We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & dirty, rundown place, be warned”
Review of Dinu's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dinu's Resort
Ranked #139 of 194 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After booking & paying in full, we arrived & were shown to our 'bungalow'. The owner 'Dinu' doesn't know what a 'bungalow' is. He calls his rooms 'upstairs' in a run down building - the 'bungalows' - what a joke ! It had been raining and the deck leading to the room was green slime & slippery. We entered the dark, smelly, dirty room in horror. Welcome to our nightmare. The floor was covered in sand, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere. The bed linen was old, crumpled and not clean. The pillows were deteriated, the mosquito net was torn and absolutely filthy, the furniture was old and consisted of a broken towel rack with a nail sticking out of it - which tore my dress when I walked past it, the small cupboard was fit for the dump, the bathroom stunk & was not clean, the room was full of mosquitos, the ashtray on the verandah outside our room was full of stale old smelly cigarette butts. This place was not cheap - we paid AUD $65 per night & booked it for 3 nights - big mistake. We could not believe that 'Dinu' could have the hide to present this place to tourists & charge so much and actually get away with it. Talk about 'false advertising'. It continued to shower so everytime we left our room we had to slush through thick mud. After the first night we complained bitterly. He moved us to the other building closer to the beach - it was far better - but still dark inside & not very clean. We are well travelled & no true value - this place is a 'Dive' - it is disgusting - a total rip off - very run down. Be warned !

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the ocean are better. Ensure you ask to have a good look at the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannikerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

The room has no more than a bed, a mosquito net and a small table. But there is a balcony, where you can hang out, in case the weather is bad and you don t want to stay At the Beach.
Negotiate for a fair price. The guys are likely To sell you everything from rooms to food to surf lesson, Ayurveda, ... .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adbstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a great place; close to the beach (you can hear the waves from your room), but reasonably priced, unlike a lot of other beach accommodation close by. Staff member Bobi is so helpful and works so hard, he really makes the place come alive.
I stayed in a great room with a big wooden terrace; very peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Do ignore all bad reviews of this place, the bad reviewers are obviously not in it for the people.
Me and my partner stayed here and made great friends with Dinu and the guys! For the price we were paying for our room we had all we needed, a bed, toilet,shower and mozzy net. What more do you need? Your hardly in your room anyway so theres no need for anything else.
The food here is great, Dinus mum cooks amazing fish and the other boys are cook amazing everything! Its a five second walk to the beach ( the nice end of mirissa beach in my opinion) and the reef break is right there in front of you.
Dinu is extremely helpful and will take you anywhere you want to go and will help you with anything you want to know also. Everyone at Dinus is up for a great time so join in and have a great time, I asure you, you will!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

If you just started learning how to surf dó not go here. This place is just thinking about money and not its customer.
All the boards are old and ready to break, so be carefull because they Will make you pay for an old worn down board Thats ready to be trown out!!!!
So if you go to this place do not accept the first or second offer, because its Way over priced.
My advise go to welligama Beach and rent a board there.

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank Jakob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a lot of time looking for the best accomodation in mirissa but finally we found the perfect place. It's strategically located 5 meters from the beach but Distant from the main road. The room is something marvellous for its forniture and for the terrace with sea wiev. We could touch coconuts from our terrace and the only noise you hear is the one of the sea. And it'incredibly cheap! The restaurant is the best of mirissa and cheap as well. The staff is very friendly and offers you every kind of service from whale watching, to ayu massages, and money change. We did not try these services but they seem to be quite cheap. We could't expect anything better!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossodiretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent 3 beautiful weeks on Sri Lanka and this was the worst place where we stayed. Dirty rooms,unfriendly, noisy people, the price was high and the owner is a terrible person !!He sent us on a whale watching trip and we almost died there. The sea was dirty and everybody was sick but the owner did not care.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraandKuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.1 mi away
Subasara Guest
Subasara Guest
#114 of 194 in Mirissa
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Sea Breeze
Surf Sea Breeze
#37 of 168 in Mirissa
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Guesthouse
Coral Beach Guesthouse
#113 of 194 in Mirissa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Sea View
Villa Sea View
#111 of 194 in Mirissa
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#53 of 194 in Mirissa
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Rest Mirissa
Sun Rest Mirissa
#64 of 194 in Mirissa
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinu's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinu's Resort

Address: Coparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dinu's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimus Resort is family owned and operated since 2004. They give personal service in a family friendly environment. Located right at the surf point, the guesthouse rents surfboards and snorkel gear. All room have balconies and mosquito nets, and rooms range from budget accommodations to a second floor bungalow. The home cooking here is some of the best in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dinu's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinu`s Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing