We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to return to over and over again!”
Review of Hotel Orso Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orso Bruno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous place to return to over and over again!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It would have been very easy to rely on its location to sell it, but this is a beautifully run hotel. and we could not have found more caring hosts in Antonia and Samuele. It felt as if we had known them for years.

The rooms and the public areas were attractive and immaculate. The service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble.

Their restaurant and terrace 'Il filo d'olio' is lovely and the friendly service couldn't be faulted. The menu was extensive, the food superb, and the price extremely reasonable. The young chef is doing a great job!

The only thing that was missing was air-conditioning, but I know they're hoping to sort that out very soon. For the most part, it didn't impact on us at all..

To be honest, I'd quite like to keep this place to myself, so I won't say much more. Be back very soon!

Room Tip: The room we had was to the side of the hotel, but we still overlooked the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    75
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
39
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent the last three nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Orso Bruno and are so glad we did! As others have stated, the couple who runs the place could not be nicer or more accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean and our room had a balcony overlooking the lake. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant 2 of our 3 nights in Carate Urio and thought it to be some of the best food we had on our entire 2 week trip. If you want to explore Lake Como but are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to do so from, I can't recommend this hotel and the town of Carate Urio highly enough. Both the ferry boat and local bus have stops literally right out the front door of the hotel, so getting around the lake (even if you didn't want to drive your own vehicle) could not be easier. Also, this place is exactly one hour by car from the Malpensa airport in Milan and makes a fine place to spend your last night in Italy, even if you have a relatively early flight out the next day (ours was 10:30 a.m. and we had no problem getting to the airport, returning car, etc in plenty of time).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We just found ourselves in this small very clean family run hotel .Antonia and Samuele her Husband could not do enough for us. The rest of the staff followed their example and this produced an extremely friendly atmosphere. The big bedroom with shower was comfortable and we had a great view of the lake from the balcony.The resturant was busy the food was good,the local fish was delicious and with their own pizza oven was very popular. The local people came to the cafe every morning for their coffee which is always a good sign. We were lucky to be able to stay an extra couple of days. The ferry port is opposite and took us on the lake. We highly rate this hotel and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A very nice and comfortable hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are big and bright with a wonderful view on the lake. The young owners are extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is ideal as it is in a calm and characteristic town along the lake but very well-connected, a dock with frequent boats to visit the area is just in front of the hotel.
We already look forward to going back and taste the simple and tasty dishes on the terrace of “Il filo d’olio” (the restaurant of the hotel).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladoucevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a great time. Antonia is the best hotel host and manager one can ask for. She deeply cares about her customers and she makes sure to provide everything to make your vacation perfect. The lake view is fantastic. And the restaurant is amazing. We loved everything. We will certainly come back! You can reach the hotel easily with the boat and you arrive in front of the hotel. It is a romantic hotel, but works amazingly well with kids (and we had two who loved their stay!).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are superb! You may pay a bit more, but it is worthy it every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We came across this super little hotel on cycling trip. Owners extremely helpful, excellent food nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved this little hotel on the banks of Lake Como. Boat shuttle across the street from the hotel to Bellagio. Great food and lovely owners who make you feel at home. Very romantic location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate Urio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
753 reviews
6.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
110 reviews
4.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orso Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orso Bruno

Property: Hotel Orso Bruno
Address: Via Regina Vecchia 45, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy (Formerly Piccolo Hotel Orso Bruno)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate Urio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orso Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'albergo lo scoprite dopo infinite curve dagli scorci sempre diversi ed emozionanti, arrivate accostando comodamente l’auto sul piazzale di fronte e scendendo vi accorgete dell’incantevole posizione di questo piccolo albergo che si specchia orgogliosamente nel lago ed è avvolto dal rassicurante abbraccio delle montagne. Se arrivate di mattina il colore predominante è azzurro dalle sfumature d’oro, il tramonto invece è rosa.Ad accogliervi troverete sempre noi e sempre un sorriso e dopo un celere check in potrete andare direttamente in camera o rilassarvi un attimo nel nostro bar o nel nostro salottino sbirciando attraverso le vetrate l’animata quotidianità che si svolge al di fuori. Dicono che non ci sia panorama più affascinante del lago visto dal lago e per i nostri clienti più curiosi l’imbarco della navigazione proprio di fronte l’albergo sarà un’ irrinunciabile comodità per una gita in battello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Orso Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Carate Urio
Hotel Orso Bruno Carate Urio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing