We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, good food, nice beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Location, good food, nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked for 2 nights and extended to 5, shortly after we realized we probably wouldn't find a better value along the south coast. There are 4 rooms right in front (closest to the water) and these are a good choice depending on the time of year. This is because Palm's outdoor dinning area is between these rooms and the water. By December I'd opt for a room on the outside edges of the property or upstairs.

The room we stayed in was small and basic, but was quite clean, with ample hot water and a nice covered front porch area. Our breakfast was included and was your basic western (2 eggs/toast/fruit plate) or Sri Lankan egg in some dahl with toast.

We dined for lunch on the "seefood" salad a few times and it was decent at 450rps. I'd recommend the Sri Lankan curry for dinner, just remember you have to order ahead of time. It was very good and was spicy, consisting of 5 or 6 curries and rice and coconut sambal.

The swimming and snorkeling in front of the hotel is great and there is a nice break for surfing as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    171
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
133
286
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is hard to find off the road, and at night. Even the tuk tuk driver did not know where it was. We arrived on the train from Colombo to weligama about 8pm and jumped on a tuk tuk, paid 300 rupees.

The welcome was very friendly by staff, and they explained about all their services. We ate in their restaurant that night and the food was really lovely!!!The setting was lovely, right on the beach and a lovely place to have a candlelit dinner. We had a great piece of fish... The young lads that do most of the work are really lovely and very attentive to your needs. Our room was right opposite the sea and the views were to die for.

We stayed 2 nights and the room was not cleaned. We also did not have any hot water, despite paying for it, but as this is run off of solar and there was no sun for the previous few days, there was no hot water. Plus the water came out at a trickle.

All in all I felt this room was over priced at 60 US dollars and was not worth that money. I would advise to see what else is around before staying here.

Although very nice, overpriced for what it was.

Mirissa as a place is lovely and we loved it. Would so go back here.

Would recommend raja and the whales tour, raja is an excellent guy and does great tours. Will not charge you if you do not see whales.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is mid range in price $35-50 US and is great value. The actual buildings are beautiful with portugese architecture. The owner has restored his family home with a very sensitive eye for design and comfort. The view is beautiful and it is a great place to relax. The staff are helpful when making arrangements for scooters, washing etc Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are around the side but are still lovely and private with a view from their little ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandro331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there two nights at a big and very nicely decorated room with a balcony looking over the sea. The room was great, no doubt, and so were the views and the location. We prefered to bath in the beaches west to the hotel as for the "hotel's beach" doesnt have any sand...
Our main problem with this place was a rather "attitude" one. Even though the staff were very friendly, smily and polite we have found them rather rigid: it was the first place after 3 weeks of traveling in Sri Lanka that wanted to charge us full price (again) for asking for.some more rice and some more of the curries (let's agree that it is ok to charge some more, but full price?!); we couldnt have breakfast on our first morning with them. They wouldnt take the price off for that day and has offered that we'd have breakfast at noon when we get back. Ok. But he breakfast we got, we came to learn, was a degraded one.
Last, we think that charging 50usd for off season is a bit pricy but after all its us who paid it.
In a nutshell: a rather good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed 5 nights in the Palm Villa in Mirissa and had a great time there.
The room with seaview was neat and clean, the bathroom decorated with beautiful blue tiles.
The hotel is located right at the beach, with a fantastic view at the sea and you can always hear the sound of the rolling waves.
The garden is beautiful and well-kept and has several hammacks to chill-out.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful and the owner is a very interesting and friendly man to talk to. The food there was excellent.
Hope to go there again someday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPink33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

After spending a night at an expensive resort down the road, we found the beautiful Palm Villa hidden away overlooking the most stunning beach. The room was so comfortable and stylish, the food was amazing, and the staff were relaxed, friendly, charming, helpful - just wonderful. Lots of lovely little touches - citronella coils placed under our window at night, complimentary desserts - and at a very reasonable price. We stayed an extra day as we didn't want to leave and reluctantly bid a very fond farewell to the staff at the end of our stay. Best accommodation we had by far, very hard to find any faults - impossible not to feel totally blissed out!

Room Tip: all of the rooms seemed great, overlooking the hammocks to the sea was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jude b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Year 2011 / 2012. Great room for the 4 of us. Liked the decor, clean, comfortable, lots of space. Can't remember whether it had hot water or not! Good location - between 2 beaches. If you can manage it, get up at dawn one morning and just have a walk along the beach to the left of you. Abandoned apart from the odd fisherman, who you can watch going about his daily business. Lovely beaches. Not too far a walk along to the main stretch of Mirissa beach but far enough away to be peaceful and quite chilled.
Generally we walked along to the main beach each evening and had BBQed fish, etc each night. Gorgeous. Think we had one meal and breakfast at Palm Villa - the service took AGES. My recommendations for eating are as we did - walk along the beach. Also, you HAVE to go to Dewmini's Roti Shop. 10 mins walk from the hotel but SO worth it. Go THERE for breakfast - gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. Check out the reviews. Good for eating at any time of the day.
Another recommendation - Whale Watching; please look up Raja and the Whales. They carry out a really professional operation and obey all the regulations about what to do with whales and other wildlife. Check out the reviews for this too.
New Year celebrations were fun on Mirissa Beach. As were the celebrations at Palm Villa - come to think of it, that might have influenced the service the next day .... !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#12 of 180 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 180 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#18 of 180 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
#2 of 135 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing