We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world!”
Review of Ruwala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruwala Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kalpitiya is a dream destination for dolphin watching. Ruwala Resort is probably the all-round best value for money resort among all those in Kalpitiya.

Excellent location by the lagoon. Hotel provides kayaks free of charge for a fun time.

Kids loved the pool and the baby pool - few resorts in Kalpitiya have a pool so that was a definite plus.

Rooms were very comfortable and bathrooms were good. The power company is apparently delaying a good power supply, so there's air-conditioning only for a few hours. But we were told that's likely to change within a couple of months. Not that you need it, because the breeze keeps the mosquitos away (there are good nets around the beds too) and it's very cool in the night.

If you're with family, as we were, the chalets are preferable to the cabanas which are more suited for couples.

Food was great - barbeque, lobster, crabs...

Service was excellent. Not often that a hotel's proprietor personally attends to everything, but he does at Ruwala, including the boat ride to watch dolphins The staff are recruited from the area, which is a wonderful policy.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, so you should book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 410Traveler410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    47
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
22
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent just an overnight at Ruwala, and it was a great holiday. The view across the lagoon was superb and unparalleled. The chalets are located just right by the wide expanse of water with amazing sunrise views from the wide verandah. The food was well prepared, especially the sea food. The kids had enough garden to play around and the children's pool is just the right size for toddlers. The outdoor sitout under the palmyrah grove is a great place to chill out with a beer or have a barbecue evening. The rooftop was wonderful in the evening under a blanket of stars. The staff are obliging and willing. Our request for lobster for dinner was somehow fulfilled!

The hosts know the area well, and can advise on the two main attractions of Kalpitiya- dolphin watching and snorkeling in Bar Reef. Our dolphin safari was well organised by Ruwala management. We had amazing sightings of at least 500 dolphins, despite there being many boats around, and we were back on land before 9.30.

Room Tip: The chalets by the lagoon...There are two with airconditioning, so if you need to be cool in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharuka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a wonderful and relaxing few days we had with friends in early January 2013. It felt like our own private resort. It was amazing waking up to the sunrise overlooking the tranquil lagoon. The chalets are very spacious, comfortable with huge bathrooms.
Our most favourite place was lying on the veranda watching the birds and fishing boats go past with a gentle breeze blowing from the lagoon. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff on arrival with cool coconut drinks.
The menu had an abundance of fresh seafood from devilled prawns, baked crabs,lobsters,grilled fish to name a few. A fantastic pool and restaurant area.
The most wonderful and amazing experience was going out to sea with Maithri (Resort Owner/Manager) with packed breakfast (as we had to leave quite early around 6.30am) to see and be surrounded with thousands of spinner dolphins unique to Sri Lanka. What a show it was, something not to be missed while there.
It was relaxing as well as adventourus and you need more than 3 days. We will definately be back. A big thankyou to all the friendly staff for a heavenly experience.

Room Tip: chalets are spacious and overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just two hours drive from the Colombo International airport. Excellent road from the turn off at Palavi for about 15 kilometres. Thereafter the road is being widened, it will take about 6 months to complete. But it is worth the effort. Ruwala Resort is a great place to relax, specially when one requests for the Lagoon View rooms. Early morning view of the lagoon is really peaceful, calm & quite. One could see the small fishing boats with the fisherman laying his nets, quite a long process. The Host Mainthree & Hostess Anudini are very nice people always ready to assist us and oblige us with anything we requested. We had a excellent Christmas Dinner. We would have preferred to stay another day, but unfortunately we had booked the next day at a hotel in the North of Sri lanka. The hotel is situated at the 25 kilometre post. The next day we left the hotel at 7.00 a.m. to watch the dolphins at kalpitiya, which is about 40 minutes drive. It was a great experience being at sea for about 3 hours. we had to proceed to the high seas , about 8 kms. to watch the dolphins.

Room Tip: Prospective travellers must request for the lagoon View rooms. Excellent view, Peace & quite.Ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinehill_serendib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for something different somewhere you can wind down then i can recommend Ruwalar
amazing buildings created by the owner with love which is the only way to create beauty Fantastic safe infinity pool 20mts ! excellent food attentive service and lovely grounds.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 4 days at Ruwala Resort in Jan 13 and I must say it was an amazing time! Our chalet overlooked the lagoon and our best spot was the paduru setting outside the room where you can lie down and enjoy the scenary around you and the cool breeze. We spent alot of time in this spot enjoying a variety of drinks and the delicious food prepared by Prabath! The Ruwala devilled prawns, Calamari are a must have. We had this a couple of times a day and loved it every time! The food was excellent and each meal was better than the other! The Ruwala crab.. OMG was my highlight!!! This is a combination of Singapore Crab with a Ruwala touch. A true delicatable delight and a must have!!! Value for money as each meal included Ruwala Sea food!!!
Maithri (Proprieter) and his Team are very warm and hostpitable and give you that personal touch and made our stay a memorable one! Maithri also arranged a trip to the ocean for Dolphin Watching. And that has to be the most memorable experience for all of us! Neil the fisherman and his daughter are experienced and know their way around the ocean. We saw the most amazing number of Dolphins! They were basically on each side of our boat and such a beautiful sight! The spinner dolphins (I'm told unique to Sri Lanka) put on a real show!!! Although these Dolphins are not trained... their actions were so synchronized its an amazing show!! We saw thousands of Doplphins!!! And this is not an exaggeration. Maithri even brings along a packed lunch which we savoured what felt like in the middle of the ocean. Although we were only about 10 kms from the shore.
If you like adventure... Maithri can definitely arrange this for you as he did for us. The resort has kayaks, bikes, arrange kite surfing etc. Highly recommend this to anyone keen to visit Kalpitiya! This was our first trip to Kalpitiya and it was a memorable one!!! Looking forward in visiting you again on our next trip.

Room Tip: The chalets overlooking the lagoon - a must have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manju G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a fantastic experience fresh seafood in abundance superb rooms overlooking the lagoon just 20 feet away fantastic service . Incredible value for money.We will always have Ruwala in our travel I ternary when we visit Sri Lanka

Room Tip: All chalet are well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilkamal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
2.4 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
5.4 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#4 of 28 in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
7.8 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#6 of 28 in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#9 of 28 in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#3 of 28 in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruwala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruwala Resort

Property: Ruwala Resort
Address: Kalpitiya Road | Kalpitiya, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Kalpitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruwala Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a rustic eco-retreat and adventure-park on the banks of the scenic Puttlam lagoon, located in the unexplored north-west coast of Sri Lanka, making it an unforgettable holiday getaway - especially for the adventurous and nature-loving visitor. Nestled in the remote fishing village of Thihaliya, Ruwala Resort spans 9 acres of coconut garden and is geared to provide a relaxing as well as an adventurous holiday experience for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ruwala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing