We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winter Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grassobbio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Winter Garden Hotel is located 2 km from Orio al Serio airport, but you pay a fix rate of 15 euros to get there by taxi, so 30 Euros both ways (their shuttle only runs every 45 minutes). At this point you'd better pay a little more and chose an hotel right in front of the airport, walking distance.
That said, the service is good, the bedroom is OK. When it comes to the bathroom it is all plastic, and the breakfast is really poor with just a few cookies and a tea that smells like coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floflo2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    381
    82
    17
    16
See reviews for
114
498
42
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Indeed, this is a modern, fancy hotel. We did have a shuttle from Bergamo train station to the hotel, and a shuttle the following morning to the airport. This was good. But unfortunately we were treated quite rudely by the staff. They did not provide any information about the hotel services, and seemed annoyed we when asked about very basic things like breakfast, cost of water, or airport shuttle. It also seemed quite difficult for staff to smile. Another guest was checking in next to us, and we overheard the receptionist providing information on wifi, ect. However, we weren't offered the same services. The room is very modern, with a lot of technologies. If you have some troubles with new technologies, anticipate that it may take some time to learn how to figure out all those technologies (e.g. to turn on lights, ect.) The showers were nice. Also they offered an early bird breakfast. However, when checking out, the staff member did not say anything to us, not a good morning, thank you, or good bye. Lastly, expect only 1 hand soap. Bottled water from the restaurant is 3 €, bottled water from the bar 2 €, and bottled water from the minibar 2.50 €. Cans of soda are for 4€ from the minibar. If you want good treatment stay at Holiday Il Girasole B&B. If ever in Bergamo for a stopover, we certainly will stay at Holiday Il Girasole instead of Winter Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: If you open the cupboard closest to the door, remember to make sure it closes and locks properly. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Glam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Used this hotel while visiting Milan as my flight was early and Milan is an hour from Bergamo. The staff were all exceptional from the reception to the restaurant. The decor is modern and the place was spotlessly clean. The free shuttle to and from the airport is worth booking as a taxi is 15 euros. The food in the restaurant is excellent if slightly pricy but I'm not complaining as the attentive service, knowledge and friendliness of the waiters added to the experience especially as a solo traveler. Plenty of choice for breakfast (self service), sausage bacon and eggs, cold meats, cereal yoghurt, juices, pastries, fruit.
The bedroom was quiet ( Considering it was almost next to the reception ), comfortable and clean with a spa bath and bath salts which was very welcome after a long day in Milan.
I can highly recommend this hotel, it was a pleasure to stay here but most of all a huge thank you to the staff who made the stay memorable. Grazie mille

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyalvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A very smart new hotel that is perfect for the Bergamo airport. There is not much close to the hotel so expect to eat in the hotel restaurant which is a bit expensive but very good. The internet connection worked very well but in room coffee & tea making facility would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBsensorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Everything about this hotel is high quality. It's modern, clean and quiet with staff that are just great and will help you with anything you ask of them.

The reception staff are very welcoming and have fantastic English language skills (certainly better than my Italian) and always greet you with a smile and a nice welcome. They are efficient and extremely helpful with anything and everything you require.

The restaurant located in the hotel is fantastic and offers a high standard of food and even a discount menu for airline crew, which I took full advantage of. All the staff again were fantastic, especially Daniel who is a complete asset to the hotel and the restaurant and went out of his way to get me what I asked after.

The rooms are spacious, modern and extremely clean, with a bathroom to match. The showers are worth the stay alone!

The airport shuttle is good, but does need to be booked in advance and the pick up point is under the green pharmacy cross outside of the main terminal (exit arrivals, turn left and walk along the terminal until you see the green cross), I felt this could be more clear on the website as, to my knowledge this isn't stated on there.

I would recommend anyone stay here and will certainly have no hesitation in returning in the future,

Thanks to everyone at Winter Gardens!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was incredibly impressive in its looks, its design, and even its breakfast. I really enjoyed the breakfast and the restaurant on the main floor is also quite good. The location was great since it is near the airport, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms were quite fancy. I will always stay at this hotel when I go to Milan since the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family. The hotel is very clean, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very good with a fabulous double shower cubicle with 3 shower heads! The breakfast was varied and plentiful (although I do not recommend the early breakfast between 4 and 6 am!). Reception staff very helpful and obliging and speak English. Free parking and free Wifi a definite bonus. Have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 160Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassobbio
1.0 mi away
NH Orio al Serio
NH Orio al Serio
#1 of 1 in Orio Al Serio
1,070 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
#1 of 1 in Rota d'Imagna
1,092 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
4.3 mi away
Spa Hotel Parigi 2
Spa Hotel Parigi 2
#1 of 2 in Dalmine
253 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bergamo Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Garden Hotel

Property: Winter Garden Hotel
Address: Via Padergnone 52, 24050 Grassobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Grassobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grassobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Winter Garden Hotel structure, at the gates of Bergamo and only 2 km away from the Orio al Serio Airport, stands out thanks to the relaxed atmosphere and the high level of comfort. The 149 available rooms welcome the Guests in highly charming environments, where every wish of relax and privacy becomes true. Characterized by contemporary furniture, the broad available spaces are designed aiming at the highest level of functionality granting a widespread wellness. The Winter Garden Hotel is second to none in terms of quality and variety and it is a clear example of the hotel culinary offer. The prestigious restaurant "l'Officina", and the lively OnyxCafe, offer their expertise and creativity providing the kind Guests with the best of the local, national and international kitchen with an offer ranging from extravagant aperitifs to sophisticated dinners. Moreover, our structure hosts the fascinating The Spa, the ideal place to recover the balance between body and mind after a long day. Among the several proposals of the wellness center relaxing and revitalizing massages. If you wish to take advantage of your stay in Bergamo, we furthermore suggest you to discover the city and its surroundings. The proposals for the spare time include cultural and religious visits, local food product taste, excursions to the uncontaminated environments of the valleys and much more. Winter Garden Hotel stands out on the international scenario even thanks to its business services dedicated to companies. As a proof of it, in 2016, our hotel is a finalist in the category Best 4-star business Hotel in Northern Italy of the IMA Prize (first Italian Award for the Business Travel sector) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Garden Hotel Province Of Bergamo/Grassobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing