We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Olive Press”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vellianitatika Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Gaios B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in June at The Olive Press and were totally bowled over! The cottage is stunning and equipped with everything you could need, including a delicious hamper on arrival. Keith, Pam and Adam were on hand whenever we needed anything but we were expert at leaving us to our own privacy at the same time.
Paxos is a true gem - beautiful scenery, beaches and people.
We rarely visit the same place twice, but we will 100% be going back to The Olive Press at the soonest possibility! Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m00gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Think it's all been pretty much said before about how stunning the Olive Press is (and Velliantatika Retreat, all managed by Pam and Keith & Adam).

We were first time visitors to Paxos and the Olive Press last May (2012) and fell in love with the Olive Press and Paxos - I think I must apologise for not posting the thanks for such a lovely holiday before now.
We enjoyed our stay so much last year that we returned again end of May this year. Plus we have already booked for 2014 - which says it all !
We are well travelled and fortunate to be able to have 3 holidays a year, having been to some wonderful locations in the world before (and hopefully many more in future). However, we feel like we've found 'home' in Paxos and the Olive Press - an idyllic Greek Island and lovely spot in the world.
Pam & Keith, a lovely couple, originally from north of England, are friendly and welcoming, while also being unobtrusive hosts for us at the Olive Press; being there when you want them and not when you don't. Other's have mentioned their hospitality, so I don't need to repeat what kind, thoughtful and generous people they are. Trust in all the 5* reviews - they are worthy!!
Practical stuff: In previous 2 years we've flown in to Corfu on the Sunday and taken ferry/hydrofoil to Paxos 8.15am on the Monday (Mon seems to be change over day in Paxos/has several ferries per day). Last year we stayed the Sunday night at at Bella Venezia in Corfu town and this time we stayed at Corfu Mare, nearer the ferry port - both being good/recommended. Bella Venezia was better, central location (for Sunday) but Corfu Mare had lovely outdoor pool area, which was welcome on hot afternoon. We get our hydrofoil tickets from Bouas Travel in Corfu.
Back to the Olive Press; as mentioned by others, simple 15 minute walk to Gaios, where there are lots nice restaurants (our personal favourite being Mambo's) and bars.
You can always hop on hourly boat to Anti-Paxos (sandy beaches) or rent your own powerboat, from one of several vendors in Gaios, for around 35-40 euros per day, plus fuel - which includes lesson if you don't have experience. Completely recommend this - even if you don't have much boat experience. There lovely little spots all along Paxos coast to drop anchor on your way to north of island, DO visit LAKKA - which has large but calm bay/inlet at north point, just drop anchor, eat picnic lunch and swim in turquoise water, or moor up in small harbour for lunch/drink in couple of restaurants there.
Though more tricky to get to Paxos than many other locations in the Med, it's worth the effort and ensures you share this experience with other more discerning travellers.
We look forward to being back in the Olive Press in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keepupwiththejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband & I have been exceptionally lucky to of visited this stunning b&b 3 times!!!!!
This last time was a very special visit for us both as we walked in as boyfriend & girlfriend & left as husband & wife !!
There is really not a place in the world with this style, charm, warmth or hospitality. My job involves flying around the world & staying in some smart hotels , but there is not a luxury chain of hotels in the world that could come close to how this unique family look after their guests!
Our wedding on paxos was totally amazing, we had 50 people there from all walks of life , we had a bbq in vr the day after our wedding & every single person agreed vr had a warmth & charm that money can't buy... Pam made 20 white fabric hearts to hang over the buffet table , she made metres & metres of white vintage bunting for our wedding day, this was all in her own time throughout the winter months without me even asking !! All 3 of them came to our very special day ,as to my husband & I they are like family! We put alot on this family this visit & they met every request with grace & good humour! Even asking keith to drive me to the ceremony & waiting somewhere shady for 20mins because my husband to be had forgotten something !!!! Out of 50 guests , 80% want a reunion in paxos & i think there could be quite a fight for the 2 rooms in vr!
I am trying to think of a way to decribe pam, keith & adam , but all the superlatives in the world could not express how thankful & overwhelmed we are, with their constant attention to detail, hospitality & utter charm... Magical is the only fitting word !
The only negative is its now getting booked far in advance & we can't get in !! :(
All our love nic & dan xx

Room Tip: Both rooms are charming !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were visiting Paxos to put the final touches on our Wedding this year and were recommended VR by Sam Da Silva, a wedding planner on the island. Often the smaller touches in hotels or villas can be forgotten about and the focus falls predominantly upon the impact of the buiilding itself. VR is a delightful reminder of how ones host can enhance an entire holiday abroad. From the moment we stepped foot in the retreat, we were made to feel very welcome and the service throughout our stay was nothing short of first class. The rooms were stylishly finished and the beds were comfortable...a rarity on Greek islands! Breakfast were imaculately presented and suited all manner of diets. Whilst not being overbearing, our hosts were on-hand to offer advice on restaurants, beaches and other attractions.

Put simply, VR is an utter Gem!

Room Tip: The one with the stained glass window is delightful at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Another year and we were again lucky enough to return to the island and share in the wonderful company of Pam, Keith and Adam at the Vellianitatika Retreat. There is obviously a lot to be said for going to new places but I can honestly say that there is nothing quite like the feeling of having your feet back on Paxos and sinking in to it's warm embrace. Although our trip was only a 3 night whistle-stop tour, we were able to relax the moment that we arrived and were settled in as soon as we reached the retreat. The whole place and its people are beautiful and to have been there we feel truly blessed, but to have been able to return is something extraordinary! Quite simply a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have just returned from a few days at this magical hidden gem, planning our daughter's wedding for later this year. Keith and Pam were wonderful hosts, and could not have been more helpful and friendly and genuinely made us feel like old friends come to visit. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were beautiful and extremely comfortable, and the service they provided was second to none. The Retreat is a tranquil haven, and we have some very special memories of our short stay. We will certainly return very soon, and definitely stay longer.
Can't recommend Velianitatika Retreat highly enough.
Thank you Keith and Pam for allowing us to come and spend very special time at your home.
Ralph & Rosemary

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

And we are already planning our next trip back, the sooner the better. The world is a huge place and many destinations are calling our name however, Paxos under the fine care of Pam, Keith and Adam is a place we will go back to.

I can't possibly recommend this perfectly located small inn enough, from the outdoor areas complete with fridges, BBQ, extremely comfortable seating to the exquisite details in each room, to the gorgeous breakfasts and to the feeling that there wasnt anything Pam, Keith and Adam wouldn't have done for us made our stay perfect in every way.

We loved the 15 minute walk into picture perfect Gaios for the many choices of waterfront and yacht gazing tavernas - actually two small and delicious restaurants were literally down the lane for a lazy lunch or easy dinner. The people of Paxos are incredibly welcoming, kind and generous, which again, just makes us want to go back.

Pam opened her bookshelf for me which was much appreciated, as well, they actually allowed me into their spotless, well equipped kitchen for an afternoon of cooking which was a huge pleasure for me. We have been in Greece for a month now, and as gorgeous as the food has been, I was desperate for a curry to the point where I am carrying my spices with me. Their gift of letting me cook was truly special and very much appreciated.

Congratulations Pam, Keith and Adam for the labour of obvious love that you have poured into creating your home that you share with others - what a fine example of gorgeous people you are. Thank you again for letting us be a very small part of your chosen life and superb hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms are gorgeous, one has a bath and the other a shower so if you are particular about that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaios
1.1 mi away
Paxos Beach Hotel
Paxos Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gaios
178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torri e Merli Hotel
Torri e Merli Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lakka
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paxos Club
Paxos Club
#2 of 3 in Gaios
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Olympia Paxos Apartment
3.3 mi away
Glyfada Beach Villas
Glyfada Beach Villas
#1 of 2 in Loggos
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Margina Residence
Margina Residence
#2 of 7 in Gaios
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vellianitatika Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vellianitatika Retreat

Address: Gaios, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Paxos > Gaios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gaios
Price Range: $147 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Guest House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vellianitatika Retreat Paxos/Gaios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing