We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winter Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grassobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was incredibly impressive in its looks, its design, and even its breakfast. I really enjoyed the breakfast and the restaurant on the main floor is also quite good. The location was great since it is near the airport, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms were quite fancy. I will always stay at this hotel when I go to Milan since the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family. The hotel is very clean, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very good with a fabulous double shower cubicle with 3 shower heads! The breakfast was varied and plentiful (although I do not recommend the early breakfast between 4 and 6 am!). Reception staff very helpful and obliging and speak English. Free parking and free Wifi a definite bonus. Have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 160Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Winter Garden Hotel, located in the suburbs of Bergamo.

The hotel is located about 10 minues from Bergamo and 2 minutes from the airport. The underground parking is huge (was never more than half-full during the entire time I was there), and parking spaces are nice and wide. Best of all, parking is free.

The hotel lobby is modern and clean. Although I came 2 hours before the normal check-in time, the staff were cordial and asked the cleaning staff to clean my room as a priority, so that I got my room 30 minutes later, and still 90 minutes before check-in time.

Rooms are also modern but comfy due to the use of wooden floors. Nice bathroom with multi-jet shower and also normal rainshower shower. Good selection of toliettries and real soap (I hate the liquid soap that so many hotels use nowadays). One nice touch is that the entrance light turns on when you enter the room, meaning that you don't have to fumble in the dark to slip the keycard into the slot to get electricity. Internet was free, even in the rooms, and of acceptable speed and quality.

Some quibbles: there is a nice tray with 6 coffee cups and a kettle in the room, but despite repeated requests to the maids, I was never able to get any coffeee to go with it. Also the elevators are of the type that have no memory, so if you see the elevator being used, you have to wait until the busy light turns off to quickly call the elevator before someone else does. During busy times it means that getting the elevator is a challenge.

Dinner is served at the adjoining restaurant which is very good. Breakfast is served on the 3rd floor with a great view of the Alps and I assume one can eat out on the deck in the summer.

All in all, considering the rooms' quality of fittings, the free parking and the free internet, this is an excellent and rather reasonably-priced hotel, to which I will certainly go back the next time that I am in Bergamo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qppstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport, and so very convenient if you are on a flight early the next morning. The rooms were nice, but the staff was very disorganized and unfriendly. They were hosting a team of soccer players, and the whole hotel was head over heals tending to them. We were initially told that they can not find our reservation. Fifteen minutes later they found it and sent us to a room that was different from our specifications. Luckily I speak Italian and was able to insist to be given the room that we requested. An hour later we got in the room we wanted, not much to ask, just to be able to accommodate the whole family of four in it, really! The room turned out nice, but just impossible to turn on all the lights at the same time in the two connected rooms. Quite unusual situation! :) The second problem was a miscommunication about the pool. I knew there was a pool. When we arrived and asked, the reception told us there was none. Later my husband asked, they said there is one but it's not allowed for kids. Again I asked, and they said it is actually opened and can allow children. The kids got ready and they went there with their father, only to find it ready to close. We went to dinner, and we had to wait about 1 hour for bred and water. I know that Italian restaurants are slow, and peaceful, but this was bordering indifference. Or maybe just was so. There is an option for transfer to and from the airport, but it is scheduled at such times that did not match any of our times of arrival or departure. All together, we are not recommending this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simfny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel 2kms from the airport, but very isolated as beside an industrial estate, so no local shops or eateries.
Staff, breakfast, and restaurant , were excellent providing lovely food and a very good service.
The only draw back was the small and limited shuttle bus that only carries 4 people at very restricted hours. This must be booked in advance so bear this in mind when arriving from airport.

Ideal place to stay if you have your own wheels, or dont mind walking about 10 mins to use local bus service, which takes you to airport or Bergamo.
Rooms are modern and super clean. Beds are large and very comfortable.
We would use this place again, now we are aware of local transport system and know a taxi from airport will cost 15 euros for 3 min trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent hotel, the breakfast was excellent and varied and in a nice setting, comfortable contemporary room. We didn't use the spa area ( not included in price , this is 15euros extra but it looks well worth a visit if you have time)
Parking under hotel and easy to find.
Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLouiseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel is very modern, very clean staff very friendly. It does seem everyone has a problem with the lights my worked fine but for some reason they all came on at 5am this morning, not impresed. The restaurant on the evening was very good, breakfast looked as good but the scrambled eggs and bacon were kept in a heater that was not switched on!!
If you have a early morning flight grat to stay here. Shuttle was fine but stick to certain times so from 6.45 to 9am if you have a flight you have to get a taxi 15 euro 2 miles.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkCags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassobbio
1 mi away
NH Orio al Serio
NH Orio al Serio
#1 of 1 in Orio Al Serio
1,203 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
#1 of 1 in Rota d'Imagna
1,206 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spa Hotel Parigi 2
Spa Hotel Parigi 2
#1 of 2 in Dalmine
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
4.4 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Garden Hotel

Address: Via Padergnone 52, 24050 Grassobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Grassobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grassobbio
Price Range: $84 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Winter Garden Hotel structure, at the gates of Bergamo and only 2 km away from the Orio al Serio Airport, stands out thanks to the relaxed atmosphere and the high level of comfort. The 149 available rooms welcome the Guests in highly charming environments, where every wish of relax and privacy becomes true. Characterized by contemporary furniture, the broad available spaces are designed aiming at the highest level of functionality granting a widespread wellness. The Winter Garden Hotel is second to none in terms of quality and variety and it is a clear example of the hotel culinary offer. The prestigious restaurant "l'Officina", and the lively OnyxCafe, offer their expertise and creativity providing the kind Guests with the best of the local, national and international kitchen with an offer ranging from extravagant aperitifs to sophisticated dinners. Moreover, our structure hosts the fascinating The Spa, the ideal place to recover the balance between body and mind after a long day. Among the several proposals of the wellness center relaxing and revitalizing massages. If you wish to take advantage of your stay in Bergamo, we furthermore suggest you to discover the city and its surroundings. The proposals for the spare time include cultural and religious visits, local food product taste, excursions to the uncontaminated environments of the valleys and much more. Winter Garden Hotel stands out on the international scenario even thanks to its business services dedicated to companies. As a proof of it, in 2016, our hotel is a finalist in the category Best 4-star business Hotel in Northern Italy of the IMA Prize (first Italian Award for the Business Travel sector) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Winter Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Garden Hotel Province Of Bergamo/Grassobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing