We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stop along the route”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trellis Cafe

The Trellis Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Hubbards
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, American, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
735 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Worth a stop along the route”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Out for a lovely drive along the ocean we recently came across the Trellis Café and stopped in for brunch. We had the banana loaf french toast (see picture) and the standard breakfast special. Both were hot and tasty. This is a quaint little spot - friendly, clean and good food! Get out of Halifax for a day or a half day, enjoy the gorgeous sites of coves, oceans - nature at it's best, and stop by the Trellis Café for a treat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    74
    43
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trellis Cafe for Dinner & Entertainment”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's wonderful to be able to dine in an intimate setting with excellent local entertainment! We especially enjoy the pan-fried haddock with potatoes and Greek salad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACXSHEALTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in this area.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is one of my favourite restaurants in the Southshore of Nova Scotia. Very nice daily specials, good fish burgers, wonderful soups and the desserts are marvellous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced mediocre food with a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came to the trellis for the second time with my partner. We thought we would give it another chance considering it is top in taste of Nova Scotia. I'm a hungry girl and ordered an eggs Ben and a lobster sandwich. Eggs Ben was cold and English muffin wasn't toasted. Lobster was freezing and doused in mayonnaise and thrown on their homemade bread which was definitely subpar. Coming from a family of fisherman and foodies I was really disappointed for the second time. If you're going to charge 19 bucks for a lobster sandwich you need to improve your quality. My boyfriend had the African peanut soup which was nice and the fish cakes which are supposed to be "famous" but again subpar

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Literally a hidden jem along the lighthouse route!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I were driving from Lunenburg to Peggy's Cove along the lighthouse route. We dropped into this little cafe by accident and we could not have been more surprised. I ordered a chicken curry and brie sandwich with african peanut soup. OMG! All the food is fresh and home made! The soup was the more delicious thing I have ever had! Can't wait to head back to this little award winning cafe next time Im in Nova Scotia!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trellis Cafe also viewed

 
Hubbards, Halifax Region
Tantallon, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Trellis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing