We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Mandara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandara Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mirissa
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited this hotel to go to whale watching in Mirissa. Hotel served its propose good. Location is nice, right on a beach. Pool/garden area is well maintained and swimming is possible either in pool or sea (if you know how to deal with waves). Waiters in pool area are not around much, so ordering something could take some time (but it was actually refreshing not to have somebody next to you at same moment when your previous drink is finished).
Stayed in room with plunge pool and enjoyed it. Didnt have any problems with having privacy as mentioned in some reviews here. Enjoyed time after dinner in that small pool!
We stayed on HB basis and there was never trouble on long waiting times or food being unavailable/not good. There were several choices for main dish every day as well. They could be trying to "reshape" their staff as well, since person in restoran who served as was there for just week (brought from other hotel) and felt very confident what he was doing. Seeing orders, he suggested that he could offer as bottle of wine and keep reminder for next evening as well, which was nice twist.
In this area hotel is definetely worth a try. They are impoving!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, mana at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Mandara Hotels I take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Mandara Resort and we are delighted to have been of service to you.

Your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated as it is with such constructive criticism that our facilities would be enriched.

Look forward for your continuous patronage.

With gratitude,

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    101
    74
    37
    32
See reviews for
110
154
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

mandara is a nice hotel with a excellent sea view!! rooms are very spacious and a comfy bed! but balcony area not maintain properly!! restaurant staff and manager kamal doing super job!! very friendly restaurant staff !! food is good!! edible:) had a nice time there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Delighted to hear that you had a nice time at Mandara Resort.

Your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated and look forward to your return in the future.

With gratitude,

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My Chinese Guests Love this place.
Large Rooms, Clean and Comfy, Friendly Staff. I would recommend this property for my future tour groups as well.
Small but adequate fitness center.
Value for money.
I would prefer if the outdoor unit of the large air condition machines, fixed outside the corridor. It's too hot and not a good view to be fixed on the corridor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Rasika,

We are elated to receive your compliments.

On behalf of Mandara Hotels I thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort and look forward for your continuous patronage.

Wish you success in all your endeavors!

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel practically boasts it own private beach. The pool is lovely too, and you can sunbath on the hotel lounges looking out to sea. The room was lovely but a bit disappointing that there was not wifi in the room, only in the communal areas. The other problem with the room was that there were not half enough plugs, this was a massive problem for us as there was three of us sharing the room. The bed was so spacious and comfortable. Our room had the most amazing view of the ocean. Jaw dropping good, just couldn't stop looking out the massive window! The food was great. The breakfast was served to the table and was about five course or more! It was really delicious, the largest breakfast I've ever eaten. The staff were absolutely lovely. There was a little shop in the resort but was never open, so that was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueenXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort for your vacation.
It is inspiring to hear that the breakfast served at the Resort was wonderful.

Your valuable comments regarding WiFi and plug points in guest rooms are welcome indeed as it would no doubt assist us in providing an improvised service to all potential guests.

Look forward to your return in the future.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

A lovely welcome and all the public areas were very well kept. The pool was very nice, and at night was lit by tiny lcolour changing lights set into the tile grout Building work was going on to extend the restaurant but this was not intrusive.

However our room needed updating. The blinds did not keep out the light, and one did not work properly. There were small steps between the bedroom and the bathroom which were not immediately noticeable and caught you unaware by stubbing your toe

Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was very good

We went whale watching from the harbour, which we would recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanholdsworth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the compliments paid to our public areas, pool and most importantly the staff.

Necessary action has been taken to rectify the errors pertaining to the blinds and we apologize for the inconvenience caused in this regard.

Look forward to your return in the future.
Thank you

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having left Yala to travel south to Marissa we found ourselves booked into Mandara Boutique Resort. Once the safety gates had been drawn back we were surprised to see a welcoming hotel with the sea in the background.
We were welcomed into the hotel and given a cooling drink before being shown to our room overlooking the garden.
The room was comfortable with en-suite shower facilities.
Out in the garden there was a lovely clear blue swimming pool amidst grass with the sea and beach just yards away.
The food was excellent with a good choice. The waiters were attentive and on the second night we had dinner out in the garden.
We felt rested and comfortable before making our way back to Colombo before flying on to the Maldives.

Room Tip: Take a small walk outside the hotel and before long a tuk tuk will stop and ask to go the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goatfishEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We're delighted to receive your compliments and thank you for taking the time to do so.

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I thank you very much for selecting Mandara Resort for your vacation and look forward for your continuous patronage.

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staff is very slow in serving, kitchen takes long time to make food, and the food was terrible. We were charged 2000rs per head for rice and 2 meat and 1 vegetable which was not good at all. Will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam1234Colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandara r, Manager Sales & Marketing at Mandara Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued customer,

On behalf of Mandara Hotels, I wish to sincerely apologize for the disappointment caused to you.

Your valued comments stated are greatly appreciated and kindly note that necessary action has been taken to fine-tune our service standards.

Thank you

Ruklanthi Jayatissa
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
1.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 10 in Mirissa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.4 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 187 in Mirissa
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#12 of 187 in Mirissa
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Resort

Property: Mandara Resort
Address: | 416 A, Pelena, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandara Resort at Mirissa Weligama, Overlooking famous Read Cliff Mountains and Mirissa Bay with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean, Mandara Resort lets you leave all worldly cares behind. The rooms are fully equipped with satellite TV, DVD player and home theater systems, safety lockers, AC, rooms with jacuzzi, rooms with private plunge pools. Swimming pool with fiber optic lighting, restaurant, bar and gymnasium with state of the art equipment to keep you fit, Wi-Fi facility. With its en-suite concept of accommodation, Mandara Resort offers you luxury of delectable food prepared by our chefs to suit your biological cycle with the choice of both international and local cuisine and wines to complement your palate. Our staff would serve your food in the place of your choice(garden, in room, under the shade of Panda muss). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Boutique Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing