We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweamazing holiday resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diyamba Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 31 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A trip to Kalpitiya and a stay at the Diyamba Beach Resort should be a priority.

Having access to a private beach and lagoon, sea bathing, walking on soft sand under tall coconut trees, relaxing on hammocks all day, barbecues at night under a moonlit sky are just a few of the ways in which I spent my time there...

the staff was very polite and friendly. Fresh seafood was prepared and Chefs were excited about preparing new dishes for guests to embark on a culinary adventure.

Ramani was very hospitable and friendly; wonderful hostess looking after everyone and committed to making sure that everyone had the best time during their stay.

Expeditions such as snorkeling organised efficiently and safely by Diyamba.

I left Diyamba feeling peaceful, refreshed, rejuvenated, and with a sense of having had an adventure of a lifetime. I am excitedly looking forward to return there soon.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank HarindriniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 138 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

First impressions. Our train was an hour late arriving, yet the modern A/C van the resort had booked for us was waiting to pick us up and the driver knew who to expect! On arrival the resort looked slightly rustic. Do not let this put you off! We stayed in a standard room which was basic, clean and everything worked. (As on the website.) The location, slightly set back from the beach is lovely and the service and attention to detail is fabulous. Nothing is too much trouble. We had specific menu requirements due to one of our children suffering from food allergies. They went to a lot of trouble to ensure that the staff were aware of this. The food for us and the children was delicious, beautifully presented and they cooked separately for the children when needed. This has not been the case in more expensive up market places we have stayed where there has been a total lack of understanding !!! Food was served promptly at a table overlooking the beach, lovely! We also booked a snorkelling and dolphin trip through the resort. This meant an early start, walking with our host down the beach to the boat she had booked. Our packed breakfast was already on board. The staff driving the boat went to a lot of trouble to make sure we had a wonderful experience. Even when I left my camera behind at the end they made a special trip to bring it back to the hotel. This a family business and it was lovely to be made so welcome. We enjoyed three super days and wish we could have stayed longer. If you love a warm, family welcome, personal service and kind and thoughtful hosts you will love it. If you want polished tourism, resort style with all the mod cons do not stay here! We will definitely be going back! PS Yohan who manages all enquiries is honest, hardworking and well organised. Ask him your questions when you book and you will receive well informed, honest answers. This makes planning your trip so much easier when visiting a new area!

Room Tip: The economy and standard rooms have little privacy due to blinds for walls so if you struggle with r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACJColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The place is nice but the owner is putting up the price of the room according the client...for the same room we have paid double price, 108US$ when it is written 44US$ on trip advisor. The room are not value for 44US$ so it is worth for 108US$. We wanted to stay longer but we decided to leave this place. We have found a very nice place to stay call the tchek place where the bungalows are 3000slr a night. Very nice family atmosphere and you can use the kitchen to cook. it is try near to the lagoon kite base road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUBERT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diyamba, Owner at Diyamba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We do not discriminate and adjust our pricing accordingly and for any guests looking for clarity on this issue, our pricing does not change by client and it is very clear on every single internet location that we are posted on. All pricing is the same whether you look at our website (once 10% service charge is added as indicated) or Agoda (once you advance to the payment page).

Tripadvisor states $44 and up. Up refers to the fact that $44 is our cheapest accommodation (Economy room Double occupancy - room only). This guest booked a Standard Room Triple Occupancy Bed and Breakfast which is $88 (room)+ $19.80 (Breakfast) = $107.80 (inclusive of all taxes and service charges). This was clearly communicated to the client over the phone and there was no objection at that time as the client could not find anything else that satisfied their need. The reservation was made by the client while in travel less than a couple hours before arrival, hence no advance ecopy was forwarded. Upon arrival after a brief discussion, pricing was confirmed again with the guest and at that time they could have chosen to leave and not stay without any cost incurred.

It's baffling why after the explanations, phone conversations and clear detail given that there was confusion on the part of the guest. Regardless, we will continue to strive in the future to make sure our pricing detail is clear before reservations are confirmed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing time at Diyamba Beach resort. The beach style cabana we stayed in was simple and comfortable and offered reasonable value for money. The area is largely underdeveloped in terms of hotels etc so its a good place to stay if you want a change from the more touristy beach areas in Sri Lanka. The staff were very helpful and friendly and service was generally efficient. We went on a dolphin trip organised by the resort and managed to see pilot whales as well as scores of dolphins. My only gripe would be that the food was somewhat overpriced relative to other places, although as the owner pointed out some of the ingredients are hard to come by in the area. As there was not a menu available when we stayed, my advice would be to check the prices in advance before you order food particularly if you are on a tight budget. However overall it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieKettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You'll love it if you're after a lovely small hotel on the beach, with great food and smily service, simple clean rooms - chalet and bamboo screen style, and a good base for enjoying seaside activities. Ramini is also an excellent hostess who looked after our group very well - we had a fab time! If you're after a concrete hotel with mod cons and a manicured beach, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamaeleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from 1 week in Diyamba resort, and we feel like we just landed from paradise. Besides the outstanding location, clean rooms and good food, it was particularly the staff that made us feel like home. The family who holds the place will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and we allready miss them!
We can only recommend the place, and Kalpitiya in general.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, take a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at diyamba , the beach is just awesome and the location of the place is lovely . Friendly personalized staff and tasty food, loved the dolphin watching and saw some Pilot whales too. grate value for money clean and comfy rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santhoshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
5.8 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
0.6 mi away
Welle Wadiya
Welle Wadiya
#5 of 31 in Kalpitiya
97 reviews
12.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 31 in Kalpitiya
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#4 of 31 in Kalpitiya
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 56 in Kalpitiya
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Kite Surfing Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diyamba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diyamba Beach Resort

Address: Kanthankkuliya Beach Road | Kalpitiya-Puttalam, Kalpitiya 0007, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range: $31 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a cove on the sands of the west coast of Sri Lanka is a beach resort called Diyamba ("the deep blue"). Diyamba is the ONLY resort located on the Kanthakkuliya Beach in Kalpitiya, on the north-west arm that branches off the island. Enjoy the private and secluded experience that will bring total comfort and relaxation to your world. At Diyamba there is no offseason. Depending on the time of year a bevy of experiences awaits you. Kitesurfing, Dolphin and Whale watching, Snorkeling at the Bar Reef or a picturesque ride through the mangroves on the lagoon side of Wilpattue National Park are among the many activities available to you. Off the shores of Diyamba is where a killer whale (Orca), was spotted, the first documented sighting in almost 100 years. The colorful marine life and majestic sunsets are guaranteed to leave you refreshed and relaxed on your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Diyamba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing