We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise”

Hotel Monastero del Lavello
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monastero del Lavello
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

For my job as an engineer I had the pleasure to stay at Lavello for 4 times,(2 weeks in total).
The location was excellent, it was work but felt like holiday. The first time everyting was covered in snow. The last time I stayed it was end of spring and the vibrant boulevard was real nice to see.
Rooms are very spacious clean, cool and quiet. The atmosphere is something different then the hotels i normally stay. Every rooms is as nice as the other.
The breakfast is Italian, simple. But the wonderful espresso's and cappuccino's make up for that.
The staff is nice and take good care of you. Because the rooms are not close to eachother it is hard to tell if they are booked 10% or 100%.
In the evening the small bar closes so no action after 20:00. But the restaurants like: Restaurant lavello(great simple meals) and Osteria Marascia(top notch but affordable) make your evening complete.
Definitely a place where I would come with family.

Room Tip: Amazing building and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 408vernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and liked it very much. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very big, our son stayedin an extra bed in the room and thee was still plenty of space. Watercooker in the room. Nice and quiet atmosphere. There even is a punchbag in the small fitnessroom! And bicycles to use, for free. Pizzaplace next door is great. Bergamo makes a nice dayouting, as does Lecco, some great walkingtrails.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Really romantic place , in a fantastic panorama of Parco dell'Adda.
Rooms very clean , very big and all the services included.
Really a comfortable hotel in an ancient convent.
Very quite area and possibility to walking near the lake and the river.
The management its very kind.

Room Tip: Book in advance becouse its everytime full
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

An old monastery turned into a hotel! Unique atmosphere, especially at night. Sadly the old style of the room is somehow spoiled by the laminate "wooden" floor and the ultra modern lights. Something that I didn't expect to happen in Italy, where style is highly respected and is a little bit disappointing, since the monastery atmosphere is the main reason people chose this hotel.
Big clean room (4 persons). Very helpful staff. Unfortunately only the young lady at the reception speaks English.
The breakfast is just average and somehow unorganised (both days they run out of products and were trying to replace them while we were waiting).
Free bikes for the guests, that can be used to make a ride along the road by the river or even go to Lecco. Free WiFi internet. Free (open air) parking, locked at night.
Beautiful location by the river bank, where you can walk, ride the bikes or eat at the nearby restaurant (quite good and reasonably priced italian food and fish).
Don't forget to visit the old church next to the hotel and see the excellent floor.
A good overall experience, a chance to try something out of the ordinary.
We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas_A_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Unique! A beautiful stay. The room was spotless and comfortable, with thoughtful touches for the guest: A plate with fruit, water, teas/coffees and extra cushions/pillows etc. The staff were lovely, hard working and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom overlooked the river and large plane trees. It's a meeting place for locals on the river bank outside, but at nighttime it was very quiet and we slept really well. Try the hotels' gelato shop - some of the best ice cream we've ever had. Had a short walk along the river and enjoyed the little local market along the path (held once a week on tuesdays I think?) Food is easy - there are a couple of restaurants next door, had a real "italian" pizza the size of a house but wafer thin. As we had been driving a lot we were very grateful of the peaceful setting and even though it's a small town everything was on the doorstep that you need for an overnight stay. Next time we will stay a few more days as the location is great for the larger lakes and pretty towns close by. A little touch of magic. Very memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poli-orea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Simply Fabulous!
No frills, basic 3 star hotel, with excellent rooms, a location to die for, a very good restaurant near by and a fabulous inn keeper,
we were offered a free drop to the train station, which was very kind of the inn keeper
the breakfast is simple but good- we requested for a cheese toast and they obliged
excellent walking promenade close by
thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calolziocorte
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Locanda Del Mel
#1 of 1 in Calolziocorte
11 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#1 of 1 in Garlate
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda Osteria Marascia
Locanda Osteria Marascia
#1 of 4 in Calolziocorte
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Picobello Zimmer & Atelier
#3 of 4 in Calolziocorte
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastero del Lavello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastero del Lavello

Property: Hotel Monastero del Lavello
Address: Via Padri Serviti 1, 23801 Calolziocorte, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Calolziocorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Calolziocorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monastero del Lavello 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monastero del Lavello is located inside the ancient Lavello monastery, the real jewel of the San Martino Valley. The monastery has been the setting of interesting and intriguing historic events involving all the surrounding territory for centuries. It is also the venue for many cultural events and entertainment and wine-and-food shows. This new tourist facility features comfortable and elegant rooms, an exhibition area, conference rooms, teaching rooms, a fitness room and free Wi-Fi throughout the multifunctional centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monastero del Lavello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing