We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for this price in Mirissa-loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best place for this price in Mirissa-loved it!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We paid 25€ for 'garden villa' for 2 person with breakfast. For this money this is a great deal. Out room had fan and no AC, but it was still reasonable. The location is perfect, right next to the main beach with many other bars or activities. Breakfast was delicious and big. The best idea is also to have lunch and dinner here, because prices are reasonable compared to the other offer and food is very good. Rooms look nice and clean. For the ones who really need, you can take the one with AC. Villas have direct access to the sea, where you can swim easily, without the big waves or strong current. You can also spot turtles swimming in this bay through the day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    172
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
134
290
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Definitely the best place we have stayed during our 22 days Sri Lanka trip!

Mirissa is a good beach location for snorkeling, surfing and relaxing. The Villa is nicely situated in a private bay just around the corner of the busier main beach. And without a doubt the most beautiful place on Mirissa Beach. It has beautiful white spacious rooms with grey cement floors, and there is much time spent on the décor which has a French touch. There are three rabbits, two cats and one cute dog running around in the idyllic flower garden. The dining tables are nicely placed in the shade under the palm trees, right next to the sea.

The food is also very good. Without a doubt better than the food in the beach restaurants, and also cheaper! We are still dreaming about the fantastic grilled Sri Lankan style butter fish which Gamini - the chef – prepared for us. Marinated in tomato sauce and herbs, completed with garlic butter sauce and off course rice, French fries and vegetables. We still cannot believe we just payed 6 dollars each for the best fresh fish diner ever.. Important note though, the food is good but basic based on their opinion on what tourists like. We asked the chef to prepare it hís Sri Lankan way, and this point the food started to get better and better.

Also the service was good, has a nice family touch. Rooms are cleaned daily.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst_Merel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pretty basic room but excellent location right on the beach. The hotel has it's own outdoor eating area and sunbathing area too if you fancy a day away from the beach. The staff were helpful and arranged our whale watching trip. We were unable to book an air conditioned room about two months in advance of our stay. We spoke to a few other guests who also had no air-con which made us wonder just how many rooms with A/C they actually did have. Our room had a fan but it was very warm - A/C is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Without a doubt the highlight of our holiday in Sri Lanka. Palm Villa is set-back from the beach with stunning views of the ocean. Extremely friendly owners, rabbits running around the grounds and cheap rates make this place a must when visiting Mirissa. We were supposed to spend three-nights on the east coast but went back to Mirissa instead!

Room Tip: The sign for Palm Villa isn't very visible from the main road, so look hard or ask a local!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuTame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights - and genuinely enjoyed our stay. The Palm Villa is the perfect place to take it easy and do absolutely nothing but read. It is quiet, the staff are attentive and the view is beautiful!
Our first night, we were put in a garden room instead of the ocean room we'd booked, and I can say that we vastly preferred the ocean room we moved to on night 2. The garden room was stuffy, and you could really hear the noise from the streets. The ocean view room was still warm, but there was a bit of a breeze and falling asleep listening to the sea was very pleasant.
Palm Villas is definitely the nicest looking place on the beach and the staff really do a good job of making sure you have a a pleasant stay. Pet the cats and enjoy!

Room Tip: definitely go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Family room was ideal for us (2 kids, 2 adults). Breakfast was huge and excellent. Very friendly. A little more than we normally spend but worth the splurge. They arranged whale watching at similar or cheaper price than advertised elsewhere.
Would be happy to go back anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fallfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights but can easily see why people stay longer. While only 2 people they gave us a huge family room on the second floor with private balcony, sea views and mosaic bathroom.

Without aircon it was a bit hot but you have netting for Mosquitos so after the first night we left the windows open and the sea breeze helped. I would not have fancied the rooms next to reception so definitely ask for sea view!

Gardens are perfect for sunbathing and right next to sea for a dip when it gets to hot. The food was really good I can recommend the red snapper, tuna steak and lobster all very fresh and well presented. Note the lobster is a bit pricey but still much cheaper than at home.

We did the whale watching trip and while it was a success in that we saw lots of dolphins and whales the boat was very bumpy and despite never having it before I got really sea sick. Recommend some anti sea sick drugs if you do go and plenty of sun cream.

Overall a fantastic place and highly recommended with very friendly staff . If you can, book ahead for the best rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#15 of 183 in Mirissa
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
#2 of 140 in Mirissa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing