We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Contrada Durano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smerillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Contrada Durano
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have been visiting Contrada Durano for 10 years now so thought about time that I say how fantastic it is. If you dont get fed up with somewhere after 10 years that speaks volumes. You could not have better hosts than James and Conchetta. They treat you as a friend not a customer. Dont miss out on a meal in the restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Hosts Concetta and James have created a perfect Italian country side idyll to an old inn from the days of Papal State. A shell on the wall next to our room door still reminded of those days, a bit like on the roads of El Cammino de Santiago! Concetta prepared great dinners as well as tasty breakfasts while James entertained visitors with his interesting stories. Also the restaurant Pane e Vino in a small nearby village, Servigliano, is worth mentioning. The restaurant was very comfortable and food was excellent! Marche itself is a bit like miniature Italy. The region between sea and mountains seals in beautiful countryside, small villages and some cities - and even top mode from Prada to Boss. There are lots of hiking routes on the mountains, beaches are relatively calm and everywhere people are very friendly even to tourists. What is quite surprising is that the big tourists herds are totally missing! We strongly recommend Marche for everyone who wants to see the real Italy, not "Disneyland Toscana" or "business Milano". Big thanks still to Concetta and James!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I found this agritourismo gem during a long planned trip for my 50th (gasp) birthday. James and Concetta simply took us both under their wings and made sure we had everything we could possibly want or need. We were warmly greeted and invited to enjoy a glass of local wine (delish!) on the terrace, while Concetta created culinary miracles in the kitchen. She is a non-stop little whirlwind of energy, with a bright smile and funny story for everyone. In no time, we felt we were part of an elite little group of special people - those who seek out loveliness in the tiny Marche town of Smerillo. We were treated to a couple interesting dinner parties, where the locals (who have been 'regulars' for dinner for years) joined us in spirited conversation, laughter, singing, and even a little magic!

James explained in detail how they came to live in Smerilla, and how they found and restored their lovely historic home. He proudly showed us around the property, pointing out the garden in which they grow much of the food and herbs Concetta uses in her kitchen. James is a bit of a local historian, and can tell you in detail about the area. We love the book "The Secret of Santa Vittoria" - also a movie - and although they say the little town in the book is fictional, Santa Vittoria, the little town on the next mountain top could have been it. James can entertain and delight visitors about the little ongoing rivalries between all these little hilltop towns! It was great fun, and very educational, to listen to his encyclopedic knowledge of the area.

The house was lovingly restored. Every detail was carefully considered. The rooms are large, and every one of them has a nice view. Ours had a separate sitting room, and a modern bath. It was spotlessly clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable, and were were delighted to be awakened in the morning by the singing of the birds - the first birds we had really seen or heard in Italy besides pigeons and seagulls!

For those who are interested in "the REAL Italy", this part of the country is not to be missed. The views are spectacular, the people are friendly, the history is amazing, and the wine - ohhhh, the wine! It is doubtful you can get bad wine in Italy, but it is especially lovely in this area. We would highly recommend this area, and in particular, Contrada Durano. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: There are absolutely no bad rooms here. If you contact the owners, they will do their utmost to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our second visit to James and Concetta's - we'd been promising ourselves a return visit for three years! Just as lovely as we remembered - excellent accommodation, beautiful views. They're such welcoming hosts - Concetta's cooking is fantastic (don't even think about eating anywhere else whilst your're there!) - and James always keeps us entertained with his stories and comprehensive knowledge of the area and its history. Very much enjoyed our walk in the Gorge (le gole dell'infernaccia) which can be done even in the height of summer since mostly shaded. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms now - both very good, as I imagine all the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_M_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

What incomparable hosts! Jimmy, the ever wry master of ceremonies, and the lively culinary artist Concetta will wine, dine and thoroughly entertain you at their lovely habitation Contrada Durano. With great attention to detail, they properly restored and expanded an historic Archbishop's quarters where priests would layover during visits when the region was lorded over as a Papal state. Ah...and the dinners! Jimmy, a conniseur of fine wine starts the evening off right with some very fine bubbly and educates you with great humour on the finer points of the area. Then Concetta announces for all to come inside for it is time for the meal to commence. More carefully chosen wines from the area are presented and the courses arrive...pates and savory tarts followed by a main course of homemade pasta or locally sourced fish or organic meats...more wine and the sumptous deserts...and top off the evening with a shot of local grappa! Then retire outside for more wonderful conversation with the host and what more can you say. The rooms are nicely appointed and spacious(ours had a seperate sitting area) with firm comfortable beds and hot pressurized showers. And be sure and tour the abundant gardens with James to see all the seasonal crops and also the currants, gooseberries, and multiple rows of raspberries that are incorporated into Concettas' dishes. And I haven't even mentioned the extraordinary views both from the room and the grounds overlooking the valley and medievale villages dotting the hillsides. Thus, for memorable meals, warm conversation and an unfogettable experience, Contrada Durano is a wise choice for the intrepid traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I recently had the pleasure and good fortune of staying at Concetta and Jimmy's heavenly retreat, Contrada Durano. The service and hospitality were incredible from start to finish including the communications via e-mail. Concetta requested information about any special dietary needs which she and Jimmy more than willingly accommodated for at each meal that I gobbled down with great appreciation. At the end of my first dinner there, they asked if I'd want to eat there the following evening, to which I replied, "Why would I go anywhere else?". The food was so great I wanted to find my way into the kitchen to broaden my cooking skills. Aw, the food, the excellent wine, clean stylish rooms, the peace and quiet, the view that stretch's to the sea on a clear day, Jimmy's clear directions to various locations around the area and down to earth hosts. I'd go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed many many times at Contrada Durano. What a beautiful place, quiet, romantic. Owned a run by James and Concetta, superb hosts and cooks ! Wonderful wine, fresh produce. Stunning views, just a perfect perfect place.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and the front rooms have superb views of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smerillo hotels
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Amargi
Agriturismo Amargi
#2 of 3 in Smerillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Contrada Durano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Contrada Durano

Property: Agriturismo Contrada Durano
Address: Azienda Agricola in Smerillo | Contrada Durano 3, 63856 Smerillo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Fermo > Smerillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Smerillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for your long weekend or short vacation in the marche.Beautifully appointed,spotless rooms with large comfortable double beds,tv,mini bar,ample en suite bathrooms and private entrances to outside.In the morning delicious breakfasts await you in the dining room and set you up for your days excursions in the nearby national park of the sibillini mountains,or visiting the lovely medieval villages in the vicinity.Relax on the sun terraces or in the warm water of the big jacuzzi in the garden before your gourmet evening dinner in our restaurant.you'll never want to leave this adult retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Contrada Durano Smerillo, Marche, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing