We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place in Mirissa!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Secret Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Mirissa!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Nov. 2012. The place is beautiful and the food is amazing! They even let me sit in the kitchen and learn how to make authentic Sri Lankan curry from their chef.

While they only have a few rooms, they are eager to help with anything you may need and even helped us hire a driver when we needed to leave.

They also have a spa and both my husband and I enjoyed the best massages of our lives.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice, quiet place in Mirissa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alishia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
143
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Secret Guesthouse (Nov, 2012) while on our honeymoon. We loved every minute of our stay. The rooms are clean, airy and tastefully decorated. It's only a five-minute walk to the beach. The food is made with a lot of care and tastes amazing. Try their Sri Lankan-style food and the fruit juices. This is also a perfect place for children. You must also go to their spa which is right next door. They do some good massages. My husband particularly enjoyed the herbal steam bath. Very homely, friendly, family-like service. Great vibes. One of the best places we've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in the bungalow, it did seem like the ideal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yaminivijayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and i stayed here for 2 nights and loved it!! An amazing place with beautiful gardens. The rooms are spacious, clean and of a very high standard for Sri Lanka. Although this place is on the opposite side of the road to the beach it is still an ideal place to stay as the beach side gets busy and nois with the restaurants playing loud music till very late. So much wildlife to be seen just in the gardens, amazing birds, monkeys and we even had a mongoose stroll through..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Place for chill, relaxing and fullfil your soul with new ideas and thoughts. The massage was so cool that we had it twice. Very lovely place. Quite, birds' signing, sounds of wind and Ocean, nice garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in the bungalow next to the Secret Guesthouse. This is a traditional Sri Lankan village house with earth walls and shuttered windows, a large veranda and kitchen, and one double bedroom. You also have a private garden. As other reviews have said, it's a 5-10 minute walk to the beach which does mean that you're in a quiet area.

It's a lovely peaceful place to stay that really feels like you're in a little village, but you have all the amenities you need quite close by. We ate in the main guest house each evening and the food was very good. The owners are also extremely helpful and friendly.

The only problem for us was that we found the bedroom slighly cramped: there's a massive double bed, but there was only just enough room for an extra little bed for our small daughter. She ended up in the main bed, which was fine, but this isn't going to work if you have a larger family. Or a larger child.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnIStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Guesthouse is fine - clean, tidy, and well decorated. The food is good, and their Ayurvedic spa is great too.

We felt this guesthouse was let down by a couple of things: There was a damp/sewage smell in the bathroom that we told them about - all they did was spray a lot of air freshener in there.

We were a bit put out by having a bit for our stay thrust into our hands whilst in the middle of breakfast too - perhaps that could have waited until we were finished!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpabl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretroot, Owner at The Secret Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for our guesthouse. We want to apologise again about the smell in the bathroom and to let you know that we thought we had dealt with it. After you mentioned the problem, I personally cleaned the drain inside the bathroom, whilst our cleaner cleaned the drain and gutter outside of the room. We also sprayed airfreshener. Unfortunately we did not check back with you if it was ok, had we known it was not, we would have tried to do more. We have asked our cleaner pay more attention to the drains from now on. Regarding the bill, we do not normally give guests their bill until it is requested from us. On this occassion the bill presented at breakfast was not from our guesthouse bill but the bill for your driver's accommodation- who had been staying at another place. Your driver had given it to us to pass on as he needed to settled it at that time. We gave you our guesthouse bill when you asked us before you left. We are very sorry these things affected your stay. All feedback is very important to to us. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Absolutely perfect haven to relax enjoy the beach and enjoy some incredible food, we spent five nights in the Bungalow attached to the Secret Root main building, next door to the Spa. We would have stayed longer if it was possible, it was that good. That highlight of the stay maybe even our whole trip was the superb food served at 7.30 sharp in the outdoor terrace. Amazing Sri Lankan curry made from the best of the local produce, if you are lucky enough to get the whole fish (Mullet) served with curry you will leave Sri Lanka Happy. The location is great, away from the main street, so no noise from local buses or Tuk Tuk's. Its up a leafy jungle lane that ends at Secret Root backed on to the jungle, it was Idyllic! ... the beach is 5 minutes and the Derwini Roti shop 15 mins . The staff were so kind thoughtful and unobtrusive it really made our trip we loved every aspect of our stay here

Room Tip: If the Bungalow is available i highly recommend staying there,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 131design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bon Accord Guest House
Bon Accord Guest House
#1 of 183 in Mirissa
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 140 in Mirissa
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#11 of 183 in Mirissa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Guesthouse

Property: The Secret Guesthouse
Address: Yaddehigodda Wattha | Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'the secret' offers three simple yet stylish and comfortable guestrooms, as well as a self-catering bungalow. It is perfectly located for guests wishing to sit back and enjoy the tranquility of Sri Lanka's nature and wildlife whilst remaining within easy walking distance from one of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka. Guests and non-guests welcome to enjoy relaxing and rejuvenating ayurvedic treatments at the guesthouse's tropical day spa, 'Secret Root'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Secret Guesthouse Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing