We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
20
4
4
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
4
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh seafood swimming pool kite surfing dolphin watching hammocks paradise dolphins resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful and silent place to stay for a couple or family. Staff are cooperative regarding arranging activities around (wilpatuu national park tour, dolphins watching, snorkeling...etc) or divers to take you somewhere else.
All staff here looks relaxed and gives a good sense or mean for you that you are on holidays.
Their sea food platter is delicious.
Beach is just 1 minuets walk

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank delman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

We arrived after 2 pm on New Year's Eve. There was only one other couple waiting for their meal. Our group of 5 ordered from the sole employee working and waited over 35 minutes before the first dish was served. To pass the time, a few of us strolled towards the beach and two others played checkers on a much larger board that we are used to in the US (12 x 12).

The prices were a bit high for food that was just passable. We ordered the chicken satay skewers (which was bland), grilled garlic shrimp (shells were still on), chicken fried rice, steak and fries (very tough beef).

Perhaps we ordered the wrong items, perhaps the main chef had taken the afternoon off - either way, given the price we paid, we were disappointed.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dushi-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night.the room was well ready for us when we arrived.The Manager Damith was a very helpful person.hes a great asset to the Hotel.all staff are very friendly and flexible.the rooms are so comfortable and the bathrooms are open bathrooms.its lovely and very clean.the chalets are very lovely.the pool is so so relaxing.the beach is so peaceful.but a bit unclean due to a fishing village.but you won't find touts that big you.we enjoyed a dolphin and whale watching trip organized by Mr.Damith for us.it was a wonderful experience. Don't go on a full stomach
The kite surfing is wonderful in this hotel.they have personal classes with personal instructors for this.they provide all the gear and shoes you need.next time for sure we will be going for kite surfing.its a wonderful sport to learn.
The food was the only if the only the chef can prepare more colourful and appetizing variety of food this place would be heaven on earth.but I should mention that Mr.Damith the Manager prepared us separate food as we needed more spice and color.thanks for that.but still the taste of the food needs to improved.pls consider this.other than that I have no complains regarding this hotel.we will surely be back again.lovely place to relax and just CHILL

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank larinetoussaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonbeachkalpitiy, Owner at Horizon Kite Surfing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear Larine,
Thanks for your review & expected you to visit again,you will be warmly welcome!!!


Regards,
Horizon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for three nightr, but could have easily stayed longer. We lived this place, it's quiet, clean and beautuful. The swimming pool in the centre od cabanas is totally clean, surronded with palm trees, flowers and sand - it does feel like paradise, a place to relax. Restaurant is pleasant and breakfast is tasty and abundant. Friendly staff. Our Child loved all the swings in the garden, the pool, the fish tank, hammocks and sand. Dolphin watching, which the staff organised for us, was for sure the peak of our stay here. We definitely recommended this place!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank zzzaaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonbeachkalpitiy, Guest Relations Manager at Horizon Kite Surfing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

thanks for your great response and will expected you to visit next time too,


Regards,

Horizon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

kalpitiya offers you a lot of beach cabana type resorts, I have been to a few, but horizon stands the best out of many, my main intention was to visit the famous our ladies shrine and then relax with my family. And the cost was another factor.
Booked it online based on reviews.
When I first got into the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the staff and the check in was very quick, the rooms are not that big for a family but can manage, the bathrooms are big and open which I liked, had a very related feeling when using it. The food was tasty and especially the fresh seafood, the size of potions are much bigger compared to many and the price may be a bit on the high side compared to town restaurants but it's understandable.
Staff and the management were very friendly and helpful. What ever we ordered came quickly. The bar was good the cocktails were perfect. The pool was clean. I enjoyed my stay. Looking forward for another visit very soon. Need to do Kitesurfing .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ruchi-kurera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonbeachkalpitiy, Guest Relations Manager at Horizon Kite Surfing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Dear Guest,

thanks for your genuine review and you are warmly welcome again!!!


Regards,
Horizon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews