We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden - too many mosquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amarasinghe Guest House
Ranked #21 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The garden is nice and the food is probably good by South Coast standards, but the waterways behind Mirissa beach are very polluted and so staying back from the beach means lots of mosquitos. The owners have an empire in Mirissa - they own at least three guesthouses and also were offering people rooms in their relatives' houses. The room was adequate but uninspiring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Found the owner quite rude and greedy as he renaged on the price of our room. This was by the tennis court. Was dirty, toilet had not been cleaned they definitely have a problem with the toilet as woke to the smell of urine while still in bed. The food was good and the location.lovely we stayed as recomended by lonely planet. Think its 3 years out of date n they need to revise as lots of people coming because of this. We found a gorgeous place on the end of the beach called Praneeth, its own very quiet beach and great owners.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My son and I very much enjoyed our 3-day stay here. It is a little rough around the edges, but it is delightfully old style. Nice grounds and gardens, birds singing. Quiet but an easy walk from the strip of road that is Mirissa. Mrs. Amarasinghe is an excellent cook, and her family and staff were very friendly and helpful. They also helped us arrange a nice day trip to Sinharaja Forest.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank liminalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent eight days at The Amarasinghe Guest House and highly recommend it to anyone seeking a peaceful, family running place to relax. It is a short walk away from the beach, which means that it is quiet, unlike places on the beach. There is a large garden with opportunities to view wild peacocks, birds and gang of monkeys. They offer breakfast and dinner, which are both delicious. We stayed in a beautiful bungalow near the vegetable garden, it also has a kitchen and it is very private, so it is worth it if you don't mind spending a bit more. I love to play badminton with the boy who always keen to help. The family is extremely friendly. they are always keen to help.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

stayed here for christmas 2010, thought that it would be a nice family place to stay for christmas. the family are very pleasant but the room was not that clean, could really do with a lick of paint and none of the doors closed properly! it was a bit fawlty towers. the first night we ate there we got a full fish, which we discovered was a frozen fish, even though we were so near the sea. The outside was cooked but most of the inside was still frozen. it had taken so long to arrive that we just ate the outside bits and decided not to eat there again. we got all our laundry done there and many of our clothes came back stained, with what we think must be rust from wherever they were hung?! we had to throw some of them away. we asked them if there was a church for christmas mass, they told us there was one in matara, 20min away,at 6pm. we went all the way there in a monsoon storm to find it was actually at midnight! why didn't they just tell us they didn't know?! the problem is they really don't listen to complaints, they are oblivious! we saw a few people complaining and they were pretty much ignored, but not in a malicious way. so we decided not to bother complaining. they are sweet people but we would highly recommend NOT staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandEmmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We arrived at the place having booked over the phone. Not only sdid they get the booking wrong (a day later than we actually booked was in their records) but they lied both about breakfast being included and also about there being hot water!

When I raised this with them the father of the family was surly and bordering on rude, saying it was his wifes fault when she took the booking and nothing to do with him!

Our room had no curtains, the bed was not a large mattress - instead is was a single mattress next to some sofa cushions to make up the extra!

Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in in 15 years in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Mole26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I don`t agree with the other review. The rooms are not clean at all and really need to be refreshed. Our bathroom was quite disgusting and old, really.They have to make a real effort on that. And we tried 2 different rooms, it was the same.
I found much better places for cheaper. The house and location is lovely but it needs improvement for the rooms.
Plus, when we paid the bill on the last day, they tried to cheat us and it leaves a bad impression. First, they were super friendly but after this happened, not so much anymore...
The food is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.3 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 181 in Mirissa
650 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 11 in Mirissa
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanza
Hotel Vacanza
#27 of 195 in Mirissa
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#12 of 195 in Mirissa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarasinghe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarasinghe Guest House

Address: Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $55 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush, tropical garden, the Amarasinghe Guesthouse combines a well-preserved ECO environment with all the benefits of a beach resort. Discover the natural beauty of Sri Lanka by watching an amazing display exotic birds and the abundance of fruit trees or go swimming or surfing on the famous Mirissa beach. The well designed rooms of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse cater for all needs and budgets. The restaurant of the Amarasinghe Guesthouse supplies itself through its Organic vegetable garden and is highly recommended for its Italian, seafood and local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amarasinghe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing