We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely surroundings, amazing food and nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarasinghe Guest House
Ranked #18 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a real hidden gem in Mirissa. Beautiful gardens and a family-run business. The food is brilliant.

We did a Sri Lankan cooking course with Madu, which was a fantastic experience. Everything very clearly explained and made the recipes seem simple. Just make sure you take a pen and paper to write them all down.

We stayed in the new building, which was private and clean. However the roof leaked and the place was damp - we had mold on our bags after 10 days there.

That said, we'd definitely go back again. The frogs and owls in the garden kept our six-year old happy for hours.

There's a five minute walk to the sea along a track. Take a torch if you are coming back after dark, or take the longer - ten minute - road route back, or a Tuk Tuk.

Room Tip: The new building has a damp problem in the wet season of October when we were there.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobster-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Amarasinghe Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arranged the cooking class as a group of 4 and also arranged for 2 extra people to eat with us (who were not in the class) for a small price.
When we arrived everything was set out beautifully; small bowls with spices, basket of vegetables etc, it looked like a cooking show and we were cooking in the beautiful garden.lovely.

Madhu (the teacher) was lovely, professional, relaxed and speaks perfect English. After showing us how to do something she would then let us take over-so at the end we felt as though we were very good chefs :) Most of the vegetables were fresh from the garden and the spices had been dried and prepared at the guest house-all the food was fresh and only raw ingredients were used.

At the end we had a FEAST, and it was really delicious. The class was fun and I learned a lot, great value for money and at the end you get an amazing meal!

2  Thank Lee2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very warm hospitality. Very clean room and quite homely. Beautiful quiet setting in the forest (apart from animal sounds of course). The rice and curry was perhaps the tastiest and best value I've found in Sri Lanka (and I've been eating it almost daily for 6 weeks). . . . I'm a bit puzzled by a one star rating by another reviewer who complained both that the room was too hot and that they didn't have blankets!?!?. This is a budget guest house - I paid 1,000 rupees, and thought it was great value as such.
The only issue I had was with the tuk tuk driver that the staff kindly phoned to take me to the station. He kept wanting to take me to a town further away (for more money) until I eventually had to ask him to stop the tuk tuk and I said I'd have to get out. Once we got there he tried to get others to persuade me the train didn't run. Usual South Asian stuff perhaps but having traveled in India for over a year, I found this guy exceptionally persistent. Hence the four stars instead of five.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yinyangfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Nightmare comes true! Full of insects and mosquitoes. No hot showers available and the the bathroom was flooded easily during showers. Service wasn't that great. Couldn't sleep the whole night as it was too warm (faulty fan) and full of insect bites. Bed smelt bad, no blankets provided. Seafood dinner was expensive, yet of poor quality. It might have only costs 1500 rupees a night, but please pay more to get decent accommodation.

It is situated on the non beach side of the road, about 10 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WafflesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed there for a week at new Amarasinghe Guest House which is close to the beach. First we book at the old Amarasinghe Guest House but its very far and the room was not really ok for us. then we change to new Amarasinghe Guest House. the stuff was nice. the food was great!! and just 1500 rupees per night. the guest house was 4 room service. No hot water which is not necessary because its very hot there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancolika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of March. The obvious selling point is the beautiful garden here - pretty amazing actually. If you're into birds it'll blow your mind, with more to see in the gardens and fields nearby. The rooms are basic but comfortable enough and very good value (even by Sri Lankan standards), including mosquito nets and fans, while the food is cheap, very tasty and exceptionally filling - you simply cannot go wrong with jack-fruit curry. Breakfast, though, was a little disapointing (we found it virtually impossible to get proper string hoppers in any guest house in Sri Lanka, so this wasn't unusual). The only downside for us was a huge amount of construction work going on at the property next door to our room - in a rush to beat the monsoon rains this was going on till past 2am - but the next day the owner of Amarasinghe immediately offered (they weren't asked) to swap our room, with apologies.

All in all an excellent guest house, recommended, and close (ish - its maybe a ten minute walk) to one truly sensational beach at Mirissa.

Room Tip: The room by the tennis court would usually be the best - we got unlucky with the construction work b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Amarasinghe Guest House is an excellent place to say. It is very well run but kind staff. There are a range of rooms to suit your needs and price bracket. My girlfriend and I stayed in a clean, spacious but fairly basic one to save money. The room was good value for the area and season.

The food is excellent. They use locally ground spices and use a lot of ingredients from their own garden. This was an excellent place to meet people because of the large, communal tables. There are also private tables if you wanted.

The garden and surrounding area were beautiful. Mirissa is a wonderful tropical beach paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms range a lot, talk to them carefully about what you need to see that you get what you want.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanza
Hotel Vacanza
#28 of 191 in Mirissa
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 165 in Mirissa
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
ExtremeHost Guest House
ExtremeHost Guest House
#26 of 191 in Mirissa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#24 of 191 in Mirissa
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Garden Guesthouse
Sky Garden Guesthouse
#17 of 165 in Mirissa
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#15 of 165 in Mirissa
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarasinghe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarasinghe Guest House

Address: Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $13 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush, tropical garden, the Amarasinghe Guesthouse combines a well-preserved ECO environment with all the benefits of a beach resort. Discover the natural beauty of Sri Lanka by watching an amazing display exotic birds and the abundance of fruit trees or go swimming or surfing on the famous Mirissa beach. The well designed rooms of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse cater for all needs and budgets. The restaurant of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse supplies itself through its Organic vegetable garden and is highly recommended for its Italian, seafood and local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amarasinghe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing