We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Greatest Rip -off, The most over-priced hotel in Sri Lanka!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandara Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mirissa
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Greatest Rip -off, The most over-priced hotel in Sri Lanka!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We paid $200 for room 97 which looked like a claustrophobic prison cell ,had absolutely no view of sea or beach and even the river/estuary view was blocked with a frosted glass window, instead our windows were opening directly into the hotel lobby and dinning area with no privacy at all.Staff had no experience nor training though very polite and helpful.For eg: no napkins on our dinner table . Food was mediocre .The web advertising is totally misleading giving the impression that it is locatd in the lovely Mirissa beach instead it is really in the dirty and polluted beach in Weligama.Breakfast is just a piece of toast and jam.Even in the X'mas peak weekend only 4 rooms were occupied out of 20.Hotel was deserted in the evenings.

Room Tip: Will not recommend this 2-star hotel which is NOT a boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilal293962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    94
    68
    34
    31
See reviews for
103
144
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Mirissa is almost a 4 ½ hour drive out of Colombo , which I imagine will be much less once the southern express highway is in use.
Drive a side the location of Mandara is truly unique surrounded by cliffs and Islands. The resort is well kept and spacious. The staff cordial and pleasant.
The rooms are wonderfully spacious with beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. The hot tub in view of the bed room is a true treat for romantics looking for get away.
The wine selection is not bad, and the cocktails as good as any.
One would expect a better variety of sea food dishes from a place this close to the sea. The lobster lacks the zest of the Sri Lankan flavor and the Chef sincerely needs to reinvent his stance on sea food.
Apart from the food that needs improvement the resort is comfortable spacious and delightful.
Definitely a place that is child and family friendly since you will have no issue fitting in even 3 kids in its spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Rooms with Jacuzzi! Its Spcious and you cant go wrong with that tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niro curly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is a 5 hour drive from the airport, be warned. Upon arriving, greeted by staff with welcome drink and shown to room - room was clean, tidy and well maintained, opted for the Deluxe suite with private plunge pool (which was actually just a small square 'paddling pool' under a tree in a small garden')... requested to change to 'semi-penthouse' on 1st floor, as we were the only guests in the hotel (you'll find out why...) they did this with no fuss, this room was much nicer. The hotel itself is decent (probably a 3* in my opinion), the pool is the highlight being right facing the ocean. The beach is dirty, the water dirty and mosquito's are everywhere. The restaurant staff are excellent - always trying to help out and happly changed my meal (every single night for 8 nights) as there was always something wrong with the food - to clarify, the food is some of the worst I have eaten anywhere in the world. They have no fresh seafood, everything is frozen, everything is served with french fries and nothing is fresh. The reception staff are some of the most unfriendly, unwelcoming, rude staff I have come across. My bill on checkout for an 8 night stay including food and drinks was 242000 Sri Lankan Rupees (around $2000 USD)... when I had to call my bank to authorsize the payment (as it was in a foreign country) they demanded that I then had to pay them 3200 Sri Lankan rupees for the phone call to my bank. I had no cash on me at the time (and keeping in mind I had just paid them $2000 for a week's stay!!!)... instead of saying ' no problem sir, the 3 minute phone call we will allow, they closed the gates to the hotel not allowing my car to leave. They barracaded us inside the hotel until I had to take a tuc tuc with the hotel manager to a cash machine 10 minutes away and pay him the lowsy 3200 sri lankan to leave. I found this disgraceful. I will not be visiting this hotel ever again, The Fortress in Koggala is a much nicer location, beach, staff, food and facilities for a similar price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanlesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Quite frankly we are puzzled by all the great reviews of this place.

We tried unsuccessfully for over a month to book a room here. We tried through the email address on their site and through the on line “contact us” form on the site. We then waited for a couple of weeks thinking that perhaps they had ISP or email down issues

Thinking that perhaps there was an issue with our email we tried again using three different email addy’s all from different providers.

Still no response!

We wonder how one gets to stay at this highly rated resort.

Perhaps they are fully booked, yet they do not have the courtesy to let us know.

Whatever the issue we have successfully booked elsewhere.

One thing is certain, this resort will never get a great review from us – we do wonder how the people who reviewed this property actually got to stay here………..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy.karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Beautiful surroundings just by the beach. Very clean, excellent service and delicious food. A three course meal was served for dinner. Breakfast was either eastern or western food.The road leading to the Hotel need to be paved.

We also visited another Mandara Hotel in Kataragama run by the same company. It was bigger and close to the Yala National Park. The Hotel arranged a Safari Jeep for us to visit the Yala National Park. The rooms were clean, food and service excellent. the food was served Buffet style and eastern and western food was available.

Room Tip: Different kinds of rooms were available. We had two rooms and one had a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdias3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

After a less than pleasant experience in Trimcomale at the Pigeon Island Resort, we decided to make the 12 hour journey back to this wonderful Gem in the south of Sri Lanka! It is our second stay in 2 years and were welcomed back like old friends!
The place is simply outstanding, our suite is the size of a tennis court with fresh flowers decorated on the bed every evening, whirl pool in the bathroom, a beautiful pool with an extremely friendly poolman who keeps a watchful eye over our kids! The beach is empty, no nasty hords of tourists and the sea in August is wonderfully rough! Stay to the right side of the hotel and you have no issues with the river which actually is very clean! Marissa and Weligama are both 5-10 mins tuk tuk rides. The food is great although a little too Western for our liking but the chef will make whatever you wish. Some new young staff still have to learn the reason why people want the stay at places like this, saying plain 'No' when the customer asks for Green instead of Black tea is not what we'd expect and is a more suitable answer for package tour hotels with 500+ rooms! But if you're like us and want to avoid the tourist mayhem, enjoy some peace and quite, good service (from the Pro's) and no noisy pool disco's or other kinds of silly entertainment, Mandara is it!
We simply love it! And yes certain things that should come standard with a luxurious place like this (such as wifi in the rooms, cleaners who keep the doors closed to avoid bugs in your room, no leaking showers, etc.) are not exactly perfect but just remember where you are. There are enough places around Marissa if you want all the awful ordinary tourist amnities and the bad service!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

The rooms are luxurious but there was no variety in the food category. The morning breakfast after we checked in was hopeless. They had prepared only the starter section for the meal, such as a small fish bun, non stuffed pastry, cookies, and plain bread which could be toasted. The dessert was papaya and pineapple slices. The waiters approach you and ask whether we want omelette's, Our organizer for the trip came and fussed, then they offered a few of our other staff string hoppers and curries served to the table. This was even thought they had charged all of us for a full buffet. Also on the day we checked out a few face towels were missing, it could happen in one room but in four, impossible. We had to pay Rs.300 for each towel. Also the mini bar section was missing an arrack bottle in one room. This was in the person's room whom we all know does not drink. There is no check list for us to confirm what is in the fridge, they should get a sign off from us that these stuff are there. Then we know when something has gone missing. One of the cleaning staff could have flicked it, as they come and go as they please for cleaning. I noticed another reviewer had written the same story abt a missing bottle from the mini bar. The room rates are not cheap but the food they offer for the charges are not so attractive. They should either reduce the charges or offer better food. They have not enough space to accommodate a big crowd, so they use the lobby area for Dinner. All in all very poor even thought he staff are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famiham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
1.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#2 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#12 of 180 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.9 mi away
Madunandani Ayurveda Health Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Resort

Property: Mandara Resort
Address: | 416 A, Pelena, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandara Resort at Mirissa Weligama, Overlooking famous Read Cliff Mountains and Mirissa Bay with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean, Mandara Resort lets you leave all worldly cares behind. The rooms are fully equipped with satellite TV, DVD player and home theater systems, safety lockers, AC, rooms with jacuzzi, rooms with private plunge pools. Swimming pool with fiber optic lighting, restaurant, bar and gymnasium with state of the art equipment to keep you fit, Wi-Fi facility. With its en-suite concept of accommodation, Mandara Resort offers you luxury of delectable food prepared by our chefs to suit your biological cycle with the choice of both international and local cuisine and wines to complement your palate. Our staff would serve your food in the place of your choice(garden, in room, under the shade of Panda muss). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mandara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Boutique Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing