We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bastas so great”
Review of Bastas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bastas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have just returned from another holiday in lakka and stayed at bastas again .. the family are so friendly and nice , they will do any thing for you to make your stay more comfy and enjoyable .. may need a slight make over but it is in a great location as every thing is just a few minutes away.... they run a free bus every day to manadendri beach .. fantastic pool and bar/ taverna there a must..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linda_whyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmBasta, General Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you very much.
We wish you to have a nice winter and we are looking forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Bastas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's been almost a month now since we returned from our first trip to Paxos which certainly lived up to our expectations.
Luckily our flights and transfers went without a hitch.
I think it is important to travel with the mindset there is a good chance you may be delayed, it is easy to see especially if as we did you arrive late in the season that weather conditions dictate sea transfers over to Paxos.
My wife and I travelled over with our seventeen year old son and on booking with Olympic we noticed that for a small fee we could opt for a two bedroom apartment as opposed to the studios. which my son insisted we went for due to snoring issues :)
On arrival we were given the keys to our room for the next two weeks which was on the top floor of the annexe which is a separate building to the left to the main hotel, I must admit getting three suitcases up at least 150 steps wasn't easy but when we eventually got up and looked around our apartment we all agreed we could not have been given a more spacious apartment with better views of Lakka.

We had been given a three double bedroom apartment which had two bathrooms a large kitchen which had a large window over looking a small orchard at the rear of the annexe.
The apartment which was the full top floor had a narrow balcony which had beautiful views overlooking the village and the sea to the right, when all the windows and shutters are open we had a wonderful breeze through all the rooms.

As other people have mentioned we did notice a few issues ie. no shower spray brackets a wobbly toilet seat, a bathroom door handle which came off in your hand, all these were things added to the
Quirkiness of the place and did in no way spoil what was a warm and friendly hotel set in a wonderful location with a picturesque bay full of wonderful tavernas only a minutes walk away.

Incidentally one thing we did do is on reading a couple of articles about there being no kettle, before we travelled we bought a £4.99 kettle from supermarket packed it with tea bags and dried food, and then left it there.

The hotel has a beautiful pool and bar at the rear of the hotel ran by the very friendly Melissa, always available sunbeds.
The food and snacks at the bar were excellent and good value for money.
One day we walked over to Loggos had a meal wine admired the wonderful views from Roxi's and got a taxi back.

We hired a boat for the day from Routsis I am a serious amateur when it comes to navigation but it is a must, it gives you a chance to appreciate the staggering beauty of the rugged east and the tranquil west, we opted not to venture over to anti-paxos as the sea that day was a little rough instead we chose to go over on a full day trip which we enjoyed.

We travelled over to the capital Gaios on a few occasions catching the last bus from Lakka and a taxi back, once again we were stunned by the beauty of everywhere, travelling on the bus driving through the dense olive tree lined roads through villages like Magazia and Fontana familys eating on their patio's and as the bus passes they all wave.

I don't think there was a meal we ate alfresco without at least three or four cats/kittens surounding our table for scraps, one of the funniest things we saw whilst having a drink in Gaios square people watching, there was a taverna to our left with a family eating they had four furry spectators, a dog two cats and a goose all looking up at them!

One thing we did on four or five days is walk over to Orka beach the short cut is through the gate at the L/H side of the Bastas pool bar, follow your nose up a steep hill for around 500mtrs and keep left until you see the sign.
A beautiful walk and more important a very quiet unspoilt pebble beach with crystal clear water there were days were we had the whole beach to ourselves!

All in all we had a very memorable time on Paxi no doubt we will one day return, up to now we have visited fifteen Greek islands this island is so peaceful it's a true gem with the most friendly people I have encounted anywhere on my travels.

Room Tip: Front higher rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rauschaxleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned after a week staying in the Bastas Paxos. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, staff were friendly, Sam the representative was friendly and most helfpul. The location is so good to all the amenities. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mevs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabisBastas, Public Relations Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear traveltony,

thank-you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments about the Bastas as well as the other activities you enjoyed during your holidays in Paxos and I will be sure to pass on your feed back to the people you mentioned in your review.

We hope to welcome you back to the island again soon.

Kind regards
B. Bastas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rather an arduous journey from Birmingham. Plane was 2.5 hours late and we missed the last ferry. Put up in a lovely hotel with breakfast (only 15 mins from airport) and eventually got to Paxos on the hydrofoil (70 mins) 26 hours after we left home. However, that was the worst bit. The hotel/pool was lovely, the staff were equally as good and the 93 steps from bottom to top were not that bad. The hotel is only 150m from the harbour where there are some lovely tavernas. We ate in about 5 of them and the food in all was excellent. Alexandros and Tsirio's were probably the best. Prices are probably more than you would pay in the UK. 4Euros for a beer and roughly 50 euors for a 2 course meal for 2 with a litre of wine. Surprisingly for Greece most of the wine was really very nice.
The 4 of us hired a boat for the day (35 Euros anmd 50 Euros for petrol) and set off around the west coast, down to Anti Paxos, round there and stopped at a taverna on Anti Paxos for lunch and a few beers. The white sand beach and sea there was stunning. Stopped in Loggos on Paxos as well for another few beers which was a lovely little harbour village. Arrived back at 6.00 pm and totally enjoyed the day.
Every other day we caught the minibus at 11.00 am to Manadendri beach. This is owned by Kostas and his brother who also own the hotel. This place is stunning, only downside is thyat the pebbles make it quite difficult to get in and out of the sea. One day there wasn't enough room on the bus so Kostas took myself and mate by car, stopped at his house to pick up his granddaughter and had a curtious Ouzo with him. What a view he has from his place. Stood on his balcony watching a couple of eagles on the thermals.
I have been to about 8 or 9 Greek islands and this is by far the best so far. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: I am not sure that any room are better than the others. You can't really see the harbour from th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I returned from the Bastas Hotel, Lakka last week and were a bit disappointed by the hotel,
I read all the reviews before we left and had no doubt that the hotel would be a typical friendly Greek island hotel.
The hotel is in a great location only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants that Lakka has to offer. The rooftop pool area is excellent with lots of chairs and sun loungers and a bar with snacks and light meals run by the very friendly Melissa.
The rooms have a very spacious balcony with table and chairs but apart from the fridge that was the only plus points.
The "kitchen" area consisted of a sink with only a cold water tap, a rusty 2 ring/oven/grill combination (which tripped the fuse box when a ring was turned on) and a collection of bits of cutlery and crockery which had all seen better days.
The bathroom was clean enough but the shower curtain was totally inadequate to prevent the bathroom from being converted to a wetroom! and the hot water stopped about 5.30-6.00 every night. No hand towels are supplied nor are replacement toilet rolls after the one which is provided is finished.
The beds are rock hard, we had to ask for hangers, one of the wall lights wasn't working and one of the chairs was broken.
The rooms annd bathroom are cleaned daily (except Tuesday) and there is a change of towels and sheet once a week.
The hotel runs a daily mini bus service to Manadendri beach where there is a very good swimming pool and bar/restaurant along with sun loungers and pedalos etc which are free for guests.
We have been exploring the Greek islands for over 20 years and expect some basic rooms but there is a difference between rustic and run-down!
The holiday season in Lakka was ending at the end of September and the hotel certainly looked as if it was due to close.
The Olympic rep this year was Samantha (sorry Sam) who was very good with advice and local info.
The restaurants in Lakka were good overall but there were a couple of not so good.
We ate at Diogenis a couple of times and rated it tops for both value and quality (30-35 euros for 2 courses and 1litre house wine for 2),
Poutentes was ok if a bit overpriced, Nionios was good but not as good as Diogenis (plus we were totally ignored once a party of locals arrived),
Alexandros was disappointing, the only place we had to send food back, chicken souvlaki which is the most basic of Greek food arrived hot on the outside, cold in the middle and very
dry. Alexandros apologised and explained it had been frozen!
La Piazza was very average and very touristy.
The average price for a 2 course meal with 1litre of house wine or a bottle of wine was about 35-40euros for 2 which I don't think is too bad.

Overall the holiday was relaxing, the island is beautiful, the restaurants were ok but thye hotel is never 2 or 3 star more like a 1 star self catering unit with good amenities attached.
There lots of other Greek islans still to discover so I don't think we will be returning to Paxos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabisBastas, Public Relations Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear John G,

I have read your review and I greatly appreciate your feedback. I must apologise that you do not appear to have enjoyed your time as much as we would have liked at the Bastas however please rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed thoroughly prior to opening next year. I must stress that we are a basic self catering hotel and our amenities match that of the rates we charge as well as various contractual obligations. Some of the points you have made through out your review are aspects that unfortunately we have no control over however that which we can change, we will do. As you mentioned, we are a seasonal hotel and you visited us as we were approaching our closing date so not all the rooms were in use.

I shall pass on your feedback to the Taverna owners in Lakka and I am very pleased that you had some enjoyable evenings.

I am so pleased that you had a relaxing time in Paxos overall and you found it to be the beautiful traditional Greek island it is, as a seasoned "island hopper" you can appreciate how rare a find Paxos is, retaining it's traditions and charm.

You mentioned that you will not be returning to Paxos however should you change your mind, I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
B. Bastas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We returned to the Bastas at the end of August for 2 weeks - this being our second visit. Although the accommodation is basic the rooms are of a reasonable size and well equipped. The rooms are very clean and cleaned on a daily basis. The owners are very friendly and helpful should you need any assistance. The pool area is excellent with a good taverna serving delicious meals at a reasonable price. The Bastas is very central to the shops and tavernas around Lakka which are literally only a few minutes walk away. Since our visit 2 years ago the owners have undertaken work on the steps to the pool area which has made a big difference. Sam the rep was extremely helpful and had good local knowledge - counting down to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabisBastas, Public Relations Manager at Bastas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Katie H,

thank you for your review. I am delighted that you visited the hotel for a second time. I am especially pleased that you noticed the many improvements we have made to the pool area, these will continue through out the winter whilst the hotel is closed.

I will make sure your compliments are passed on to those mentioned.

Kind regards
B. Bastas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to the bastas in August for two weeks, and after reading the reviews I was I bit worried, but to be honest the place was better than expected, it is basic but the room was cleaned every day, beds made hot water and a fantastic pool area, our only gripe was the musis at the pool was on repete for the two weeks, But a great place to stay, it is a great base to explore Paxos. We expected the restaurants to be fantastic but found them expensive and not that good to be honest,
But would recommend the bastas for a cheap getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakka
0.0 mi away
Torri e Merli Hotel
Torri e Merli Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lakka
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paxos Club
Paxos Club
#2 of 3 in Gaios
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paxos Beach Hotel
Paxos Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gaios
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amfitriti Hotel
Amfitriti Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lakka
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adamantia Hotel
Adamantia Hotel
#20 of 29 in Gaios
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympia Paxos Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastas Hotel

Address: Lakka 49 082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Paxos > Lakka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lakka
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Bastas Hotel Paxos/Lakka, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing