We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time to stay here...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second time to stay here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here back in July this year it was our second time to stay here and we were rather disappointed. We booked the room as it was rather cheap..60e for two of us to share a room without breakfast. However, the room was disappointing, there were stains on the carpet in our room and the room just didn't seem clean. The hotel itself is in need of refurbishment, and we felt from our last stay (three years ago) the hotel was not as well maintained. Having said all this, the staff were friendly at reception. Overall, however I don't think well be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethesuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear lovethesuna,

Thank you for your review as we appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback. I am sorry that you were not happy with your bedroom and I hope that you were able to speak with a member of our reception team during your stay with us.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    39
    22
    7
See reviews for
49
41
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night, a Saturday in September. The hotel is an impressive building from the front. The reception staff are a little lacking in customer service and it seems very much like a “local’s hotel”
We needed dinner so decided to eat in the bar. The staff in the bar were courteous and food arrived promptly. The chicken satay was very tasty while the lasagna was unusually presented in a bowl with a mushroom sauce around it.
The foyer and bar must have been recently renovated but the bedroom we had was 1980’s – no frills. However it was a large room which could sleep 4 and the facilities while very tired and dated were adequate. The room was clean but in definite need of some TLC and very drab decor. The lack of attention to detail in the bathroom suite was evident from the odd matching taps, the large amount of paint hanging off the ceiling from the shower steam and the towels resembled tea towels.
So if you’re looking for ultra modern and high spec rooms this is not the place for you, but if you’re willing to compromise and need a cheap sleep this will do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Tilly21,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. I am sorry that you stayed in one of our older bedrooms, but these are currently being refurbished. I am also sorry that you felt that the receptionist was not welcoming, but I hope that you felt able to speak to a member of our reception team about your bedroom during your stay.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate any feedback or comments our guests give us.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

we attended a weddind there food, staff were excellent especially two of the staff were outstanding, eoin & maggie we were late down for breakfast no problem we served a lovely breakfast by maggie, eoin must have stayed there all night he was there when we checked in 3.30pm and still there when we were leaving the next day a 3.00pm and he was everywhere taking up duties, food & staff 100%. rooms need to be updated & bit more clean...

Room Tip: rooms to front might be better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Heatherfeb,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the members of staff you encountered were friendly and welcoming. I hope that you felt able to speak with a member of our housekeeping or reception teams during your stay about your bedroom as I am sure they would have wanted to correct anything that was not right with your room.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Got into the hotel after 11 pm... the lady there was very busy on the phone so we had to wait a good 5 minutes until everything was finished, there was no meet and greet or smile ....we asked for a room we were given one, we asked for a single room as only my friend wanted to spend the night there and he got a room with a double bed plus a single bed, barely any space to walk and the smell was funny.
I came to collect him in the morning and we had breakfast somewhere else because he was not please at all with the stay in the hotel and just wanted to get out of there, its surprising how bad customer service can just ruin your stay.

Room Tip: Good to go for a drink at the end of the week, but sleep in Portlaoise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Elena2708,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that your friend did not enjoy his stay with us. All of our rooms have a double bed and most have at least a double and a single bed. I am sorry that you felt that our staff were not friendly, but I hope that your friend felt able to speak with our staff about his stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel as we appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abbeyleix hotels

Abbeyleix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Superb breakfast, good value with booking via easy booking .
Nice little town and the Chinese restaurant up the road was also very nice.
Chairs in restaurant need re covering but all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Lionel L,

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate any comments or feedback from any of our guests.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a function in The Manor last week. Food was excellent. Service was wonderful - bar & waiting staff. Manager Kate was pleasure to deal with. Nice extra touches... Definitely will book next party there. Thank you for making it a wonderful day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Nathalie D,

Thank you for your review and I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your meal with us.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

10 nights in Ireland, this was my least favorite lodging. You can't control the temperature in your room. Plumbing is atrocious. Cleanliness, meh. On the other hand, it's cheap. The best part is the two ladies that were behind the desk. The one that greeted us at night and the one that said goodbye in the morning were just full of conversation, ideas, willing to help, and kind.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate I, Manager at Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Steveage,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I am pleased that you found our reception staff welcoming. I hope that you were able to speak with them during your stay about your accommodation.

Thank you again for your review and we really appreciate all comments and feedback from all of our guests.

Many Thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeyleix
7.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
9.1 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
9.1 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
17.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyleix Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

Property: Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Address: Cork Road, Abbeyleix, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Abbeyleix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbeyleix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeyleix Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place which effortlessly blends the traditions of the past with the best of the new, where modern day pressures seem light years away. And yet there is so much to enjoy, the choice is endless. The Abbeyleix Manor Hotel has 42 bedrooms, a conference centre and a wedding/banqueting suite which can cater for groups of up to 300 people. Whether it's a business or a special occasion, we aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abbeyleix Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing