We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
776
263
90
48
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
776
263
90
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding receptiongroupon vouchermaster suitespa facilitieslovely hotelsecret escapessteam roomevening mealrelaxing breakfour poster bednight breakrelaxation roommy partnerno liftfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
780 - 785 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a FANTASTIC venue My Daughter and now Son in-law picked for their wedding, Can't think of a single complaint, Yes a lot of people have already said the bedrooms can get very warm which is true but you can ask for a large fan which made a massive difference, It's an old building and these things are expected!
The building and grounds are gorgeous again it's a period building and you have to keep that in mind,
The staff are ALL really good at their jobs so professional yet warm and friendly, I can't speak highly enough of them,
We booked the whole hotel for the wedding which i'd definitely recommend, The food is excellent and nothing was to much trouble, You asked they delivered!
I would like to say as a none drinker i would have preferred canned sort drinks so they could be kept chilled better but other than that it was all first class, Just sad it's all over!

Room Tip: The Rooms are all very different but you can look at them on line, some have amazing views of the gardens
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

What an amazing review and we are delighted that you found the hotel 'a FANTASTIC venue'

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review and for all your wonderful comments. We hope any future bride and grooms reading this will find your comments useful.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Rowton Hall very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely building and so looks the part. The room was very large and very well furnished. No iron and ironing board which always puzzles me but these were available from reception. Superficial issues with the decorations in the room and no lift to the second floor were slight downsides. However, it was comfortable and not overly expensive for the facilities. One point to note, I got a cheaper price by emailing the hotel directly than I would have got through any of the last minute hotel booking sites. Staff were friendly and efficient. I am not sure that I would rave about it but it was not a bad place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your email and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a fantastic weekend we had at Rowton Hall for a family Wedding from start to finish we were treated to a wonderful time with charming staff and an efficient run Service for the Wedding ceremony to the meal and then brunch today. The rooms were all beautiful and having the Hotel to ourselves was an extra bonus and made for a relaxed weekend.
Thank you very much for making the weekend such a wonderful time to remember.

Room Tip: Call and ask staff very helpful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0ther0ftheGr00m2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

What a fantastic review and we are delighted that you had a 'fantastic weekend' with us.

Thank you for your wonderful comments 'from start to finish we were treated to a wonderful time with charming staff and an efficient run Service for the Wedding ceremony to the meal and then brunch today. The rooms were all beautiful and having the Hotel to ourselves was an extra bonus and made for a relaxed weekend.'

We do hope that other viewers find this review useful and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful overnight break at Rowton Hall. Booked through secret escapes so amazed to get a free upgrade on arrival - to a suite! Beautiful big room, very comfortable and warm All the staff were extremely friendly and very professional and the service was amazing. The meal (included for the first night) was so good we changed our plans so that we could eat in the restaurant there again and we were not disappointed. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked.
Reception staff advised the use of 'park and ride' which made a day visit to Chester cheap and relaxing.
Would visit again no question .
Janet P and Liz D

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are delighted that you had 'a wonderful overnight break' with us.

Thank you for your comments 'o amazed to get a free upgrade on arrival - to a suite! Beautiful big room, very comfortable and warm All the staff were extremely friendly and very professional and the service was amazing. The meal (included for the first night) was so good we changed our plans so that we could eat in the restaurant there again and we were not disappointed. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked.'

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went to a wedding here on Maundy Thursday, and it was lovley.
The wedding room was beautifully arranged, both for the service and the reception afterwards.
The wedding meal - the starter and dessert were fab, and the main meal was ok, but a little ordinary, but perhaps that was the couple's choice, so don't want to knock the hotel for that.

We stayed overnight and had a fabulous room which was very lagre and very clean. The bathroom was stunning, with a TV to watch whilst lying in the bath - robes and slippers included too.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious.

Unfortunately we did not have time to use the spa.

All in all a great time was had by all and woulld recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely wedding review.

It is great to hear that you thought the room was 'beautifully arranged' and that you enjoyed the wedding breakfast.

I will certainly pass your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews