We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windsurfing Meets Culture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have never been somewhere else like Sri Lanka / Kalpitiya.
The people are so friendly and open for tourists, and the food has just been collected from the nature - completely no additives and that is really hard to find in times like now.
The houses deliver a cool flare as well.

Now this cultural experiences combined with wind and sun its just amazing.

On the end of ramadan I was sailing with the sunset in front of me while the full moon was rising behind me. That day is definitely under my top 5 windsurfing days.

I am still stoked about the nice time I spend there!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank reneg420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windresor, Inhaber at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014
Google Translation

Hi Rene,
ja wir hatten einen schönen Sommer hier in Kalpitiya! Hoffentlich kommst du bald wieder zum Windsurfen zu uns und bringst ein paar Freunde mit!
Unsere Jungs fragen immer wie es dir geht und wann du wieder vorbei schaust!
Liebe Grüße und danke für dein feedback!
Upul De Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff, equipment and location are all perfect for a mixed ability family looking to kite board, windsurf and relax in the sun. The one on one tuition helped us make rapid progress and the reliable steady wind was perfect for kits surf beginners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windresor, Inhaber at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thanks a lot for your feedback on tripadvisor! We are happy that you´ve enjoyed your holidays with us and hopefully we´ll see again on Kalpitiya Lagoon!
Best regards,
Upul De Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Friendly people on the spot.
I have been here now for 3 weeks and will stay about 3 more but I cant wait to tell everybody about this place!
DeSilva Kite Resort is a very friendly place, all of the people working here are super helpful. It is easy to get to know everyone around the barbeque parties and through the lunch and dinner when everybody sits down around big tables so that 8 people can meet and greet.
Grate Parties so far and social gatherings are blasting. Super happy that I found the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiteResortDeSilva, Manager at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

hey Anton,
Thanks for your nice review here on Tripadvisor.
Hope we see each other again here at our resort :-)
lg
Your Desilva´s kiteresort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We learned to Kite Board in this perfect setting. Winds were just right, water was warm, sun was out, instructors were excellent and the Desilva equipment in great shape. Other positives were the great staff and cozy resort setting. Like being part of the family. Things to be improved: The accomodations were rustic and attractive, but no air flow or air conditioning made the rooms stiffling hot and unsleepable. We stayed next door at an air conditioned hotel instead (we tried a room, but had to leave because of the heat.) The owner said he is looking to put new rooms with AC, but to date (July, 2013) there is no sign of that. The food was sub-par and lacked nutrition...we were starving at the end of our stay, but thankfully we brought some of our own food from home. If AC is installed and the food improved, this would be a perfect holiday and we are confident this will happen with time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiteResortDeSilva, Inhaber at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hi,

thank you for your good comment on TripAdvisor! We had a good time together! Unfortunatly Sri Lankan food is not yours. I know you´d rather like pizza, hamburger and other staff Americans prefer. About AC - at the moment we are a very natural resort in between natural park, but we are working on installing some AC-rooms for the next seasons.
However hope to see you soon again and maybe we install a pizza oven next year ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent two weeks at desilvas resorat and had a great time there. We had every day strong wind, perfect breakfasts and dinners. The service is very good an you get support for every wish you have during your holidays. The cabanas are simple but you have everything you need for a relaxed stay (except air condition). We are sure we will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiteResortDeSilva, Manager at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for your review,
we are glad you had a good time with us :-)
Hope to see you again at De Silva´s Kiteresort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am a sri lankan who currently lives in Germany with my wife. I spent here 2 weeks and experienced so much of new things.. Never done kite surfing before.. But here you have the possibility as beginners to learn it.. Nice and energetic staff, it was initially bit hard to learn but I finished the course successfully… thanks for the instructors who gave me lessons..
Very nice and oriental type of room was given.. Great food, great service with much of care … we love the place…. We will definitely come again to gain another memorable stay…

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windresor, Inhaber at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014
Google Translation

Hi,

danke für deine Bewertung auf Tripadvisor. Ein Jahr später hat sich einiges bei uns getan! Schau mal rein auf www.surfschool-srilanka.com und informier dich über unser neuestes Leistungsangebot!
Windige Grüße,
Upul De Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Together with my girfriend we found the resort through the recomandation of a college of ours we met at a former kite vecations and I have to say we have not been disappointed.

The resort is perfact for kite or windsurf holiday's as it offers a huge flat water lagoon right at its front door.
The spot has plenty and safe wind (check with wind finder) and even during Srilankas rain season not a single drop of rain falls in this specific area in the summer month.
Especially amazing during our stay in June we had stable wind between 20 to 30 knots EVERY day from morning to evening
Wind is SIDE SHORE plus an additional off shore spot furhter down the lagoon ideal for tricks and jumps where the water is even more flat.
Only downside, because of the sandy and shallow lagoon (so a lot of floting sand) the water has a more brown than blue colour but is quite clean in fact.


The Resort:
is under management from a Srilanken Windsurf Crack (ex pro rider) who lives in Austria and his family. Therefore they often have teachers from Europe, whole staff speaks good English and some even German.
This also results in a higher more European standard but still maintaining the natural style of the resort. It is an island paradise to relax not a 5 star all inclusive concrete bunker, with a very family like atmosphere and hand picked staff.
Really worth mentioning is the food. They cook very traditionally with the rich supply of fruits fish and spices the area offers. Very careful for cleanliness and hygiene so not only us but all guests there had no problems and it just tastes great after a long surfing day!

Only downside, we would maybe not recommend it for couples of families where not all want to surf as there are not many alternative activities around.
What you could do is also use it as stop or base during a round trip of Srilanka to do some surfing in between. (ask the people from the resort they can also organize such trips for you)

On their homepage http://www.surfschool-srilanka.com/ you can also find contacts (including Austrian phone number) as well as Facebook page and they will quickly and happily answer all your questions or special requests.

Room Tip: We recommend the deluxe cabanas for couples and families, normal rooms are more for back packers or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiteResortDeSilva, Manager at DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hey Markus and Dani,
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you had a wonderful holiday!
Hope to see you back here again soon!
lg
Your De Silva´s Kiteresort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
7.2 mi away
Elements Beach & Nature Resort
2 mi away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 58 in Kalpitiya
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ruuk Village
Ruuk Village
#4 of 58 in Kalpitiya
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rascals Kite Resort
The Rascals Kite Resort
#3 of 58 in Kalpitiya
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya

Address: Pudukuduruedippu, Sethawadi | Kalpitiya Lagoon, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka (Formerly Desilva Kite Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Kalpitiya
Price Range: $57 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya is directly located at the Kalpitiya Lagoon next to the Indian Ocean (North-West-Coast of Sri Lanka), wich is one of the best spots for Kiteboarding and Windsurfing all over the world!DE SILVA offers current kite and windsurf equipment and is Sri Lanka's largest kite- and windsurf school (VDWS certified). You find several kinds of accommodation possibilities at the resort: Surf-Cabanas, Standard rooms, Guesthouse; all rooms have a hammock and a terrace for relaxing. The restaurant serves fresh Sri Lankan food as well as fish and seafood from the region. In the resort, there is the possibility for Ayurvedic massage and a bar for beer and cocktails. Relax from your daily stressful life in our NEW>aftersurf-chillout-zone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your DE SILVA Windresort Kalpitiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing