We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sole
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Siro
Certificate of Excellence
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel offers quick access to the ferries and can take you across the lake. The hotel itself is very nice and family run. The staff is very friendly and will help you with all of your needs. The rooms are nice and modern and there is plenty of parking which is nice in the tight congested roads of northern Italy. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel during our return trip from Italy. We had a superior room facing the lake and we found a very clean room with a good working airconditioning. Room is not very large, but it has all you need for a good night's sleep. The main road passes in front of the hotel and a tunnel is nearby, but we had no disturbance from that.

We also had dinner in the adjoining restaurant, because it was easy and didn't have to drive to find something to eat. It's a big restaurant with a lot of sitting places, also on the terrace with a nice view over the lake. The food was just OK, but the waiters were really terrible. It looked like it was almost the first time they were working in a restaurant. For our table and for the table next to us, courses were forgotten. We sat there for 2,5 hours just for primi and secundi course, which is aboslutely too long. Breakfast was average.

The owner however was very friendly and spoke very good English and German. It's a family run place and you notice that as well.

I will definitely stay again in the Hotel, but won't eat anymore in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are facing the lake with a nice terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Turned up pretty late in the evening on the motorbike to a very nice welcome and delicious dinner, amd some good natured humour from the staff . Clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom, and a lovely balcony with a view of the lake and mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maypetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our experience of Hotel Sole in the north part of Lake Como are very good. Its really "spick and span", clean, proper and well managed. Perhaps it is not the most cosy and genuine in the sense of having the flavor of pastoral romanticism, but its "honest to god", the service are impeccable and the food (breakfast, dinner) are better than the Italian average.

The hotel beach is one of the best in the whole area of Lake Como and the little village of Rezzonico near by is a precious little jewel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxExhact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife, four children (ages 12 to 17) and I spent five nights at Hotel Sole. We had a very positive experience. The owners of this family-run hotel are friendly and helpful. The hotel is on a well-traveled road, between the beach and the mountains, but the traffic was not a bother, and the location is ideal for exploring different areas of Lake Como. Several good swimming beaches are within close walking distance, and if you have a car you can easily reach other beaches offering all sorts of water sports (kayaks, wind surfing, etc.). The mountains directly behind the hotel offer excellent hiking opportunities with incredible views of the lake. Rooms are recently refurbished and are air conditioned (contrary to some older reviews). The jewel of the hotel is the restaurant: the food and wine are outstanding in quality and price--not to be missed even if you stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I am writing this review mainly for the restaurant, as this is very much our local hostelry when we are in Lake Como (our second home). Hotel Sole has a very large restaurant, and also a very attractive enclosed terrace area (which used to be open until they glazed it in).

They cater for walk in guests, as well as those residing in the hotel and the camp site next door, but don't let that put you off.

The food is always of an excellent standard and we have tried most things on the menu over the years. We can recommend the Insalata de Polipio, a warm seafood salad which we invariably order as it is so good, and the Filetto di Manzo with Porcini is also quite legendary as is the 'home made' Tiramisu.

The hotel is located on the main Via Regina on the west coast of Lake Como, around 5-10 mins drive from Menaggio - although set back off the road is is located next to one of the tunnels, so traffic noise can be heard if you are outside.

The place is always spotless, and we always received a warm welcome from the family and staff alike. The service is always excellent and the menu is varied and wine list comprehensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Family owned and very friendly reception. Great view of the lake, but the road in front is very busy and the rooms with the view noisy. Delicious food and great wines, very reasonable priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigittep37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Siro
7.3 mi away
Albergo Lenno
Albergo Lenno
#1 of 1 in Lenno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lumin
Hotel Lumin
#1 of 1 in Cremia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Property: Hotel Sole
Address: Loc Santa Maria Rezzonico, 22010 San Siro, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > San Siro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Siro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sole San Siro, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing