We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing spot to enjoy kitesurfing”
Review of Ruwala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruwala Resort
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Never before i had practise ¨luxury kite¨ due to everywhere use to have a severe lack of facilities around the kite spots. In this place we enjoined the best wind conditions in a secluded paradise of profesional and friendly service. The laggon for the kite is just a few kms (10 min by car) away from ruwala resort where the manager took us everyday in the early morning with a just cooked catering for the lunch time.
For dinner tasted everyday delicious Sri Lankan local food. Without doubt this place has the best restaurant in Kalpitiya.
The accommodation in the cabanas is simple but nice. The staff is very helpful eventhough they have to speak better english.
The manager give us an excelent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler67188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy a true eco-friendly set up. Situated on the north western coastal belt of Sri Lanka. The spacious chalets are facing the scenic Puttlam lagoon, and make sure not to miss the fascinating and mesmerizing view of the sunrise from your private veranda. The resort is owned and managed by Maithri Liyanage, who is a true ambassador of Sri Lankan hospitality.

Maithri arranged the amazing Dolphin & Whale watching boat ride, which was a very exhilarating and enriching experience. We saw well over 40 sperm whales and tons of dolphins.

A big thank you for Maithri and his friendly and competent team for making our stay a comfortable and a memorable one! No doubt we’ll stay longer the next time.

Ruwala Resort – Highly recommended

Cheers,
Bonnie
p.s. I must thank my good buddy Amitha for recommending this place for me.

Room Tip: Ask for the water front chalets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonniePerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a great stay at Ruwala. The fact that the owner lives on site and manages the property makes all the difference. The food was great and the dolphin and whale watching experience was out of this world. The free kayaking offered by Ruwala was also one of the hilights of the trip.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank NavinSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

It's hard to recognise this place from the other reviews so maybe we just struck unlucky. The location is to die for, the owner very friendly and interesting and the staff try hard but speak virtually no English. There was no written information available either at reception or in the rooms, while asking for a menu provoked total panic.

The rooms, though very clean, lack comfortable furniture (no dressing table or table/desk; the only chairs were loungers on the verandah; impossible even to sit on the bed due to it being covered with a pop-up mozzie net. What furniture there was seemed of poor quality.

None of this would matter if the price was appropriate for the backpacker market but at $125 per night for B&B for two, plus driver accommodation charged on top of this, we felt it just wasn't acceptable value.

Ruwala has great potential which could be realised with very little financial outlay and a more rigorous approach to management and staff training. In the meantime, halve the prices and it would be a realistic option. We did go for dinner at another hotel nearby which charged about the same, and we asked the manager there to show us the rooms. It was, frankly, in a different league from the Ruwala.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonesheygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriL, Owner at Ruwala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Ruwala Resort PVT LTD
Kalpitiya Road, Thihaliya, Eththale

With reference to your review, if I may respond; Ruwala Resort is a small NatureResort and an Adventure Park situated in a rustic location over looking thelagoon, which has only 6 chalets in a 9 acre block of land. Owing to the low density of chalets, the maintenance is high. It follows a modern concept which is a ‘minimalist approach’, where the rooms have minimum of furniture, to avoid clutter and improve air circulation while the basics are in place. There is a large vanity table in the wash room to replace the dressing table and table and chair on request.
 
As a means of uplifting the livelihood of villagers in the locality 80% of the staff are recruited from the surrounding village. Since this is still a developing and a laid back area we agree that the staff needs training which they are undergoing at the moment especially pertaining to English. Although they could understand and speak English to a certain extent, they find it difficult tofollow the foreign accent at times but it is surprising that the menus were not produced when requested.
 
As for the furniture, they are hand-made by the village carpenter from locallyavailable material which at the same time blends with the ‘Nature Resort Concept’.
 
We are sorry that this concept was not to your liking. We will certainly make note of the constructive criticism to serve better.
 
 
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

we were here for some days and i would like to recall some good highlights. The cabanas are confortable and the experience being waken up by open air and birds is absolutely delightfull. The family and staff are really helpful looking for making your stay as home. Food is delicious. And for sure, what at the beginning seemed to be a relaxing place, it turned out was a place full of fun and amazing activities that we did just nearby: snorkeling at the bar reef, kayaking, diving and one my dreams: not only to watch dolphins but whales too. I have to mention as well that this area is absolutely unspoiled and so amazing. You can go around by bike to saint anne or anyplace and you will feel how much this place is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usuario076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Group of us stayed over two days at this resort. It is a family run place with access to famous Kalpitiya Lagoon. Food was excellent with fantastic Sea food fayre. You may find that you may not get Luxurious comforts of large beach resorts, but facilities are quite adequate for place of thic size. You can go on fantastic Dolphin watching excursions in the mornings. Also it is not very far from Wilpattu Wildlife Sanctuary.For short break I reccomend this place very highly.
Management & staff are very friendly with a fantastic attitude. Also it has got a very clean shallow pool. Access to a nature trail is also a very good advantage!

Room Tip: Go for Chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We felt like home at Ruwala resort.

We spent a very comfortable night at the resort, resting under the stars after a busy day where Maithri did his best to share his knowledge of the area (much appreciated !). The Ruwala resort is a very comfortable accommodation, clean, and with a good restaurant (try the grilled fish), in a region which is mainly unspoilt. The owner is also developing several activities, with sea and land based adventures !

Thanks again to Maithri for your time and looking forward to coming back to Kalpitiya !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BYS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
2.4 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
5.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
528 reviews
7.8 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Sante
Villa Sante
#18 of 57 in Kalpitiya
22 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 31 in Kalpitiya
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruwala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruwala Resort

Address: Kalpitiya Road | Kalpitiya, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kalpitiya
Price Range: $86 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruwala Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a rustic eco-retreat and adventure-park on the banks of the scenic Puttlam lagoon, located in the unexplored north-west coast of Sri Lanka, making it an unforgettable holiday getaway - especially for the adventurous and nature-loving visitor. Nestled in the remote fishing village of Thihaliya, Ruwala Resort spans 9 acres of coconut garden and is geared to provide a relaxing as well as an adventurous holiday experience for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ruwala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing