We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a find!”
Review of Locanda Altavilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Altavilla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bianzone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night booking two superior rooms and wow what a find. Our rooms had the most stunning views of the mountains, and had an amazing amount of accessories supplied such as slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, shower cap, combe, sewing kit, shower gels the list could go on ... we even had chocolate ladybirds left beside the bed! The hotel is very small but exceptionally clean and friendly. They have two restaurants one inside and one outside .. and the food was absolutely out of this world. We chose a set menu of 32 euros per person, which is expensive, but it was well worth it. . A bread basket was put on the table with different homemade breads ... which were just amazing! We had marinated deer (as they call it) to start with, then a bowl of pasta bolognese with juniper berries , then deer steaks, a choice of puddings or cheeses. Obviously the hotel specialises in its wines and they have a huge collection. The staff are really lovely and Christian really put himself out to explain all the menus in English (there were quite a few) and helped us decide on the wine too. This hotel is a little way out of Tirano centre but nothing a taxi cant solve ...this truly is a very special place and definitely a good find ... we hope to return one day soon

Room Tip: Choose a superior room ... they are lovely rooms with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a tad outdated and small, but the hospitality of the ever present Anna and her team is fantastic. A stunning spot in a stunning region, Altavilla is a seriously good place to stay - the restaurant is excellent, Anna's wine knowledge and cellar exceptional and the views stunning. Nothing is out of place here. Try and snare a room with a balcony looking out overlooking the valley too. Seriously good hotel, relaxing, scenic, perfect.

Room Tip: Overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikerism101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Altavilla. Cosy room with a view over the valley. We had an excellent dinner. Room was clean and had space for an baby cod. Nice staff. What more to ask for we would like to come back here again in the future. No elevator if i remember correctly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjorkebo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent four fantastic nights at the Locanda Altavilla in Bianzone. We were two couples looking for a relaxing few days, in a scenic location with comfortable accommodation and good food. Tick, tick, tick, tick.
This Locanda, under the caring eye of Signora Anna, is a gem!
The Locanda is situated on the upper part of Bianzone, a small town in the beautiful Valtellina, mid way between Teglio and Tirano. From the terrace and from many of the rooms there are sweeping views of the green, heavily wooded valley, the vine and fruit orchards and the snow topped mountains. Our two rooms had this view and a balconywith tables and chairs so that you could enjoy the panorama at all times of the day.
The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, furnished in traditional mountain style and have absolutely spotless en-suite bathrooms with a good range of toiletries and lots of towels. WiFi is free in the rooms but the signal was a bit weak. There is TV but we didn't use it. Not sure if there are English channels.
Our welcome to Locanda Altavilla by Signora Anna was gracious and very warm. We felt instantly at home.
We had booked for "pensione completa" (full board) because we had heard that the food served here was rather special. Full board meant breakfast, lunch and dinner. Could we manage a copious breakfast, Italian lunch and Italian dinner? You bet! When the food is as good as this it's easy!
There is a very varied menu to choose from plus the specialites of the day – all sounding remarkable and delicious. The traditional foods of the Valtellina (pizzoccheri, sciatt, chiscoi etc) featured heavily and were all absolutely fantastic and just how my grandmother made them. Between the four of us I think we managed to sample (and share) most of the dishes, only sorry that we couldn't stay long enough to try them all! The preparation and presentation of all the dishes was impeccable. If you didn't feel like eating before the meal you certainly did after the dish appeared in front of you! As for the flavours, suffice to say that we were in heaven! And so reasonably priced, too.
The waiter who was our guardian angel for each meal deserves a special mention. He was attentive, funny, knowledgeable about the food and wine and genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment of the wonderful food. He added to our experience! We always had the house wine which was very good but there is a vast range of wines from all over Italy and beyond to choose from.
We can't speak glowingly enough of Locanda Altavilla in Bianzone. Highly, highly recommended – and make sure that you have the experience of eating the wonderful food out on the terrace with a glass of wine and a sublime view of the mountains. Thank you, Signora Anna and staff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bianzone
2.3 mi away
Hotel Combolo
Hotel Combolo
#1 of 3 in Teglio
248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#1 of 5 in Tirano
659 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Centrale Tirano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Albergo Meuble Stelvio
3.4 mi away
Hotel Corona
Hotel Corona
#3 of 5 in Tirano
385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Altavilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Altavilla

Address: Via Ai Monti 46, 23030 Bianzone, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bianzone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bianzone
Price Range: $82 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Altavilla 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Altavilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing