We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Athlone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Three of us had our lunch in this fine establishment today.I must say that we enjoyed a most wonderful meal.Piping hot and with plenty on the plate.
The staff were most courteous and efficient. We will be back!
Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyleixMan0r, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear JackLAthlone,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review! We are so delighted you had a pleasant time and enjoyed your meal.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Wishes,
April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    39
    22
    7
See reviews for
49
41
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was my first and last stay here. Checked into the room seemed initially fine, the remote wouldn't work and the sink plug was stuck so the water wouldn't drain. When mentioned at reception she did offer to change rooms but as I was heading out I didn't have time. When I went to bed couldn't sleep for ages as the road was very noisy at the front and I could hear the man next door snoring. Breakfast was far from impressive either. Overall I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marxxbubblesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April K, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I'm so sorry that you found your room to be unsatisfactory and I apologise for this.
We are currently upgrading all of our bedrooms and bathrooms and hope that the next time you come to stay you will find them and the service you receive to be good value for money. We aim that the bedroom upgrade will be completed in the coming months.

I also apologise for you not enjoying your breakfast. Our hotel is usually renowned for its good food so I will absolutely pass on your comments to our head chef.

Again, I so appreciate the time you took to write this review as it will help us to improve our service which we are always endeavouring to do. We are an independent family run hotel and quality of service, attention to detail and having that personal touch are of paramount importance to us.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you wish to speak about anything further.

Warm Regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abbeyleix hotels

Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed there on last Friday night for a fundraising night, Room was very warm and bed was really comfortable, The shower in the bath was really outdated and the towels very small, no proper TV as it was so old...We got a meal of fish and chips, the fish was on top of a handful of chips with a heap of salad to the side,they must have thought we were Rabbits with all the salad that was on the plate, it was a very expensive meal...The breakfast was really lovely the next morning.. Anne & Tom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear 1966Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your stay or your meal. I hope that you felt able to speak with a member of our Bar and Restaurant team about your meal at the time, but I'm pleased to read that you did enjoy your breakfast.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here during wedding on New years eve. €94 for the room (two adults)

Lovely warm rooms and comfy beds.

I left out the breakfast in bed door hanger and never got taken off the door which was disappointing.

Had breakfast anyways and it was lovely. No buffet just took my order. Excellent waiting staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Barnabybear1,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that our Night Porter did not take your breakfast order, as this would have been easily brought up to your room, but I am glad to see that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice hotel stayed here on way to Cork one night room was ok but a bit dusty,food was good but extremely slow service and was hungry waiting. The bar service was very slow and at times no bar staff were there at all, even with a crowd of people at the bar was very frustrating. Over all ok stay nothing special but bar staff could be better

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeykenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Joeykenna,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal, but I was unhappy to read that you did not find our staff friendly and welcoming. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping and bar & restaurant teams.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel as we always appreciate any and all guest feedback.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed there last year for a Saturday night, meal in the restaurant was good service very slow, the room was dreary and we were woken with fire alarm but no directions by staff when we picked up the phone dreadful, the breakfast was held in the bar and there are no words that could descripe the rubbish that was put up, burnt offerings. I would not recommend that hotel to anybody and certainly neither I or the 20 friends that were there would ever go there again

Room Tip: avoid this place, the staff at reception were nice but thats where it stopped
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Bill L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It was unfortunate that the fire alarm sounded during the night and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team and I hope that we would be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed last night in Dublin & stopped on our way home to Cork in Abbeyleix Manor Hotel for our lunch.
This is a Superior looking hotel & it lives up to it's image!
We both had a different Chicken dish each & both were Gorgeous,Fresh & Filling!
This is a Beautiful Hotel with a very warm & relaxing atmosphere...A Must for "Your Bucket List"!!!

Room Tip: A Must Visit For Lunch (at least) To Your Bucket-List ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Estelle N,

Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeyleix
7.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
9.1 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
11.0 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyleix Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

Property: Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Address: Cork Road, Abbeyleix, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Abbeyleix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeyleix Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place which effortlessly blends the traditions of the past with the best of the new, where modern day pressures seem light years away. And yet there is so much to enjoy, the choice is endless. The Abbeyleix Manor Hotel has 42 bedrooms, a conference centre and a wedding/banqueting suite which can cater for groups of up to 300 people. Whether it's a business or a special occasion, we aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Abbeyleix Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing