We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Villa
Nearby Hotels
Triple O Six(Mirissa)
$96
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shehan Guest House(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$58
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mirissa Hills(Mirissa)
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$40
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
439
186
32
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
186
32
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain beachmirissa beachsea viewsri lankadeck chairshot watersun loungersplace to staysouth coastbeach frontstayed two nightsfamily roomcurrieslovely placebars and restaurantsbeautiful gardenhotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 675 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This country is in transition and thus far it does not bode well for independent travelers.

This is one small hotel that is well suited for independent travelers. It is beautifully appointed,enhancing an already exquisite beach locale. The service is kind, very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is well prepared. They could expand their menu choices for more vegetarian /Sri Lankan dishes, but what they offer is tasty.

The rooms and bathroom are extremely clean and comfortable. I slept very well to the roar of the ocean and lovely temperature of Mirissa. The beach is off the main beach and more protected in a small cove. The swimming is delightful.

This IS the place to come for some R+R at the beach in Sri Lanka.

Yes, and the rabbits and dogs cavort to everyone's entertainment.

Room Tip: second floor has BEST views
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We found Palm Villas to be the perfect spot for our few days in lovely Mirissa. Tucked away at a nice secluded and more private end of the beach with friendly staff and a really great relaxing vibe.

We had nice a room set back in the grounds with a sea view. The clean, simple yet comfortable room was a good size, with a double bed, decent mosquito net and a nice breeze when the front windows were opened up.

The well presented bathroom was a good size with plenty of room for toiletries and a shower set into an alcove to one side. The toilet was in a small room on its own.

On site restaurant is set among palm trees right on the waters edge and serves decent food that we found to be of a better quality than that offered further along the main stretch of the beach.

As mentioned, location is at a nice end of the beach with a small bay offering quite sheltered swimming and a couple of options for snorkelling with gear provided by the hotel. While the snorkelling was by no means stunning we did spot a few varieties of fish and enjoyed having an activity to break up our lazy beach time.

If I had one small gripe it would be that the wifi was only available in a small area near reception and did not work for half the time we were staying. Would perhaps recommend the owners invest some resources in improving coverage and reliability.

All in all a great little hotel with nice grounds and simple, clean, and comfortable rooms.

Am happy to recommend this hotel for the budget to mid range traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were traveling to Mirissa over NY and were struggling to book anywhere in advance - but luckily we found a room available in Palm Villa after wandering up and down the beach. Not on the main beach (which was a good thing for us) so it is on a quieter secluded bay around the corner with calm seas and no restaurants etc. We loved sitting outside in the garden on the hammocks or loungers, chatting with the manager and his friendly team. There were pet rabbits hopping around which was cute. Other guests were a mixture of families, couples, older and younger - everyone seemed to be enjoying their stay! Nice breakfast (though service could be slow / fast - but we were in no rush!). Right on the sea. We had a room at the back (probably the last available) which was US$35 per night including breakfast which I thought was very good value considering the beautiful location. The room was clean and basic. If I was to return I would ask for a room with a sea view. Very relaxing and very friendly. They had a BBQ on NYE for all of the guests which was nice. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view - the ones upstairs looked nice as they had a small balcony as well overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Palm Villa and its a great base for Mirissa. Its much larger than we expected and very busy, certainly not a little guesthouse as we had imagined, but still managed to maintain a relaxed vibe. Mirissa beach is right in front of a very busy main road as are many of the guesthouses, but Palm Villa was nice and secluded at the end of the beach amongst the rocks. Room was very basic but large and relatively cool, only cold water for the showers, but its so hot that this is almost welcomed! View was beautiful from our room, make sure you try and get one overlooking the sea and not over the garden. Didnt eat any food there as we heard from some several others that stayed there the food wasn't great at all, ate on the beach instead. Its a shame that the only access to the beach is either dodging the lorries on the main road, or scrambling over rocks and rubbish, in the dark this is almost lethal, they would be wise to invest building some steps. I saw from a previous review that they got to use a snorkel for free, we had to pay quite a bit for it to use for 25 mins! They seemed to make up the price on the spot! Palm Beach was a great place but nothing special or personalized about it. Mirissa wasn't at all what it was described in the guide books, no more is it an oasis of palm trees and white sandy beaches. Its now been filled with sun loungers all over the beach, restaurants that take HOURS if you want to eat something and men trying to lure you in with cheap cocktails and shots,and blasting music all day long, such a shame as you can see where its going.....and what it was before....

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the view of the sea although your probably going to have to pay a bit more...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ch11111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Located in a quite corner of the main beach, Palm Villa is an ideal place to stay in at Mirissa. There is a bit of a reasonably cool and hippie vibe to it, but also a good mix of travelers, families / young couples or older travelers. A very friendly and nice atmosphere. Our family bedroom (with 2 kids) was great, very spacious, clean, with high ceiling and nice large balcony overlooking the beach. The best about this place is probably the managers and staff, really friendly and helpful. There are board games for the kids to be busy during the hot hours, so we played chess and also Carrom, lots of fun. They lend snorkeling equipment for free. There is a nice little temple to visit nearby, you can walk there alongside the beach, very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews