We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good budget option.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We only stayed at Palm Villa for one night but overall we really liked it.

The rooms are very basic, but fine for what you pay and the view we had (from room number 1) was brilliant; right on the beach so we could sit on our porch and watch the waves. The hotel is just round the corner from the main beach so was nice and quiet

We didn't have dinner at Palm Villa but we were really happy with the breakfast.

Our only negative would be about the staff who seemed pretty uninterested and very slow.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaboo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    172
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
134
290
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Having seen such positive reviews here me and my wife decided to stay in Palm Villa after spending 5 days in Tangalle’s region. During our trip to Sri Lanka we have stayed in 4 hotels/guests and seen many more – I must admit, Palm Villa was the worst! It is absolutely not worthy those highly positive words one can read on trip advisor. At first look at the hotel we were wondering why it was so overestimated: a small hotel adjourned to the main road with very little space inside, full of people… And it seemed to us half of those people were not Palm Villa’s guests – this place looks like an open house, where everyone can enter. So it can hardly be called “nice and cosy”. By the way, Mirissa itself in comparison to Tangalle’s suburbs is not as calm and isolated – a lot of locals and surfers are everywhere on the beach.
Moreover, there were problems with reservation - my friend reserved a room to spend a weakend with us in Palm Villa, but whren he came there he was told there was no fre room! So beware!
But the worst thing about Palm Villa is service. There is only one guy in the hotel who speaks English, I suppose he is the chief there. But the thing is that he can be rarely found at the reception desk. The rest of the staff do not even understand English - so if you have some problem or a request you either have to wait for the boss or just forget about it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amicus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed there for 5 nights and it wasn't at all long enough. It is in a great location to relax in the hammocks and watch the 2 dogs and rabbits play. Palm Villa doesn't get the afternoon wind like the main part of the beach, yet its just around the corner from the main part of Mirissa, and has calmer waters to swim in if you wish. Great value for a lovely clean, relaxing place. The only tip for staying in Mirissa is that we found most places take about an hour to make the food so order at any of the cafe's before your too hungry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Palm Villa is a great place - the manager was very accommodating, and whilst you can find cheaper rooms elsewhere, the service here is worth the extra money. The rooms are clean and spacious and staying here felt like a taste of luxury, at an affordable price, compared to other places we stayed. On the day we arrived they put on a huge all-you-can eat seafood barbeque which was amazing - the fish was divine and it really was all-you-can-eat: we kept going back for more. The manager and staff will sort out anything you want, whether it's to see the whales, borrow a body board or snorkel (which we did from reception for free), or even play the locals in a game of beach cricket! They will help you arrange anything and the local guys who work for the hotel can get you a motorbike, advise you on tours and the manager was keen to tell us he does weddings too, including an elephant ride for the bride and groom - unfortunately none of us were getting married. Overall a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are the best but slightly more costly. There are nice 3-bed rooms, some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Mirissa is one of my favorite beaches on Sri Lanka's southern coast and Palm Villa is easily the best resort on the strip. Loved the garden restaurant overlooking the beach. Good seafood, friendly service and overall great value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jehan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a massive family room which had a single and two double beds. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a terrace with garden out the front which continued to the dining area and the ocean. Just fabulous! Food was delicious! Our daughter had her 6th birthday here so the management ordered her a cake (free) which was a lovely gesture. The hotel is situated in a cove so the surf is not so rough. Plus if you walk to the left along the ocean wall you come to another beach which is protected so our kids were able to swim safely. To the right of the hotel is where the surf beach is which was had quite a rip when we were there. There are plenty of restaurants along the surf beach, but it was just so easy to eat ocean front right outside our room!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We went here for diner a few times while staying nearby and loved it.
you will not find better food, location or staff in Sri Lanka.
The decor and the gardens are amazing.
We wanted to move here but it was impossible to get out of our pre booking in a much more expensive hotel nearby.
There is a very good reason why it is recommended on the lonely planet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#15 of 183 in Mirissa
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
Hangover Hostel Mirissa
#2 of 140 in Mirissa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing