We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Goshawk

The Goshawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A little gem in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, we offer a wide selection of freshly made traditional pub dishes with a modern twist. Exciting specials are available all day as well as an excellent range of choice for vegetarian, vegan and gluten free diets. All of our meals are complemented by a great choice of beers and real ales, an extensive wine & spirits menu and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for our grandsons birthday dinner on a Sunday and the food as amazing! The best Sunday roast we’ve had outside our own home - beautiful. The staff were very friendly too. Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Shipmateslates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Shipmates

Thank you for your very kind review. Could I please ask that is you have a name or description of any of the fantastic staff that you described, that you could send it to me at goshawk@jwlees.co.uk as I would love to be able to recognise them for their great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a lovely lunch. Managed to sit outside and enjoy the sun overlooking the bowling green. Tried their lunch 2 courses for £12.00 had the fish roulete and calamari (wonderfully dipping sauce) and both had steak (£3.00) supplement beautifully cooked and served by very pleasant waitress working the tables on her own. Excellent all round.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Neil

Thank you for your marvellous review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed our light lunch, the calamari is a personal favourite of mine too.

It’s great to get your feedback on the team as well, Emma, the wonderful waitress that served you has only been with us a week and, while we’ve seen she’s doing a wonderful job, it’s great for our guests to recognise her.

We look forward to more great weather as the year goes on and welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

lovely place. good outdoor play area for the kids to have fun.great beer garden.i would definitely recommend this pub.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hell Nicky

Thank you for you kind words. It's great that you and the family had such a wonderful time with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lovely food and puddings were especially good!! Kids were well looked after as they had colouring activities on the menu and a park to play. This made the whole experience enjoyable for all happy kids = happy parents. We started outside and as it got cooler there was no problem moving inside with staff happy, friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lorna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Lorna

Thank you for your very kind review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family today and its wonderful to hear how much they all enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon!

Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Goshawk to have a drink and watch the Tour of Britain cycle race which literally passed the front of the pub.

I had a delicious Pinot Grigio Blush and my husband who was driving had a shandy. We sat on the terrace overlooking the bowling green which was basking in September sunshine.

Tables were all clean and the decking was clean and tidy.

We ordered the two course lunch menu. I had smoked mackerel rilette with toast and a small salad and my husband had the breaded brie. Both were beautifully served and presented. have to say mine was one of the best starters I have had there. Plenty of rilettes and unusually there was plenty of toast (so often this is scrimped and sparse, but not here.)

We both ordered 6 oz steak with a carved tomato, skinny fries and garnish.The barman said he had to check if the butcher had delivered today before being able to take our order. Thankfully the butcher had been and the steaks were fresh. No fat, no gristle, just tasty well seasoned and well cooked meat.

We watched the bicycle race and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at the Goshawk. Its not the cheapest pub for drinks and food but put it this way we passed two other pubs to dine at the Goshawk. Keep the standards and consistency high please and we will return

Recommended country pub, with plenty of parking and good outdoor space.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happygal060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Happy Gal

Thank you so very much for this absolutely lovely review! I'm really pleased that you've had such an enjoyable viosit and as such great advocates of our business.

It was wonderful to see the tour go past the other day and wonderful to be welcoming the two of you back.

We hope to see you both again very soon.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goshawk also viewed

 
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to The Goshawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing