We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
172
135
105
43
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
135
105
43
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews f b manager whale watching pool attendant private pool sri lanka packed breakfast very nice hotel main building our honeymoon buffet style restaurant staff sea view deluxe room weligama beach kamal whales
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 501 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2017

We spent one night in Mandara Resort on B&B basis. I personally did not think that they did much justice to the price we paid but it is an average quiet safe hotel so I would not hesitate to recommend it.

The hotel has a beautiful private beach and the lagoon is right next to it so its a plus point especially if you are planning on catching the sunset.

The location is quite away from the Mirissa stretch though so you will have to have your ride sorted.

We booked a room with a lagoon view. Of course the lagoon was there but the view was interrupted by coconut trees which basically made it very difficult to spot the lagoon. The room was not that spacious but it was neat and bathrooms were of good condition.
There was WiFi but we found it quite difficult to connect most of the time.

Breakfast buffet had a good spread of items.

Staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PathmilaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Food is good but staff spa ambiance everything is off about this place. WiFi working very slow speed. Also we were put in a room on other side of street facing river while it’s a hotel on the beach. Location beautiful.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Bootstrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

1) road to hotel very small, the sign board was insignificant could be easily missed
2) flies everywhere even while eating the flies very unstoppable.
3) no welcome drink
4) ok quality of room and bed , if you plan on not staying in the room it is fine
5) no WiFi connection in room , also the WiFi connection in bar and lobby very annoying to login using the complicated password and username
6) mosquitoes in the night no arrangement to drive them away especially during the Xmas eve dinner
7) very lucky if the staff understood what you say the first time around
8) fan and ac was not working, had to call maintenance thrice
9) morning 6 am construction noises , for the price paid it’s really sad this hotel swindles their clients this way , after 3-4 attempts of telling the front office , they finally shut it down at 9.30 am just when we were done with our sleep
10) management is oblivious or thick skinned to everything that is happening in front of their eyes. Very ignorant

DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU WASTE YOUT HOLIDAY OR MONEY IN THIS PROPERTY

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

There are absolutely no redeeming features about this place. You are too far from Marissa to walk especially as the roads here are lethal. The staff smile while delivering consistently bad news and service. The first room we had smelt and was so close to the building site that at 6am when they started work we were unable to sleep. While the view is very pretty all you can hear is the building work so hardly peaceful. Make sure you have enough money as changing at the hotel is a sure fire way to get shafted and there is few places in Marissa that allow money changing. The food is ok but for an alleged 5 star hotel you can eat for half the price down the road for triple the quality. I know hotels like to charge a premium for drinks etc but this one does take the biscuit. Seriously save yourself the money stay in Marissa get good food and atmosphere and
cheaper drinks. This hotel is dated both in building and staff and needs a complete uplift. It reminds me of a dodgy British seaside resort from the 1950's

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andyjross9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

I stayed on 7 Dec and feel ashamed staying in this hotel. Chase the welcome drinks 3 times and surprisingly the Receptionist told me he had conveyed the message to F & B, meaning not his fault failed to offer me the drinks (time 4:30 pm)
Dinner at the restaurant and there is a gathering with over 30 westerners, singing and talking loud in the restaurant. Talked to the Resident Manager and wished him to ask the group to lower the voice, more surprisingly, he said guests staying in this hotel is to enjoy but not to sleep. I said that means I can shout in the restaurant because I am happy. He said yes. He said if I am not happy with the noise, he can offer me a table outside the restaurant (Time 8:35 pm)
Sincerely hope the hotel management reviewed the fairness ground on the right of each customer
Staff attitude is bad, bad, bad
Never stay in this hotel group again.
Anita, Hong Kong

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank AnitaS5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews