We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, good price, should be cleaner.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinu's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dinu's Resort
Ranked #135 of 179 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing location, good price, should be cleaner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

On the beach location, very good price, great dinner by the Mama of the house, friendly laid back atmosphere.
We got the second floor balcony room which is probably the best room. It was all perfect accept there was no hot water (I don't mind that in a tropical climate but some people will) and the room was simply not clean enough.
This is really too bad because unlike location, room size, etc., this is something they can improve immediately and without much cost.
If you visit: let them know about this negative aspect of an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Balboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    10
    16
    35
See reviews for
10
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We are a family of 5 (adult children). We had a most amazing stay at Dinus. The rooms were large, the food great but most of all you could not ask for a better host than Dino. Nothing was too much trouble - he helped us organize whale watching, buy gem stones, would have done cooking classes with Mama but the Tsunami warning prevented that. Amazing support during the tsunami warning. Could not fault the place, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a fantastic family run guest house with basic rooms (as you would expect for the price) run but a really friendly and hospitable family. Mamma's cooking was amazing. Its in a great location. Stayed for a week.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent 3 days in MIrissa and we really enjoyed the beautiful beach and delicious fresh fishes sold on the beach.
We stayed at Dinu's resort for 3 nights and we were moderately satisfied.
We liked: the small private balcony, the close location next to the beach, the calm environment, the nice staff very keen to discuss with clients and Dinu's humor and nice breakfast
We disliked: the not very clean room with very thin matresses (basically we were sleeping on a wooden board)
Overall, quality/price ratio is very poor but we appreciate the time spent there, very restful and relax; and the fcat that Dinu's was not pushy on selling his tours.
To sum up: pleasant stay but the place and services are not worth the cost

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

There are business owners who wish to grow their business and others who are out to make a quick buck no matter the long term expense. This place falls into the second category. We were asked to pay 8000 Rupees a night for a dirty room with an air mattress, dirty sheets and dirty towels. We were not forewarned that the bed was an air mattress.This place is the very reason you bring your own towels and sheets when you travel. The promised hot water was only available in the mangy tub and there were no mosquito nets or patio as promised. It was loud early in the morning and late at night from the staff. The quoted prices were ridiculously high for everything from room to cab to whale watching- twice as much as other places on this area of the beach. The Lonely Planet praises the food but I found it below average. We left early and went elsewhere, hopefully without catching anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

A hotel with good food and ok location. But the two guys running the place are very unpleasent. They are only interested in selling you things. if you dont want to buy, they will ignore you. A shame since the rest is ok. My recommendation is to avoid

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Well. i'm really not a person who ever complains or writes review about places but this time i had to make an exception. Dinus resort in Mirissa really disappointed me bitterly. it seemed like a really cool place very close to the beach in beautiful Mirissa - it was cheap, recommended by lonely planet, family run - mum was advertised as the best chef in the area. we stayed there only for 4 nights as we were kicked out of the resort for 'not spending enough money in the resort's restaurant'.... lets start from the beginning.

we rented the room for 9 nights...had first breakfast there, then lunch and dinner - which were really terrible! im sorry to say that but dinus mum is not the best chef. plus the food was well over priced: for 'dinner' we paid 700 rupees and in a resturant in the beach you normally pay 500 rupees plus the food is uncomparably better! Dinu - the manager - had a problem with us not eating at his place as we were not spending money at his place! im sorry but his food was horrid and overpriced.

moreover, Dinu was extremely sleazy...making very inappropriate comments of sexual nature to me and my female friend. he even knocked at our door one night wanting to 'get a cigarette from us'....Dinu - you have enough money to buy cigarettes!

in the end he simply asked us to leave after a few days as he had some people who booked, who would potentially spend more money at the resort than us....what a $#$#@$@#$$


please NEVER EVER go there.... dont make that man richer or happier - as he doesnt deserve it. Sri Lanka is such a beautiful country and Mirissa is a true paradise, it's just sad that a vermin like Dinu spoils it so sadly....

Room Tip: new resort right next to Dinus - brand new and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank izulejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Guesthouse
Coral Beach Guesthouse
#79 of 179 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sea View
Villa Sea View
#114 of 179 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#53 of 179 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pearl Mirissa
Pearl Mirissa
#21 of 134 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Rest Mirissa
Sun Rest Mirissa
#66 of 179 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Garden Guest House
Green Garden Guest House
#47 of 179 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinu's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinu's Resort

Property: Dinu's Resort
Address: Coparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dinu's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimus Resort is family owned and operated since 2004. They give personal service in a family friendly environment. Located right at the surf point, the guesthouse rents surfboards and snorkel gear. All room have balconies and mosquito nets, and rooms range from budget accommodations to a second floor bungalow. The home cooking here is some of the best in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Dinu's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinu`s Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing