We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Paxos Club(Gaios)
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
92
117
47
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
117
47
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic repolympic holidaysself cateringfree minibuspool barmanadendri beachanti paxosrooms are basicbeautiful islandair contwo weekslocal beachplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaypackage holidayrep samfamily run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 280 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Absolutely amazing time in this hotel such a fab location and an amazing family run business. So lovely to see people so proud of what they have built up!!! We have just booked to go again this year, want to request the same room number, bastas can you tell me what room I was in... It was front facing in the main building, top floor and very end with the best view of the bay... Xxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have just returned from another holiday in lakka and stayed at bastas again .. the family are so friendly and nice , they will do any thing for you to make your stay more comfy and enjoyable .. may need a slight make over but it is in a great location as every thing is just a few minutes away.... they run a free bus every day to manadendri beach .. fantastic pool and bar/ taverna there a must..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linda_whyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmBasta, General Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you very much.
We wish you to have a nice winter and we are looking forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's been almost a month now since we returned from our first trip to Paxos which certainly lived up to our expectations.
Luckily our flights and transfers went without a hitch.
I think it is important to travel with the mindset there is a good chance you may be delayed, it is easy to see especially if as we did you arrive late in the season that weather conditions dictate sea transfers over to Paxos.
My wife and I travelled over with our seventeen year old son and on booking with Olympic we noticed that for a small fee we could opt for a two bedroom apartment as opposed to the studios. which my son insisted we went for due to snoring issues :)
On arrival we were given the keys to our room for the next two weeks which was on the top floor of the annexe which is a separate building to the left to the main hotel, I must admit getting three suitcases up at least 150 steps wasn't easy but when we eventually got up and looked around our apartment we all agreed we could not have been given a more spacious apartment with better views of Lakka.

We had been given a three double bedroom apartment which had two bathrooms a large kitchen which had a large window over looking a small orchard at the rear of the annexe.
The apartment which was the full top floor had a narrow balcony which had beautiful views overlooking the village and the sea to the right, when all the windows and shutters are open we had a wonderful breeze through all the rooms.

As other people have mentioned we did notice a few issues ie. no shower spray brackets a wobbly toilet seat, a bathroom door handle which came off in your hand, all these were things added to the
Quirkiness of the place and did in no way spoil what was a warm and friendly hotel set in a wonderful location with a picturesque bay full of wonderful tavernas only a minutes walk away.

Incidentally one thing we did do is on reading a couple of articles about there being no kettle, before we travelled we bought a £4.99 kettle from supermarket packed it with tea bags and dried food, and then left it there.

The hotel has a beautiful pool and bar at the rear of the hotel ran by the very friendly Melissa, always available sunbeds.
The food and snacks at the bar were excellent and good value for money.
One day we walked over to Loggos had a meal wine admired the wonderful views from Roxi's and got a taxi back.

We hired a boat for the day from Routsis I am a serious amateur when it comes to navigation but it is a must, it gives you a chance to appreciate the staggering beauty of the rugged east and the tranquil west, we opted not to venture over to anti-paxos as the sea that day was a little rough instead we chose to go over on a full day trip which we enjoyed.

We travelled over to the capital Gaios on a few occasions catching the last bus from Lakka and a taxi back, once again we were stunned by the beauty of everywhere, travelling on the bus driving through the dense olive tree lined roads through villages like Magazia and Fontana familys eating on their patio's and as the bus passes they all wave.

I don't think there was a meal we ate alfresco without at least three or four cats/kittens surounding our table for scraps, one of the funniest things we saw whilst having a drink in Gaios square people watching, there was a taverna to our left with a family eating they had four furry spectators, a dog two cats and a goose all looking up at them!

One thing we did on four or five days is walk over to Orka beach the short cut is through the gate at the L/H side of the Bastas pool bar, follow your nose up a steep hill for around 500mtrs and keep left until you see the sign.
A beautiful walk and more important a very quiet unspoilt pebble beach with crystal clear water there were days were we had the whole beach to ourselves!

All in all we had a very memorable time on Paxi no doubt we will one day return, up to now we have visited fifteen Greek islands this island is so peaceful it's a true gem with the most friendly people I have encounted anywhere on my travels.

Room Tip: Front higher rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rauschaxleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned after a week staying in the Bastas Paxos. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, staff were friendly, Sam the representative was friendly and most helfpul. The location is so good to all the amenities. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mevs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabisBastas, Public Relations Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear traveltony,

thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments about the Bastas as well as the other activities you enjoyed during your holidays in Paxos and I will be sure to pass on your feed back to the people you mentioned in your review.

We hope to welcome you back to the island again soon.

Kind regards
B. Bastas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rather an arduous journey from Birmingham. Plane was 2.5 hours late and we missed the last ferry. Put up in a lovely hotel with breakfast (only 15 mins from airport) and eventually got to Paxos on the hydrofoil (70 mins) 26 hours after we left home. However, that was the worst bit. The hotel/pool was lovely, the staff were equally as good and the 93 steps from bottom to top were not that bad. The hotel is only 150m from the harbour where there are some lovely tavernas. We ate in about 5 of them and the food in all was excellent. Alexandros and Tsirio's were probably the best. Prices are probably more than you would pay in the UK. 4Euros for a beer and roughly 50 euors for a 2 course meal for 2 with a litre of wine. Surprisingly for Greece most of the wine was really very nice.
The 4 of us hired a boat for the day (35 Euros anmd 50 Euros for petrol) and set off around the west coast, down to Anti Paxos, round there and stopped at a taverna on Anti Paxos for lunch and a few beers. The white sand beach and sea there was stunning. Stopped in Loggos on Paxos as well for another few beers which was a lovely little harbour village. Arrived back at 6.00 pm and totally enjoyed the day.
Every other day we caught the minibus at 11.00 am to Manadendri beach. This is owned by Kostas and his brother who also own the hotel. This place is stunning, only downside is thyat the pebbles make it quite difficult to get in and out of the sea. One day there wasn't enough room on the bus so Kostas took myself and mate by car, stopped at his house to pick up his granddaughter and had a curtious Ouzo with him. What a view he has from his place. Stood on his balcony watching a couple of eagles on the thermals.
I have been to about 8 or 9 Greek islands and this is by far the best so far. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: I am not sure that any room are better than the others. You can't really see the harbour from the front unles you are a contortionist and the other views overlook woods etc. We had room 37 which is at the end of the 3rd floor corridor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews