We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts, Terrific View, Comfy Rooms, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orso Bruno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts, Terrific View, Comfy Rooms, Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in Como, while en route from Venice to Paris in July. Upon arrival, we found we've mistakenly booked a room for a couple instead of a family. The hostess, Antonia, offered us a second room at a very good price. Antonia and Samuele also generously helped me send some documents to the States using their office facility.

The view from the hotel's restaurant is breathtaking and the food is excellent. The hotel is located at a quiet place away from the crowd. There is both a boat stop and a bus stop in front of it. They also offer a convenient parking space at 10 Euro per night.

Room Tip: Room 203 if a couple or Room 204 if family. Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJRubyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    73
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
36
108
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic small hotel. Lovely family running the hotel. We (family of 5, 3 little kids) stayed here several times. Rooms are nice and clean, with air-conditioning, the views are fantastic. The boat to go out on the lake stops right in front of the hotel, so that is very convenient. Make sure you eat in the hotel's restaurant, great Italian food (fantastic pizza's), gorgeous views and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hann3k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
much travelled Canadian
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeview room (204) for 5 nights from June 30. It is a comfy room with great views. The boat which travels the lake stops right across the road and there is also a bus stop so you can take the bus up and down the lake. What really makes the hotel even more special are the hosts Antonia and Samuele....they are friendly and accommodating...nothing feels like an imposition. Also make sure you eat at the restaurant...the food is wonderful. We ate there 3 times and it exceeded some of the "fancier" places on the lake.

Room Tip: Room 204 is the lakeview room with French doors to a small balcony and also a window so lots of lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcanadian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile


I was in Como with my wife and children and we stayed there 2 nights so tour the lake and visit Lugano,
this small hotel is run by a young and professional family, nice rooms, nice food nice view,
Also by surprisenit had rhe best free wifi I had duringnmy 2 weeks tour in Garda and Como

Stelios/Cyprus

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stelios t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

there is nothing designer about this small hotel. All is genuine: the welcome, the service, the food...and then the views. I had not been to Lago di Como for decades and feared it had all turned into a designer spot. But I was pleasantly surprised. Not far from 'overkill' Bellagio there was a haven of normality, kindness and simplicity. Clean, efficient and full of ambiance. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We LOVED this Lake View Boutique B&B Hotel and would go again in a heartbeat! What a perfect location and great value. The young couple that own the hotel are very nice, friendly and helpful.

We stayed at the hotel in the lake view room. Great location just minutes drive from the town of Como and across from one of the small boat docks for traveling around the lake. Moderate sized, clean room and comfortable bed. We ate at the restaurant twice during our four night stay. The food here is incredible! The home made gnocci with white cheese sauce? and walnuts is amazing! I want that recipe. Cozy and casual homey feel. If you can't stay at the hotel, definitely visit the restaurant. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelzomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stumbled across this small hotel when we unexpectedly visited Lake Como. We asked if they had a room for two nights, and luckily they did! Antonia and Samuele could not have been more welcoming, and got us oriented to the area very quickly. Our room had wonderful views onto the lake. The room was very clean, and well furnished with furniture that included a comfortable bed. The large bathroom also had a great view of the lake. There is a small elevator for those who may find stairs difficult to climb.
Free wi fi is available for those who need it. The breakfasts consisted of a large selection of items served in a buffet. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy the restaurant for dinner (we were out on the lake late both nights), but it looked very inviting.
The hotel is located across the street from the lake, and there is a ferry stop right outside the front door. A perfect location from which to explore the area, with or without a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate Urio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
714 reviews
4.6 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
375 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
549 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
251 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Property: Hotel Orso Bruno
Address: Via Regina Vecchia 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Carate Urio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing