We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming guest house”
Review of Palm Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Villa
Ranked #3 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Welcoming guest house”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were traveling to Mirissa over NY and were struggling to book anywhere in advance - but luckily we found a room available in Palm Villa after wandering up and down the beach. Not on the main beach (which was a good thing for us) so it is on a quieter secluded bay around the corner with calm seas and no restaurants etc. We loved sitting outside in the garden on the hammocks or loungers, chatting with the manager and his friendly team. There were pet rabbits hopping around which was cute. Other guests were a mixture of families, couples, older and younger - everyone seemed to be enjoying their stay! Nice breakfast (though service could be slow / fast - but we were in no rush!). Right on the sea. We had a room at the back (probably the last available) which was US$35 per night including breakfast which I thought was very good value considering the beautiful location. The room was clean and basic. If I was to return I would ask for a room with a sea view. Very relaxing and very friendly. They had a BBQ on NYE for all of the guests which was nice. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view - the ones upstairs looked nice as they had a small balcony as well overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    175
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
135
299
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Palm Villa and its a great base for Mirissa. Its much larger than we expected and very busy, certainly not a little guesthouse as we had imagined, but still managed to maintain a relaxed vibe. Mirissa beach is right in front of a very busy main road as are many of the guesthouses, but Palm Villa was nice and secluded at the end of the beach amongst the rocks. Room was very basic but large and relatively cool, only cold water for the showers, but its so hot that this is almost welcomed! View was beautiful from our room, make sure you try and get one overlooking the sea and not over the garden. Didnt eat any food there as we heard from some several others that stayed there the food wasn't great at all, ate on the beach instead. Its a shame that the only access to the beach is either dodging the lorries on the main road, or scrambling over rocks and rubbish, in the dark this is almost lethal, they would be wise to invest building some steps. I saw from a previous review that they got to use a snorkel for free, we had to pay quite a bit for it to use for 25 mins! They seemed to make up the price on the spot! Palm Beach was a great place but nothing special or personalized about it. Mirissa wasn't at all what it was described in the guide books, no more is it an oasis of palm trees and white sandy beaches. Its now been filled with sun loungers all over the beach, restaurants that take HOURS if you want to eat something and men trying to lure you in with cheap cocktails and shots,and blasting music all day long, such a shame as you can see where its going.....and what it was before....

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the view of the sea although your probably going to have to pay a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch11111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Located in a quite corner of the main beach, Palm Villa is an ideal place to stay in at Mirissa. There is a bit of a reasonably cool and hippie vibe to it, but also a good mix of travelers, families / young couples or older travelers. A very friendly and nice atmosphere. Our family bedroom (with 2 kids) was great, very spacious, clean, with high ceiling and nice large balcony overlooking the beach. The best about this place is probably the managers and staff, really friendly and helpful. There are board games for the kids to be busy during the hot hours, so we played chess and also Carrom, lots of fun. They lend snorkeling equipment for free. There is a nice little temple to visit nearby, you can walk there alongside the beach, very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in January & thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed, happy atmosphere.
The rooms are a bit basic, with no hanging space for clothes for example, but they are perfectly adequate & clean. The location is wonderful, looking straight out on the sea.The breakfasts are good, but we have no idea about the dinners, as we ate on the beach. The staff are very friendly & helpful.
I would recommend this place to other people.
Vanessa Uk

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was a very sweet place just around the corner from the main Mirissa beach (but still on the beach - in fact, probably at the best sheltered, safe spot for taking children into the water, away from the surf). The people there were lovely and very understanding when we had to move on earlier than planned. (I'm not doubting the comments below about the reservation, but I must say that our phone booking was very clearly marked into their calendar when we arrived. I think it's always smart to call again a few days before during busy seasons, just to be on the safe side.)
It's not luxury but then you're not paying luxury amounts. It's a rustic place with rabbits happily hopping around and fishermen setting sail just in front. It's right on the water and you can hear the waves all night (in a good way)! We took a front room which has the best view and beach access but do be aware that this is close to the sounds of waves and breakfast diners and has air-openings to the room (although the mosquito net seemed to keep everything at bay anyway).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didiandgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Built right on the rocks between two sandy coves, this guest house couldn't be better located and is still small enough to have kept its individuality. Rooms built around the owner's own beautiful old house are well designed and very clean, mine had fan but no AC. Even better, a large verandah with sunbeds and chairs close enough to the water to feel the cooling sea spray and a few large hammocks strung between palms to get some shade from the midday sun. Swimming and snorkelling in safe waters only 2 minutes walk away. Food pretty good too... fish heaven for me! Owner and staff really friendly - was here on my own for the weekend and felt very comfortable - just one slightly surreal moment when a large white rabbit hopped through the breakfast tables!

Hotel has a wifi spot or there is a good Internet cafe about 10 minutes walk away, would say that main road is not lit and if you've experienced the driving in Sri Lanka avoid going after dark!

Not necessarily the cheapest option (may have been more expensive as I was there one week before Christmas) but still a true oasis after a crazy Sri Lankan working week!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_hungry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

we have reserved in this nice small b&b, unfortunately when we arrived there wasn't any room reserved for us ... we than paid 120US$ in order to stay in a different hotel in Mirissa.
Don't trust on the reservation! they are just not reliable!
When I started to claim they started to lay ... first they said that the boss wants to keep the room than I insisted and the receptionist lady told me that they have given away the room few minutes before ...
don't trust on them!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nightfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 185 in Mirissa
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 185 in Mirissa
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#14 of 185 in Mirissa
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#5 of 151 in Mirissa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villa

Property: Palm Villa
Address: Matara Road | Banbaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm villa Mirissa is situated on the bay of Mirissa between weligama and Matara. Palm Villa Mirissa offers a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. He(It) contains 20 rooms, 2 bars, a restaurant, terraces and gardens. The access to Internet is free in common areas. Every day in "Tea Time", tea and snack are gracefully offered to the customers. Rooms are spacious, include balcony or a terrace deprived seen on the ocean or the garden. They are equipped for the greater part, of ventilator, air conditioning, strong safes and mini refrigerators. Palm villa Mirissa has the possibility of offering rooms adapted to the comfort of large families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing