We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, very nice staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Kalpitiya B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Both my wife and I are avid kitesurfers, and we like to discover new spots all over the world.
Recently, Sri Lanka got our attention as a hidden treasure, with excellent kitesurfing conditions.
After doing our online search and a couple of phone calls, we decided on Sethawadiya Dolphin view Lodge in Kalpitia.
I'm glad to say we were not disappointed. The lodge is situated right on one of the prime spots of Sri Lanka, and the Deluxe Bungalow offers unrestricted views on beautiful lagoon.
The bungalows are rather simple, but with their traditional construction the room climate is very pleasant.
One of the best thing of the stay was the staff: always very friendly and helpful, very attentive and nice. You could not ask for more.
They cook both Sri Lankan and European style dishes, and adjust the preferences of the guests.
Our little daughter was also very well received. She loved to play with the two dogs of the house , which are very friendly.
So overall, we are very pleased and sure to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wavekiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

a tranquil holiday in front of a beautiful lagoon, great food and friendly service. Gotta love this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Kite school at dolphin,solid, best in Kalpitiya. Secluded spot right on the lip of the lagoon. North kites used by instructors who are well experienced and quality company, defo going back . Catcha soon lads !

Room Tip: Email for update on room types as more options are becoming available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitlykee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

European prices in Sri lanka, completely overpriced. The place is nice though and perfect for a kitesurfing holiday. Flat water lagoon and the ocean just meters away from the lagoon. Again the place is nothing of an"eco lodge" and the bungalows would be half the price anywhere else.
Set up is nice, food is also nice and the people there were great but it is just to expensive compared to the rest of the country and asia in general

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Magic! staff, food, place, room, lagoon, sunset, beach, view, nature...everything is awesome.
So pure, basic, relaxing and peacefull place. Excellent to cut itself of the world. Georgious view from the "chalet". There are chalet from two to ten people ! Perfect for families, lovers or group of kitesurfers.There's a restaurant which serve breakfast/lunch/dinner. Take the pack : room and food first cause the chief is excellent and because there is nothing around. It's a little touristic city. Just 3 hotels ! Dolphin view is the best set up in the area for sure and the best of our trip in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jardinette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Firstly.. what an amazing property, there is actually nothing i could fault with. the food was amazing, staff were extremely friendly and would do anything to make sure your holiday here is perfect, i was part of group who stayed here and we usually stay up late to exchange stories and have a good time and the staff refused to sleep despite our insistence simply by saying they wanted to be around in case we needed anything. Amazing! not many properties like this would go out of there way.

I would also like to mention the road to the property is a bit rough, but its definitely worth it as the location is brilliant.

The room we stayed in was the group chalet and it was arranged in a dormitory style with a lovely area in the middle of it as a sitting area with bean bags.

I would recommend this place to adventure lovers, if you are looking for 5 star class hotel tyoe properties i would not recommend but would definitely suggest you try this out and enjoy the simple pleasures.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have seen anything like it in Sri Lanka. The surroundings are breathtaking. I just stayed there for 1 night which was far too little time to take in the scenery. The food was great and the staff were very friendly. We were up the whole night(3.30 a.m) just playing carrom and chatting on the beach by a small bonfire we made. Before breakfast we went dolphin watching which was a really wonderful experience. I hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpitiya hotels
7.6 mi away
Elements Beach & Nature Resort
13.5 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 32 in Kalpitiya
534 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 58 in Kalpitiya
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#2 of 32 in Kalpitiya
311 reviews
13.4 mi away
Roshanne Beach Resort
Roshanne Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Kalpitiya
102 reviews
13.9 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#3 of 32 in Kalpitiya
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Address: Off 40 Km Post Kalpitiya Road | 2 km towards the sea, Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpitiya
Price Range: $34 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the salt pans and the lagoon, our Sethawadiya property comprises four eco chalets with views of the ocean beyond picturesque sand bars. The chalets include a private sitting area and bedroom with attached bathroom. This is the perfect getaway for those looking for an experience beyond commercialized resorts. Just opened from 1st July 2011, Srilankakite located at Sethawadiya Dolphin view ecolodge. This kite centre is dedicated for beginners intermediate and advance lessons with the latest equipment available at the centre from north boarding that include rentals sale and repairs of all kiteboarding equipment. Get advise from world famous Fabio Ingrosso staying throughout the season at the centre testing the kites for north boarding again one of the most technically advanced reputable kite brands in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Hotel Kalpitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing