We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - will stay with Ian and Jane again!”
Review of Il Cantinone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Cantinone
Ranked #3 of 9 Cupramontana B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - will stay with Ian and Jane again!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We loved this place, and the people who own/run it - Ian and Jane - are great. Highly recommend as a centrally located place from which to explore Le Marche.

We spent 5 weeks bicycling in Italy (had a rental car and rode our bikes daily from the places we chose to stay) . At Il Cantinone, we stayed 3 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment. It was beautifully appointed - very modern, with a very well equipped kitchen, lots of natural light in the bedrooms and bathrooms, very clean throughout, and very comfortable beds. We really enjoyed being able to cook all of our meals for a change after staying in B&Bs and inns prior to staying here. (For those who prefer B&Bs, Ian and Jane offer the B&B option as well.) Ian and Jane restored Il Cantinone, originally a winery, from a falling-down condition to it's present grand, classic Italian farmhouse character. It is a beautiful, impressive building inside and out.

Ian and Jane are warm, friendly and helpful. They shared wine with us our first night, and invited us to homemade Italian pizza which they cooked in their authentic pizza oven out by the swimming pool. They are retired computer gurus, so the wireless set up was accessible and easy to use. It was handy when we wanted to skype family back home, check email or look something up on the Internet.

You won't go wrong staying here!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bicycletraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijssen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

For the third time traveled to Cantinone, and it was again wonderful, amazing and fun! Jane and Ian are very nice people and very helpful. You can ask them anything, and especially Jane will give you a very comprehensive answer.
It's just a wonderful place, with nice, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast is very extensive, but if you miss something, ask and they will bring it! There are lots of small towns and cities you can see around Cantinone. From Cantinone you're very close to the highway, but take a closer look through the back roads, these are fantastic. What we really recommend is the town of Assisi (then go have lunch at Ristorante Metastasio. They serve great food and you have an amazing view, Jane has the address). And if you want to go to the sea, go to Sirolo and Porto Novo, it’s very beautiful! We will certainly come more often to Jane & Ian!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Jane and Ian are brilliant hosts - it's like staying with friends without any obligations. They were always there if we wanted to chat or get some advice, but otherwise we had complete privacy. We stayed in the little ground floor apartment (actually not so little!), which is very well equipped and private. There are many lovely little hill towns within easy reach and Jane and Ian always have suggestions for trips, restaurants etc. - they have made it their business to gain as much local knowledge as possible.
We certainly hope to come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandDavid34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We felt very welcome. The appartment was spacious, nice looking and well cared for.
Great tips what to see, where to walk, where to eat. (You have to eat at Orietta in Cupramontana (nice village!). After the days activities it was lovely to relax in and beside the swimmingpool. If Jane asks you to prepare a pizza together: say yes! A pizza with a perfect bottom prepared in there own oven at the terras.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ans52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Jane and Ian were wonderful hosts. They helped to organise many wonderful trips to wineries, olive groves and of course recommendations for great restaurants.

The B&B itself is very well supplied with REALLY comfortable beds. The hot tub was a nice relief after a days trekking about Italian cities. The pool looked great but unfortunately it had not been warm enough to enjoy it.

One of the the nicest touches was the wood fire pizza oven which Jane and Ian took the time to show us how to make home made pizzas!

All and all, a great place to relax and see the REAL Italy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford On Avon, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I would highly recommend this place! It is a stunning house, in a beautiful location. Jane and Ian, the hosts, were welcoming and very friendly. The local towns and villages are beautful and its a great location. I plan to go back many times in the future. A real gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klp868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijssen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Last year we had one of our most comfortable and relaxing holidays ever at 'Cantinone'. Therefore we decided to visit Jane&Ian again this year. Again a very warm welcome, like you enter one of your best friends home.. In short: Recommendable for everyone who likes to leave a busy life behind for a short time and wants to feel really spoiled! We hope we're able to visit them more times in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cupramontana hotels
1.3 mi away
B&B Mulino Barchio
B&B Mulino Barchio
#1 of 9 in Cupramontana
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Girandola
La Girandola
#5 of 9 in Cupramontana
19 reviews
3.5 mi away
B&B Cascinale La Mimosa
B&B Cascinale La Mimosa
#6 of 9 in Cupramontana
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
B&B Gli Elfi
B&B Gli Elfi
#2 of 6 in Cupramontana
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Il Cantinone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantinone

Property: Il Cantinone
Address: Via Esinante 6, 60034 Cupramontana, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Cupramontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cupramontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and relax in our restored wine cantina in one of the most breath-taking and diverse regions in Italy: Le Marche, called Italy in One Region. Waiting for you are tourist-free, undiscovered towns - and the best of Italian food, wine and culture as well as some time relaxing in the pool, at the beach, shopping or perhaps a day on the golf course. We have two self-catering apartments for maximum convenience for families on holiday. Make your own meals or eat out in the fabulous, family-friendly trattorias, osterias, pizzarias and restaurants nearby. The choice is vast and not expensive. You can cook on the barbeques here at the Cantinone, and we light the pizza oven once a week and make home-made pizzas with our guests. The Cantinone has a 12metre outdoor swimming pool, hydro massage spa, garden, terrace, sunbeds and sun umbrellas. We have a guest lounge with DVDs, TV screen and books and games. There are extensive gardens to run around in, and we have easy access to the highway, airport, beaches, mountains and regional parks for days out exploring. Find some time for bargain shopping too, Marche has some of the best outlet stores in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Cantinone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing