nights. But this proved not enough, we enjoyed it so much we stayed for 4. We had a huge room in the main villa, upstairs. This proved to be really quiet and the sea breeze meant no need for air conditioning. We left the windows and balcony door open all night. Grounds lovely, although the loungers would benefit from some cushions. The hotel is on the quiet end of the beach, sea swimming beautiful, turtles swim by!. Plenty of beach restaurants within easy walking distance and also easy to do day trips to Galle and other south island beach places.

Room Tip: Rooms in villa afford better privacy than beachfront rooms, Higher rooms catch lovely sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Set at the non busy end of the beach right next to the island Palm Villa provides simple shabby-chic beachside rooms. Service and food is excellent. View of island and surfers and more remote beach makes its an ideal Spot to relax in the Hammocks, befriend the sweet dog Lola, snorkel or stroll the peaceful beaches.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a sea view a/c room at Palm Villa. Our room was good - quite large, good bathroom, clean towels every day - although we had 2 single beds pushed together rather than a double. Staff were friendly & very helpful. Food was ok but much better & cheaper restaurants are just a couple of minutes walk down the beach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the more expensive rooms with a sea view. The guesthouse was busy despite it being November and I think that reflects how busy Mirissa is as well as the high standard of the rooms at Palm Villa. very clean and very well decorated with well laid out grounds this was a good place to lay on the beach and swim. Main beach is busy but not crowded while walking in the opposite direction gave us a beach to ourselves. this was November and in season i suspect it would be crowded. Breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. We didn't eat here in evenings but at the excellent No1 Dewmini Roti Shop which is 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Popular so book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Palm Villa is a nice guess house in Mirissa located on the beach towards the east end. The rooms are clean and comfortable (I had a garden room with fan only) and offer hot water. There is a lovely relaxed feeling and there are sun loungers and hammocks in the gardens to sit back and enjoy the fantastic view or to just read a book.

The breakfast was very nice and there is a choice of fruits, smoothies, eggs etc.

The staff at Palm Villa are very helpful and are always on hand if you need something.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toky302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Palm Villa was a wonderful place for a two night stay in Mirissa. Set far enough away from the main beach area, yet right on the water, the rooms were open, airy, and beautiful. Certainly recommend this place-not the cheapest option, but great quality for what you spend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffreyhdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#15 of 183 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#3 of 183 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing