We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home in Como!”
Review of Relais Villa Nina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Villa Nina
Ranked #2 of 2 Carate Urio B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at Villa Nina last May, during our honeymoon in Como.
The house is very charming, the ideal place to stay when visiting lake Como, Maggiore and Lugano. It is located in a very peaceful and beautiful place, with breathtaking views over the lake.
It is not just a Bed & Breakfast. Its so much more. Federico and Claudia´s hospitality makes you feel special.
We enjoyed our holiday in this very relaxing and inviting environment.

Looking forward to visit Villa Nina again.
Already recommended to family and friends...

Carlos & Mónica

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos0monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Relais Villa Nina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 76 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Villa Nina during the Proposte show this May. Although this was a business trip every morning and evening when we arrived at the villa we felt we were are on a luxurious holiday surrounded by wonderful people in an amazing location with view on the Como lake
Don’t miss it when you are in Como

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were with Federico and his wife Claudia at Easter 2011 for 3 nights. The building from 1904 is very nicely maintained and offers two twin rooms with lake view and a separate appartment (self-contained).
The villa offers a private garden/sun deck directly on the lake front with great views.
When we arrived Federico invited us to a boat trip along the lakeside - very kind.
It took us only some minutes walk from the B&B to the ferry terminal "Urio" where boats commute to Como as well as northwards to the other villages around the lake. We didn' use our car throughout the three days, everything could be done by boat.

Breakfast was typically italian, ie juice (freshly made!), coffe/tea, toast with jam and cereal, but no cheese/ham or even cooked breakfast.

We enjoyed our short holiday in this very relaxing, inviting environment!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

After spending a crowded week at a conference hotel at Lake Garda my family and I (4 adults) relished the hospitality provided at Villa Nina by Federico. What a lovely place! Beautifully updated and located right on the lake with magnificent views. Close to Como with easy access to surrounding towns. Enjoyed a nice cycle trip around lake Lugano with Federico on a beautiful fall day. Don’t miss Villa Nina if you are going to Lake Como!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We don't usually book B&Bs but the excellend reviews I read about Villa Nina enticed me. We were not disappointed. Federico and his wife were wonderful hosts going above and beyond to ensure the enjoyment of our vacation. We stayed at the suite which is tastefully furnished, spacious, and has great views of the lake. Breakfast was delicious and presented with style. We also appreciated the location of Carate Urio with its proximity to Milan airport, Federico's excellent cup of coffee, and the ideal terrain for biking around the lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband, our 3yo and I spent three blissful nights in the dependence at Villa Nina in September. Having our own apartment overlooking the lake with garden, deck and jetty to swim from was absolutely idyllic. Even when the rain came it just added to the restful magic of this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

After much consideration and probably against my better judgment, I have decided to write a review which can be summed up in the quote above. The reason for my hesitation? Simply for the selfish purpose of keeping this jewel to myself. Which is, of course, ridiculous since it needs a steady flow of customers to keep it running til our next visit, and also because I cannot stay there indefinitely. My girlfriend and I booked the double room only a couple of days in advance since we were spontaneously driving our way north through Italy, and we only stayed for two short nights. Let me briefly sum up Villa Nina’s cardinal virtues in three specific points:

1) Excellent service. The proprietror, sig. Walter, is a wiry, tanned man whose sense of service never feels intrusive and is always discreet. Examples include an unexpected but gratefully received sms prior to our arrival in order for us to find the best autostrada-exit to the B&B, generous loans of appropriate MacBook-cables for faulty laptops and finally advice on (and upon request, booking of) truly marvellous local restaurants in the vicinity. Overhearing him booking over his cell in a neighbouring room, he requested ”Per favore, chiediamo il service top per i nostri clienti”.

2) Location. Lago di Como is in and of itself marvellous, although Villa Nina’s main house is situated on the ”wrong” side of the street. On the other hand, an elegant bridge, for the exclusive use of the Villas residents, rectifies this by connecting to a small lawn and big patio with sun beds and sofas more or less directly connected to the waterfront. Private, as quiet as can be expected and few windows from neighbouring houses overlooking the space.

3) Atmosphere. The villa is a marvellous three-story house with the lower level reserved for the common areas, the first floor accomodating a spacious double room with a comfortable bed and adjoining bathroom, and also a suite which we got to peek into (and where we will be staying next time) with a balcony view of the lago and a private bathroom, and finally the second floor housing the owner’s private family rooms. Words cannot do the simple and sublime interior justice, and you will be better off studying the photos on the villa’s website, but the atmosphere is suffused with a sense of tidiness, elegance and understatement.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakobklcovansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate Urio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posta Hotel Ristorante
Posta Hotel Ristorante
#2 of 2 in Moltrasio
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,349 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
II Sereno Lago di Como
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Nina

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 13, 22010 Carate Urio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Carate Urio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carate Urio
Price Range: $224 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Villa Nina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Nina Carate Urio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing