We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location, best place in Mirissa”
Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a location, best place in Mirissa”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights, extending the stay every day as we loved it so much (one more night!). The rooms are simple but the location and the service and the food extraordinary. The Sri Lankan breakfast was fab. A really nice place to chill out.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nickii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    175
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
137
301
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I came to Palm Villa after 3 nights at a truly secluded beach cabana. That place was so good it may have tainted our view of Palm Villa but overall Palm Villa was very pleasant.

The location is great and having the nice calm waters to swim in was a nice change to the not-safe-to-swim-in seas we'd been used to. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but unfortunately the mosquito net didn't close properly at all meaning we had to use my girlfriends hair clips and my engineering degree to keep it closed. Even once that was done it draped over our lower calves and feet once in bed meaning we got some mean bites through the net anyway.

The food I have to say was average...equivalent to decent "pub grub" as we might say in the UK I guess. Perfectly edible but nothing to write home about.

Overall the hotel is clean and well laid out, there were plenty of deckchairs and sunbeds lying around, the open air restaurant was also nice and right next to the sea so you get the cool evening breeze. Compared to other guesthouses, this place felt the most "touristy"...everywhere else consisted of people travelling on tours or backpacking, Palm Villa felt like a place people would stay for a week or two to laze on the beach.

They also organised a whale watching trip for us at a discounted price which was great and very successful! The breakfast included was very basic but it was nice enough and it filled a hole.

The beach just around the headland is also nice and has a few beach bars, restaurants and of course other hotels.

Overall it's nice, but you won't say it's the nicest place you've stayed in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed there for 18 nights and had the most fantastic time. The beach is great, surfing possible straight in front of the guesthouse. We felt like living with a family. Staff was excellent, food was excellent, accommodation was excellent. We are very grateful to all the staff, management and the owner. Thank you very much. We booked already another 4 weeks for our next trip..

Paul and Fern from Byron Bay, Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is very well decorated and not to expensive, still it also has several downsides: it has no stretch of sandbeach. If you want to swim, you can go next door at Giragala hotel (which is a nice place - see my review) or to the beach where fishermen park their boats, and that's à very poluted area. The managing director of the hotel is not friendly at all. We had rescheduled one day of our stay due to changes in our travel plans, we had informed him in advance of this, still upon our arrival he insisted us to pay for the cancelled night what we didn't do. Instead of this, we stayed an extra day in Mirissa at another hotel, ie the hotel Giragala next door (see my review).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and two kids age 7 and 9 spent five days at this lovely place, and we all loved it!

At first we were a bit surprised about the huge waves, as I was sure I'd read numerous reviews stating that the sea in front of Palm Villa was calm and suitable for kids. Well, we were just really glad our children had taken swimming lessons the past year, otherwise we would definitely have had a bit of a problem there. As it turned out, our oldest enjoyed playing in the waves immensely, whereas the youngest had a couple of scarying incidents that made her not-so-keen on spending every minute of the days there.

Fortunately, there were also other acitivities to enjoy, such as playing with kittens, puppies and bunnies, taking a swing in one of the hammocks, playing cards, taking walks along the beaches or going for a tuk-tuk ride in the neighbourhood.

The only negative aspect of our stay here was the fact that every meal took ages to prepare - even a sandwich for lunch would easily take over an hour from ordering to actually getting it. Only thing to keep us from getting really impatient was buying a deck of cards - but that did help a lot :)

Apart from that we had a great stay, very relaxing and a lot of family-fun in the sun. Would recommend Palm Villa to families - just not with younger children...

Room Tip: We stayed in #15 which was in the corner of the garden with great views and very suitable for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muc
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After about a week of rain, hiking, sightseeing and a lot of driving, we headed down south to spend some relaxing days on the beach. And we could not have made a better choice as Palm Villa is a wonderful place to stay at a great beach with gorgeous sunsets.
The rooms are spacoius and clean (rooms are cleande by the staff every day) an even though we did not have a sea view and heard some noise from the street, we enjoyed it a lot. The staff is very helpful, friendly and allowed us to pay way later than the ususal check out time. We paid 30$ per night including breakfast. The food in generel is very good and even if you like to try something else there a plenty of places to eat and drink right at the beach.
Palm Villa organizes laundry service with some external people, whale watching and they even recommended a driver accomodation (we travelled with a driver and since he did not know the area too well they were quite helpful with that).
Mirissa is quieter and not such a party place so if you are looking for night life you better visit Hikkaduwa. But if you enjoy some relaxing days, like to read your book under a palm tree or take a nap in on the 5 hammocks, Palm Villa is the place to go.
We stayed from 17.-20 Feb and had booked Palm Villa about 4 weeks in advance from home. If you insist on the sea view you miht need to make your reservation further inadvacne as the place is always fully booked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zumabeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I read several earlier comments on this site about rude management as well as staff and hesitated before I actually booked.

However I had a really great stay with friendly and helpful staff. Hotel's room and facilities were great just as the restaurant (I recommend the O.J.) and the access was immediate to the lovely beach.

Manager was helpful in organising me a whale trip as well as an onward taxi to Yala NP at very reasonable costs.

If my itinerary had allowed I'd love to have stayed longer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 186 in Mirissa
307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#12 of 186 in Mirissa
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 157 in Mirissa
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing