We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
67
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margerita fresh breeze kite school deck chairs the owner learn how rice and curry sri lanka interesting people amazing place spent a week boat trip outdoor shower recommend this place good vibes nice spot ruben
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 75 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We were very happy to find such a nice spot in Kalpitiya. The reason we've decided to visit Kalpitiya was to windsurf, but we ended up taking kite lessons from Ruben.

Being an experienced windsurfer the lagoon is a very interesting place to go. Unfortunately windsurfing is limited and the only rental (Da Silva) has old boards and inflexible high pricing. We decided to change plans and take Kite lessons, which turned out to be a great decision. Since we already stayed at Margarita village, we decided to ask herre about the options of Kite lessons. Ruben, the owner of the Village and Kite school was really friendly and the next days he taught us the basics of Kitesurfing. When the wind was not perfect in the Lagoon, we would travel to another spot, by boat, to make sure we would have the best possible learning opportunity.

During our stay in the cabana, we really felt relaxed. Do not expect a lot of luxury, but the level of comfort is still very high. The guys from the cabana's were also very helpfull and excellent cooks. We've enjoyed every meal and their hospitality.

The only point of improvement is the lunch during the kite-lessons. Every day a sandwich wich egg is somewhat challenging.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArvidL105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

If you are looking for a special place to experience Kalpitiya, then this is the place. It is special because the people there really care. They care about the overall experience of their guests. The cabanas are very nicely sized, larger than the average, with a very comfortable bed. The outdoor shower under the tree and stars is amazing. Kalpitiya is a really great Kitesurfing destination, with so many different kite spots around one area. The lagoon is lovely and large. The wind can get quite gusty in some parts, however it is very consistent daily and reliable. If there are day trips to Vella Island and Dream spot or any boat trip, do it - it is the most fun! Vella is especially very beautiful, and these guys really know how to do it all very well! The camp village attracts lots of interesting people, and it is an easy going, relaxed atmosphere. If you are just starting kiting or experienced, you can be sure that you will be in very safe and good hands!

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Carnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights at the start of our holiday. Really relaxing hide away in a undeveloped and authentic area of Sri Lanka where the people were the friendliest of any where we’ve ever been. 10 minute tuktuk drive to the coast where it was just us and local fishermen and a few locals cooling off during the afternoons. A lot of building is underway so enjoy this unspoilt gem while you can! The villa itself was beautifully landscaped with lots of character and the owners and staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank chopester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018

This is the perfect place to chill, the cabanas are stylish yet simple and the outdoor shower in the small private garden is a bonus. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the place has such a chilled atmosphere you can't help but relax. Ruben cares about the environment and it shows in his property. The beach and lagoon are a short walk away, we did a dolphin watching trip through Ruben which was excellent, other trips can be booked too if this is your base for a few days. I would recommend Margarita village if you are staying in this area.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

I was traveling with two of my guest, and the down to earth staff at Margarita village provide necessities to make myself a guest at the accommodation.

The owner Rubben will help you to learn surfing and will alos provide you the best hospitality for your stay.

Room tip: Chilled our ambience
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raveenliyanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews