We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but overpriced.”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #136 of 187 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, but overpriced.”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed there for one night on a room only basis @ LKR 7,275.00 (approx USD 67.00 at the time). The hotel is extremely basic. It has narrow hallways and stairs and our room had 2 double beds and a pantry area (so this may have been a "suite"). It was an air conditioned room, with attached toilet and shower. The bed had clean sheets and the toilet was clean, but the rest of the room looked old and dusty. The TV didn’t work, but we didn’t bother checking with maintenance on this, as we didn’t have time.

We got to the hotel around 11.00pm, left for a whale-watching excursion at 6am the next morning and when we got back to the hotel after whale-watching it was past noon and time to check out. We didn’t have any meals at the hotel.

The hotel is on the beach, but it is not on the best part of Mirissa beach (this is in the southern end of the bay, where as the nicer area is the northern end). We were desperately looking for a place to stay in Mirissa only to go whale watching and given that it was whale watching season, it was next to impossible to find accommodation. Had we looked for accommodation sooner and made reservations ahead of the season, we would have found a place which was better value for money – will definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarRush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    23
    13
    22
See reviews for
24
39
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We didn't stay here we only ate here on the beach and I really liked the food, really tasty and cheap. You get a good array of curries and they are happy to make them vegetarian. The food is a bit salty but very good. I wouldn't recommend the lemon soda though unless you like unsweetened bitter/ sour tastes. The service was funny, our waiter seemed unsure and non committal about everything especially when we asked for the food to be spicy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the hotel itself if you are ok with large rather soulless hotel. The rooms are clean and of descent standard but they are way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location is perfect, the more quiet area in Mirissa Beach and the food is quite good. I have eaten the more delightful seafood pasta in the island. But the staff is not very firendly considering there are 2 hardworkers boys and 6 doing nothing or only giving instrucions. The rooms are ok but with some electricity problems, if there are two conections the power is gone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights earlier this month and highly recommend the food. They literally make anything you want although they have a great varied menu and i had the best seafood linguine of my life!

The hotel staff couldn't be more helpful..the rooms are decent and the location perfect. If you don't stay here, i strongly suggest having lunch or dinner here!

The chef used to work in a 5 star hotel so the standard of the food reflects that..

Room Tip: Beachside is better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verukasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in a semi-luxury room over the Christmas period. The hotel was making ongoing renovations but this was not a problem, noise wise. The room was quirky, with a sea view from the toilet and a leaky shower cubicle but there was a comfy bed, loads of hot water and a great view from the balcony. The location is fantastic, right on the beach but at one end so you are far enough away from the noisy bars to afford a good nights sleep. The staff were super friendly and food was delicious. In addition, the price was very competative (and no extra VAT, service charge etc added to the bill unpon departure, as is the case with a lot of places in Sri Lanka). Great experience.

Room Tip: choose semi-luxury or better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spent one night in the Sunset Hotel. The location is perfect, directly at the beach, at the quite east end of Mirissa bay. The room (we finally got non a/c) was alright, just that the wall to the bath room left open space, so you get all the smell in your bed room. Nice: private balcony.

Unfortunately, during our stay the place was still under construction. Cables sticking out of the wall, doors without handles, and at 10pm we could still hear the drilling machine. Originally we were promised, that work will be finished at night, but obviously they were still busy.

Indeed, we felt kind of cheated. On check in, we mentioned that the neighbor guest house has rooms for 35 hundred rupees. The Sunset hotel manager then replied: "oh, we have rooms for 34!" Then a nice a/c room was shown to us, and we accepted. After we relaxed some time in the room and went down, the manager told us, that the price for our room was 44, not 34, because it is an a/c room. We tried to negotiate, but finally decided to move to the non a/c room for 34, which was still alright, as described above.

On check out then we were charged 34 USD, which is about 3850 rupees, so about 10% more. I don't know, if the manager intentionally misled us with the pricing, but it is his duty to make sure no misunderstandings happen. We refused to pay, and referred to the construction side and the noise. A lot of anger and even yelling came up on both sides, and finally we agreed on 3500. The manager also excused for the nightly drilling machine.

Maybe the Sunset Hotel has a hard time under construction, as it is nearly empty while neighbor places fully booked. But we had the impression, that the hotel's main interest was our money, and not to care well for the guests. A discount for the noise and dirt of the construction would have been more than fair, in order to compensate and take responsibility for the discomfort.

So we grant 2 points for the beautiful Mirissa and a good breakfast, but strongly reject the construction site and the management's attitude.

P.S. We forgot a bag in the hotel. The manager was so friendly to call us in our new destination so we could pick it up.

Room Tip: Confirm about the room rate, best on paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#73 of 158 in Mirissa
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 158 in Mirissa
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#53 of 187 in Mirissa
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Resort
Serenity Resort
#54 of 187 in Mirissa
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adana Beach Resort
Adana Beach Resort
#33 of 158 in Mirissa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Galle/Matara Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing