We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden oasis in sri lankan paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omeesha Beach Hotel
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we arrived at omeesha on the advice of lovely local named Diron, and what a hidden gem this place turned out to be, so quiet with the most friendly of staff one could ever wish for...the food is amazing and the menu has heaps to choose from...club sandwiches to devilled fish and prawns, french fries, salads a plenty to name a few. The welcome lime juice was sensational....The owner Nixon has everything catered for our little beach hut named The Green House gave us the privacy we needed to rest after a long day out kite surfing and exploring the many wondesr this are has to offer...The outdoor shower is one of a kind, the water flows straight out of a shell and it really makes you feel special...on the beach front there is a pine forrest with seating and swings and is a great place to unwind and get away from the heat of the day...all i can say is that Omeesha Beach Hotel is one that we were so happy to find...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Kalpitiya Omeesha beach hotel is small hotel, I and my wife stayed there two nights. Lovely place with nice environment. foods also so tasty and very reasonable price. Their service is 100% customer friendly service. Their owner Mr.Nixon is very humble person and he checked our facilities always since we checked in to hotel. We bought A/C cabana for those two nights but we didn't need to use A/C with their wind. Unfortunately I couldn't visit dolphin because of off season The real sense of word Omeesha Beach Hotel is best hotel in Kalpitiya with my own experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darshana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spend 2 days in Omeesha at the end of our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. It was good rest after travelling accross the island. Cabanas are really nicly done and give you feeling of beeing close to the nature:-) Ourdoor shower with view on sky full of stars - something you never get in the city...Beach is very close, nothing on it, quite, very few people, zero annoying vendors. You can just sit there, relax and listening to the ocean:-) Staff very friendly and helpful. As there is nothing nearby you can go for lunch or dinner eating in is the only option. But food is very good and fresh. I would recommend it for people who wants quite place in kind of remote area and beautiful beach. It is not much to do, so I wouldn't want to stay in this area for longer, but it depends on everyones preferences. We met someone who enjoyed this place for 3 weeks! Also garden with trees on the way to the beach is very good and gives shade and 'coolness' in the middle of the day when heat on the beach is a little bit too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our driver found Omeesha beach for us, the most affordable accommodation (to our standard of quality and comfort) on Kalpitiya and it was a wonderful surprise.
Quite new property with direct access to the beach, offering a few new rooms, each a separate cabana , secluded by matting fence. Missing the view unfortunately but in return you have great privacy. The outdoors shower (plenty freshly pumped spring water, not at all cold) is encircled by another matting so no fear for preying eyes.
The cabana is very new and stylish with a very comfortable bed and outside sitting area.
Food ala carte, not the cheapest but very tasty and plenty!
Dolphin cruise from your doorstep, very nice and less expensive than other places.
Walk from your room to the public but very empty beach, through a small sort of pines wood where you can recline on deckchairs in the shade or lounge in a hammock or move onto the beach with straw umbrella and covered sitting area.
Don't worry about the windmill on the nextdoor property -its presence did not at all bother us - we hardly heard it.
All in all all a very recommendable place to stay.
Our only regret was that we had not more time to spend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ligt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After a disappointment over a booking at a hotel nearby, I stumbled upon Omeesha by chance. There were no reviews to go on but only their website. I called Mr. Pieris (Nixon) the owner who took my booking over the phone and a subsequent sms. The drive to Omeesha took 3 to 3.5 hours in a car. At Norochcholai, pass the Hatton National Bank and turn off Ilanthi Adiya Road (left hand side of the road). Go right down and the boards will lead you to the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised. There are 5 rooms of varying sizes. We stayed at Lily House, which was a double room with a large toilet and outdoor shower. The garden has many plants and is in the shadow of a windmill which adds character to the place! The owner Mr. Pieris is a charming man who related his rags to riches life story, making us happy that we booked with him. The rates were the lowest in the area as well!

The food was good and in large proportions. The lime juice and Nasi Goreng in particular were great!

Nixon took us dolphin watching and did not give up until he found the pod! The best time to go out at sea is 7.30am. If later, the sea is a bit choppy and fishing boats scare away the dolphins. On the day we left, the tourists had even seen whales!

The beach is 50 ft away from the cabanas. There is a grove of fir trees which give the garden much needed shade and we relaxed on a hammock in the afternoon, when it was too warm to be inside the cabana. The evenings are cool and comfortable.

We drove up to Kalpitiya in 1 hour to see the Kalpitiya Fort and the Talawila Church on the way. There is also an old Dutch Church, which is not in use, right outside the Kalpitiya Fort. The Navy occupies the Fort, therefore prior approval to visit is necessary.

Take plenty of sun block, light cotton clothes and drink plenty of water!

Room Tip: Ask for a double room if you want spacious accomodation. The Green House, which is single occupancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Birgitte_Th_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerthi N, Owner at Omeesha Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
0.2 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#8 of 31 in Kalpitiya
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#3 of 31 in Kalpitiya
64 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kite Bay Resort
Kite Bay Resort
#12 of 58 in Kalpitiya
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
306 reviews
13 mi away
Sun Wind Beach Kalpitiya
Sun Wind Beach Kalpitiya
#19 of 58 in Kalpitiya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omeesha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omeesha Beach Hotel

Address: Ilanthiadiya-Norochchola | Palmyrah Road, Off Kalpitiya Road, Alankuda Beach, Kalpitiya 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Kalpitiya
Price Range: $33 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omeesha Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Omeesha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing