We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dinu's Resort
Nearby Hotels
$112
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$91
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ancient Tree Guesthouse(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mirissa Hills(Mirissa)
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Villa(Mirissa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Morning Star(Mirissa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
16
9
10
16
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
9
10
16
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricecooking classplace to staymamacoconut
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 86 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here back in February and again this October, recommended by friends. This place has a great atmosphere with a restaurant and bar (currently being renovated). Mumma makes the best curry in Mirissa by far and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms vary in price and yes, unfortunately has mosquitoes, but it's set back slightly off the main surf break beautifully in the trees, so nature will obviously be on your doorstep, so the bad reviews are slightly unfair! Monkeys, chipmunks and civets are also regular visitors. Most people know that it's pretty standard to check whether tax and service is included when room prices are quoted so always check this first or you will be shocked in some places when they add it on at the end. Kasun (Baby) is always happy to help if you need anything at all. You can rent boards for cheap here and also book your whale trips through them. I always have a lovely time here!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Betty_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What they charged us for an A/C room in this mosquito pit was simply exorbitant, even for Mirissa. Adding insult to injury, a 10% “service charge” was tacked on to both room and board. Hope it was worth the €3! Maybe you can now replace some of the (no exaggeration) tattered rags used as bed coverings. I won't even mention the bath.
Conclusion: Far and away the worst place we stayed at in Sri Lanka.
Tip: Whatever you do, DO NOT look underneath the mattress.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jogden1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Foolishly ignored the reviews thinking they were probably all just picky americans. Only booked one night though as being cautious. Turned up, took one look at the room and walked out. Found somewhere lovely just up the beach and didn't bother asking for a refund. Thing is, I am not being fussy, all you need for a decent room is fresh coat of paint and some clean sheets, its really not hard to provide a simple cheap room. But this was all just so dirty and horrible. Its lazy and insulting and that's why I wrote this review, because these guys should not be taking anyone's money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Sonofkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We walk in this place at night.It looks like they have two buildings.One old one new.We stay at the old side for 1 night.
Trust me, the bad reviews before it's true. Hightly no no no recommend! The room really dirty.The bed uncomfortable,cockroachs found in the bathroom.We don't know how the owner thinking about it. Just ignore all these bad reviews? Never try to fix it? It's the worst experience in sri lanka!
But, this place is close to the beach,2 mins walk. And the owner and staff just fine. even the staff bobby told us the price was 5000rupees.but when we check out,the owner try to let us pay 8000rupees.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After booking & paying in full, we arrived & were shown to our 'bungalow'. The owner 'Dinu' doesn't know what a 'bungalow' is. He calls his rooms 'upstairs' in a run down building - the 'bungalows' - what a joke ! It had been raining and the deck leading to the room was green slime & slippery. We entered the dark, smelly, dirty room in horror. Welcome to our nightmare. The floor was covered in sand, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere. The bed linen was old, crumpled and not clean. The pillows were deteriated, the mosquito net was torn and absolutely filthy, the furniture was old and consisted of a broken towel rack with a nail sticking out of it - which tore my dress when I walked past it, the small cupboard was fit for the dump, the bathroom stunk & was not clean, the room was full of mosquitos, the ashtray on the verandah outside our room was full of stale old smelly cigarette butts. This place was not cheap - we paid AUD $65 per night & booked it for 3 nights - big mistake. We could not believe that 'Dinu' could have the hide to present this place to tourists & charge so much and actually get away with it. Talk about 'false advertising'. It continued to shower so everytime we left our room we had to slush through thick mud. After the first night we complained bitterly. He moved us to the other building closer to the beach - it was far better - but still dark inside & not very clean. We are well travelled & no true value - this place is a 'Dive' - it is disgusting - a total rip off - very run down. Be warned !

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the ocean are better. Ensure you ask to have a good look at the rooms BEFORE you pay a cent ! There is plenty of accommodation at Mirissa - look around.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannikerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews