We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"DUMP"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Moon Guesthouse & Cabanas
Ranked #100 of 185 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"DUMP"”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The location is good but that is as far as it goes. We arrived to zero welcome which we could only assume was because it was off season. The place seemed empty which on looking at the rooms with the ants crawling up the wall, the musty smell, the mould and the a/c units covered in plastic could have been the reason. There was really no excuse as we had given them 4 weeks notice of our arrival. The best for all was to forfeit our deposit which we did and move up the road to Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelos, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Location is fantastic, but access to beach is closed at night. Service is not good and the room was small, dark and very basic. Just stayed 1 night and than changed hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fbrunosilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Ocean Moon is a great little place for those travelling on a budget.
Rooms are fairly basic but they are clean and totally fine to collapse in after a day at the beach.
Bungalows each have their own little balcony and we enjoyed sitting outside at our table and having a drink or two at the end of the day.
Location is perfect - although not all of the rooms have ocean views (I think the closest you'd get was if you were in an upstairs room) but Ocean Moon is situated directly on the beach - it's about a 5 second walk from the door of your bungalow to the sand.
Service was great and they bring breakfast to your door in the morning - perfect!
We particularly enjoyed the curry roti and Sri Lankan omelette at breakfast time... delicious.
Would recommend Ocean Moon to anyone who wanted to enjoy a chilled, fun couple of nights in Mirissa and didn't want to blow their budget.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs bungalow for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you are after 5 star luxury this isnt the place for you but if basic, clean, safe rooms on the beach with friendly, helpful staff and owners appeal to you then you should look much further.

The staff and owner were so friendly and helpful that it really made a difference.

I didnt realy dine here as you have so much choice on the beach and the Ocean Moon doesnt have beach dining.

Great little place for basic rooms. The only negative is the music that can sometimes be heard from other bars,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I have just returned home from a two week trip in Sri Lanka ending in Mirissa. We were fortunate to find that the Ocean Moon guest house still had rooms as this is approaching the high session. The rooms are basic but clean unlike a few other places I looked at in the area!! The friendly helpful staff more than made up for basic room. In fact the owner said he would feed a few stray emaciated puppies on my behalf. I hope that anyone else that reads this review can also save a few leftovers and feed these puppies to at least give these animals a fighting chance at survival. Obviously this can be aware from the tables as I know not everyone shares my love of dogs! Any feedback on their health gratefully appreciated.

I found the food delicious and all home cooked so rather surprised by earlier review. Mirissa is in short a relaxing place to spend time jumping in the waves (a few metre's from the beach) and people watching. The place certainly grows on you after a few days so that beach life just naturally takes over. Galle is only an hour away by local bus for a day out.

Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a sea view (upstairs rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Mirissa is a nice place to stay, especially if you like waves / sea. The rooms or ok (not more then ok) but what turns me off - and makes me NOT to recommend this place is the poor quality off the food. It tasted often like mircowave food - not much flavor. And you have to take half board, so...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_love_to_travel080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights back in November, and are quite happy we did so. A bit of a gamble, since we couldn't find much information about the place, but it all worked out beautifully. We stayed in one of the cabanas, which were somewhat basic but clean and provided with a much needed mosquito net. Food was absolutely delicious, and went down rather smoothly with a ginger beer. Staff was very helpful and exceedingly friendly. Location was brilliant, since we had merely to take 10 lazy steps to arrive at the beach. The entrance side is a bit chaotic, but across the busy road one finds most commodities needed to enjoy a carefree holiday (there's even an internet spot). Nevertheless, once inside all goes silent but for the sound of the waves close by. We had a truly fun & relaxing time, even finding space in our non-existant schedule to check out some blue whales. Just note that there were quite a few bars/restaurants suddenly sprouting along the beach, so it might get a bit loud in the evenings these days...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalistoEloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#22 of 185 in Mirissa
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 185 in Mirissa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Sea View
Villa Sea View
#109 of 185 in Mirissa
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#11 of 151 in Mirissa
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Mirissa
Club Mirissa
#114 of 185 in Mirissa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Moon Guesthouse & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Moon Guesthouse & Cabanas

Property: Ocean Moon Guesthouse & Cabanas
Address: Udupila Junction, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ocean Moon Guesthouse And Cabanas
Ocean Moon Guesthouse & Cabanas Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing